Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.8
34 Reviews
5
82% (28)
4
18% (6)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (34 of 34 responses)
By Brandon G.
Menifee, California
Perfect reel
July 12, 2019
This reel is so smooth, the drag and retrieval. It casts great, live bait and irons. Plus 24 lbs of drag, u can really put the hurting on the fish. It's a perfect all around reel and for the price it's a win-win.
Pros24lb of drag Smooth reeling and smooth drag Looks good Feels great in your hand Price
By hani
Springfield Gardens, NY
Best Shimano conventional reel in this price
June 5, 2019
I have 5 toriums it's the best real for bottom fishing ..trolling ..fast and slow jigging ..I will keep buying them.
ProsBest value for money
ConsNone ever
By Hani
Dubai UAE
Amazing reel
June 5, 2019
It's the best torium I got so far ..I had the old silver model and the new HG black once ...but the new BG is just amazing !
ProsBig handle
ConsNone
By augie
sweeny, TX
toriums are very versatile reels
April 22, 2019
i beleive the toriumis one of the most versatile saltwater reel around. they are excellent for shallow water rockfishing and are also excellent to use on a jig stick to throw surface iron.
Prosversatile
By Greg F.
Oviedo FL
Nice reel
February 25, 2019
My son and I fish offshore of Port Canaveral every weekend. Nice smooth reel and like the new handle. Reel handels large reds, mangoes, and muttons as long as you reel them fast enough to get them away from the tax man.
By Todd D.
Connecticut
Torium 16HGAL
February 5, 2019
Good solid well built reel, with ample cranking power with oversized handle sufficient drag to handle most situations. Fishing in New England like most other places you have no idea what you'll catch this reel can handle them all!
ProsPower handle, wide drag range, cast ability
ConsNot the most balanced reel one side much heavier than the other
By jon
oceanport, NJ
Great reel
January 30, 2019
got this and love it!
By Brandon G.
Menifee, California
Great reel
January 25, 2019
This is a small light compact tough reel. Very smooth and cast great. The drag system is smooth and you can really put the heart on the fish.
ProsCompact, tough, and smooth.
ConsNone
By Jacob
South Carolina
Great bottom fishing reel
January 20, 2019
This is my go to bottom fishing reel
ProsLine capacity
By Kman2422
Orange County
Torium 16hgl
August 23, 2018
This reel is great. I spooled it with 65lb Maxcuatro and it holds a ton. Casts great and the line is easily guided due to its narrow profile. Haven’t had a chance to fish for big fish but it yanked the Calico out of the kelp with ease.
By KK
Long Island
Light Weight Super Smooth Great Value
July 6, 2018
I'd take this reel and be able to buy another one if it broke before buying a $400 Shimano reel with similar specst. This thing is a well rounded do it all reel. Load it up with 50 pound braid 17lbs of drag when needed and a super smooth 38" line retrieve make this reel amazing value and a nice winner from Shimano. Thought the 14 size would be small for bottom fishing in 100+ feet but its not at all. Highly recommend this reel and its a perfect pairing with my 6'6" MH Trevala Rod.
By Jorge
Santa Paula, CA
Great reel
May 2, 2018
I have this reel in size 20 I been using it in Southern California for rock fish ,lincod,sheep head and does the job and much more I really recommend it.
ProsIt's small and very light
ConsNothing so far
By JM
Long Island, NY
Light, powerful and smooth
January 25, 2018
Like all Shimano reels this new version is smooth and light-weight with plenty of cranking power.
By Ben
Oceanside Ca
Outrageously great deal
January 19, 2018
i spend most of my time throwing jigs in Southern Ca for yellowtail, bonita; barracuda, and schoolie size tuna and this reel is awesome. Really solid feel, great drags, good frespool and strong gearing. Only hit is for weak clamp setup, the heads on the anchor bolts break off easily, purchased a tiburon clamp setup $40.00 so I could put on deckhand style rods - this is the only thing keeping it from 5 stars.
ProsHandle feel, drags and jigging ability.
ConsCheap clamp setup
By Tom W.
Stuart, Fl
Smooth Reel, Strong Drag
December 23, 2017
Used for the first time this Friday, off shore. No problem horsing up an approximate 100 to 125 lb nurse shark. Drag is smooth and strong.
By Drew
Margate, NJ
Small Powerhouse
December 6, 2017
Purchased 2 reels to compliment my 2 older Toriums and was thrilled with positive changes. Smaller footprint and better handle. Same great drag and high speed retrieve.
By Mark
Anaheim, California
Smooth and strong
November 12, 2017
I use this reel on my 9ft jig stick rod. The lightweight and smoothness makes it easier to cast and reel in yellows.
By Andy
Marshall, MI
Shimano TOR 16 HGA
September 14, 2017
Great reel for snapper and Togs. Love it
By Robert
Nashville, TN
Fantastic reel!
July 16, 2017
The fast retrieve ratio is excellent for deep jigging and bottom fishing. Especially when you need to get up fast to re-bait and get back down! They are a big hit on my boat every time a new guest uses them.
ProsLightweight. Retrieve ratio. Smooth drag.
ConsNone.
By Doug S.
CA
great reel
June 25, 2017
Superb casting and fast retrieve. At this price there's no need to spend $500 plus on a 2 speed unless you have weak hands.
By Exkeydet78
Lexington, VA
Excellent quality in a small package
May 19, 2017
The quality of these reels is excellent, however, the new Torium reels are far more compact than their predecessors. If balance and appearance are important to you, you may want to up-size your reel selection.
By Ahmed
Doha, Doha
Good in slow Jigging
November 27, 2016
Very good in slow jigging , light weight with very good quality
By Kweku o.
Waterbury
Lighter smaller and Efficient22
June 4, 2016
This reel was just an excellent choice for my wife who is also my fishing partner I was looking for a smaller reel for her and my research proved right when I chose this reel it performed like a pro we love our choice she is Happy and I an elated
ProsGearing system is fluid very smooth
ConsNone
By Barry
Brooklyn, NY
cranking power
May 12, 2016
WOuld have given it 5 stars but only used it once so far. I was very impressed with the smoothness of the gears and the castability of this reel.
Consnone so far
By jose
calexico CA
High Quality Reel at an afforable price !!
March 26, 2016
Better than expected !! Performance at it best, smooth and strong !!
ProsLight and Powerful !!
Consnone...
By Daryl
GA
Shimano 30hga torium
February 5, 2016
Combined with a jigging rod, great and lightweight!!! For the price you can't beat it.
ProsHi speed and lightweight
By Joshua
San Diego,92026, Holla!!
Even better than the last model!!!
November 25, 2015
Strokin dem cali yellows like its going out of style....small frame and large spool makes it very user friendly...took me a little while to get used to this one since i've been using the older models for so long...things kicks butt and is buttery smoothness....get yourself one!!!! Shimano does it again!!!
Prosergonomic(small frame,large capacity spool) lighter than previous models smooth drags exceptional free spool right out of box sexy,clean look
ConsCan you find any?
By Zackary
Dana Point, California
Awesome live bait reel
October 11, 2015
I have been using toriums for many years. I loved the older generation and was a little skeptical of this generation because of the smaller size. However, after using both a 30 and 20 size I really do like these just as well. They are much lighter and just as reliable.
ProsGreat reel for half the cost of the trinidads of equal value in my opinion
By Ty
San Antonio, TX
Perfect
October 3, 2015
I have two of the 20s and just got the 16. It will hold 500yrds of 50lb braid and it's like a little tank. Pairing it up with my new St Croix legend surf 11' rod.
ProsSize, value, everything...
ConsNothing
By Ty
San Antonio, TX
Great reel on price point
October 3, 2015
I have the older shimano torium 20 and loved it. I went to buy another and saw they have a new model. It's smaller, better, nicer looking. All good things. These are my surf reels I'll use from bull reds, to big jacks, to medium size sharks
ProsPound for pound champ
ConsNothing
By Tony
Los Angeles, California
Super Smooth!
July 24, 2015
This is an awesome reel. It casts great (I can easily average 40 yard casts on the boat) and reeling it is as smooth as a baby butt. I mainly use it for casting 2-3 ounce irons.
By Steve
Portland, oregon
nice real
May 9, 2015
This is a replacement for the first one that I received from Tackle Direct which had a jerky drag. The new one has a much smoother drag much like my other Trinidads and Toriums. Props to Tackle Direct for exchanging the defective one for me.
ProsSmall size, large capacity and casts like crazy. I use on my Lamiglas GSB 1802m !5' surf pole to cast 100 plus yards out into the Willamette and Columbia rivers to catch the mighty White Sturgeon which can grow to over 9' in length and weigh in excess of 300#!
ConsYou can't get it with green stamps!
By JimS
los angeles, California
nice reel for the money
May 3, 2015
Went out around so cali looking for yellowtails. Caught some decent sizes 15-30 pounders. Reel handled them with no problems. But compared to my trinidad it's not as smooth. But the price difference is almost double so can't complain. Other than that good reel.
ProsNice looking reel. Had no issues reeling up 30pound yellowtails.
By brandon
Norfolk, VA
Great Reel!
March 11, 2015
Casting is great , using this reel as a surf reel on a 10 foot surf rod. Casts 8 oz of lead great!
ProsCasting/ retrieving/ drag ajustments
Consnone

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
ICAST 2019 VIDEO LIBRARY
Mon, 8 July 2019
From Tuesday, July 9 – Friday, July 12, TackleDirect will be bringing you product videos and content from the best brands in fishing at ICAST 2019. Check back regularly for all of the updates, or if you want a live feed, tune into our... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
More Events Coming Soon!
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved