4.8
57 Reviews
5
89% (51)
4
9% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
98% Recommend this product (56 of 57 responses)
By Kris
So Cal and Colorado
West Coast Inshore Perfection
May 9, 2021
I bought this reel specifically for fishing west coast bays - something I have done for decades. I have used my small Shimano Calcutta's in the past, and was looking for a low profile reel for flipping docks and throwing swimbaits for Spotted Bay Bass. I was contemplating this reel or a Shimano Curado - which I have owned before for Largemouth fishing in the Southwest. I chose the tranx because of the saltwater use and the extra level of protection it offers for this environment. I just used it for the first time on Mission Bay and it performed better than I had dreamed. Don't get caught up in counting bearings - I learned long ago that bearing count isn't nearly as important as bearing QUALITY! And this reel will throw a 3/8 oz jig into the wind with no issues - Sure any baitcaster can sling a 1 oz but when you go light, that's where you see just how smooth and drag free the reel truly is. Had a blast fighting plenty of Spotties up to 2+ pounds - Fishing 10# mono, they will pull drag and require some quick reeling to yank out from the dock pilings - which the reel did to perfection. Not to take anything away from a Curado - but if your fishing salt - this reel is the ticket!! I know its bigger brothers are fantastic offshore - but this little guy definitely deserves its family name and can hold its own in the light line salt game. Put your money where your mouth is - I am - I am purchasing 2 more. Well done Shimano!
ProsSmooth casting with light baits Drag is smooth and didn't fade after many runs Gear ratio + Larger Handle = quick retrieve but power when you need it Sealed for Saltwater use Good Price Value
ConsThey are often out of stock - very popular reel for good reasons
By Robert
Mastic, NY
Just as advertised
March 17, 2021
I’ve been looking to grab a baitcaster for a while. For months I would go back and forth on if I wanted to spend the $ on the tranx. So glad I did. It’s very smooth and I’ve already pulled in some nice fish on it. It’s got a lot of power from the bottom thank you the low gear. If you’re wondering if it’s with it....100%. Pull the trigger.
By jon
salisbury, MD
Powerful and smooth
March 13, 2021
This reel is super smooth and has plenty of drag power. Pairs nicely with 7'6" hf tidemaster.
ProsLightweight
By Terry
Longwood, FL
Great light weight SPJ reel
February 24, 2021
I bought this for using some my lighter SPJ setup and it pairs really well with it.
By Cody
Portland, Texas
Great reel
February 17, 2021
Great reel fast shipping and good customer service.
By Ricardo S.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon. Mexico.
Just get it.
February 1, 2021
If you're using swimbaits or anything over 2 oz just get it. I paired it with a Dobyns 806SB and I can bomb soft baits a mile, almost spooled it with an 8' magdraft. Love the power handle but if you don't just get a gomexus handle on eBay, way cheaper than getting the standard Shimano handle. (Only the 7 gear ratio comes with a power handle)
By Johnny
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Great reel
January 13, 2021
From throwing swim baits to bottom fishing for tog this reel does it all
By jon
salisbury, MD
Smooth Reel
January 6, 2021
Spooled w/ 50 # and paired on a 76 h tidemaster for inshore around OC. Looking forward to casting eels at big cobia and bottom fishing for drum, tog, and doormats.
ProsHandle is nice
By Kane
Sacramento
Tranx 401
December 27, 2020
I love it. Best reel ever
By Timothy
Marmora, NJ
Tran x 400hg is a power house
December 14, 2020
This fall I was trolling with the 400hg for albies and it handled it with no problem I feel like this reel with the power handle reels them in easier then most 20 conventionals. They say the drag isn’t strong enough but for your normal fish it is fine. It has caught albies, mani mani, hound fish, strippers. I can only imagine what the 500 is like
ProsSmoothness, power handle
ConsNo clicker option
By Rockamike
NYC
Great Reel
November 17, 2020
Perfect size, great reel, I own about a dozen other reels this one stands out. Great handle and has a smooth feel.
ProsGreat handle
By Gabriel A.
California
Great reel
October 10, 2020
Easy to handle strong reel for it size great product.
By David S.
South Florida
lots of drag
August 25, 2020
love tranx 400aHG reel.. It has great casting with little backlash. The drag is enough to pull the big snook out of the pillings and I have successfully landed several overslots!
Prosdrag durability line capacity
By Blayne
Austin, TX
Great reel - a little heavy
August 13, 2020
This reel has been great and held up very well in extreme salt (surf) conditions. The one slight downside is that it's heavier than I prefer for a lure reel. However, a little added weight for the extra durability and lasting performance is a sacrifice I don't mind making. I would give it 4.5 if I could split stars!
Prosrugged, durable, precision,
Consheavy
By darrell
COSTA MESA, CA
versatile reel
July 23, 2020
great reel for inshore bass fishing
By Joseph
bay shore, NY
300 is amazing!
May 23, 2020
Got a 300 Tranx AHG On my g loomis pro green MH. Very impressive bait caster. I’m not one to use them but this reel caught my eye and I’m so glad I made the investment
ProsPower handle is comfortable
By Andrew
Carolinas
Tough and versatile
May 22, 2020
I’m on a budget but I need quality gear so I try to buy gear that can serve multiple purposes. This real fits that category and can be fished in fresh or saltwater with excellent performance.
By Angel
Lake Worth, Florida
Awesome real
May 8, 2020
Very smooth feels great in the hand so far great setup on the st. Croix mojo musky
ProsReels in the snooks with no problem
ConsSo far nothing to complain about
By Dave
Ca
Excellent
May 2, 2020
Love Shimano. Just another great product.
By william
Atlanta, Georgia
Tough
April 28, 2020
This reel can take some damage. Can handle baits really well
By Tim
Ocean city
So far loving this reel
March 31, 2020
I was in Florida recently and I accidentally hooked a shark I thought the tran x 400hg handled it really well
By Glenn
Jupiter
Nice reel
March 30, 2020
I paired this with an Okuma xpress travel rod. Nice and smooth, casts very well. Midrange reel with a high end feel
ProsLeft hand return option High and low gear options Power handle equipped
ConsShows up all hours of the night Promises the world when it?s drunk Doesn?t know Joe Rogan
By JBrous
Texas Coast
Sweet reel
March 17, 2020
This Reel is looking great so far. Only one trip on it yet but it is so smooth. The single knob 'power' handle is nice as well I wasn't sure I would like it but I do. I paired this with a Terez Heavy rod and it is a great combo. I am now looking into buying a 200 and 300. Makes me feel more confident with the seals to keep water out so i am not as worried about opening up and needing to maintain the internals as frequently.
ProsWater seal
ConsAt the top of my price range so I cant buy several.
By Scott
Virginia Beach
Shimano Tranx TRX201AHG
March 14, 2020
Good reel with several options for adjusting spool casting tension. Reel makes long casts and has strong drag.
ProsSeveral options for adjusting spool casting tension.
ConsNone
By Mark
Ontario
Versatile Musky Reel
February 11, 2020
Got the 400 size HG and can use this reel to fish big rubber, small blades and jerkbaits for musky. The line pickup is excellent and the cranking power when pulling size 8 and 9 blades is excellent as well. Just a fantastic reel. Paired with a 9' XH rod you have yourself the ultimate musky fishing machine.
ProsLightweight, incredible line pick-up, durability
By Mark
Ontario
Perfect Big Bucktail Reel
February 11, 2020
Bought this reel for fishing big bucktails for musky and it did not disappoint. I did end up adding the power handle to it. Pull double 10's with ease and the lower gear ratio actually works well for fishing big rubber a little deeper when fish are holding close to the bottom.
ConsDid not come with the power handle.
By Brent
Miami, FL
One of the best reels
January 22, 2020
I got the 300 size to throw medium sized baits, swimbaits up to 4oz in particular. I've gone on to use it to throw large jerkbaits and other walking type baits with great success. Casts great, no shortage of cranking power. Drag has been smooth. One of the best reels on the market.
ConsPower handle can cause a short cast so either swap the handle or make sure it's in its lowest position before casting.
By Rob
On da wada
To0 big????
January 20, 2020
I bought a 400 for freshwater swimbaits and was worried it would be to big. Upon opening I was pleasantly surprised at the size. Nice reel. Wished I would have bought some sooner.
By Sugi
Costa Mesa, CA
Great Reel!
January 10, 2020
Purchased 2 size 200 for fishing the bay. One was a gift for my son and I had to have one myself. Smooth and cast good distant with 1/4oz jigs. One day I would like to purchase all sizes. Just wish these quality reels were cheaper...
ProsGreat performance all around...
ConsToo dang pricey!
By Kenny
MD
nice reel
November 20, 2019
happy with this reel I use this for inshore fishing with live bait or bigger jigs on a paddle
By William
Mount Prospect Il
This reel is worth the price
November 2, 2019
I’m really happy with this reel. I got it for musky fishing and did it preform. I went from 4 oz lures to #5 mepps spinners with no problems. Even if I forgot to adjust it I had no backlashes. The breaking system is great.
By CHRIS
SAN DIEGO, CA
Tranx 201
August 25, 2019
Nice upgrade to the Curado K platform, love the corrosion resistant finish and mostly the oversized handle and knobs for cranking on fish against the current in the bay and inshore. I can cast lead, spinners, bladed jigs, flyline/T-rig and i also throw light A-rigs on this thing no problem. Only wish they made the 201 in all gear ratios!! Another let-down for lefty anglers. Overall, i liked the Tranx 201 so much i bought a second one to replace one of my Curado K's.
ProsExceptional casting, smooth powerful gearing, oversized handle/knobs, corrosion protection
ConsLack of gear ratios in left hand model
By don
Suisun Bay , Delta
Trax400
August 12, 2019
I've landed stripper's and several sturgeon on this reel. Nothing but joy! This reel is a tank and I have no hesitation running it for yellow tail & calico. I will be getting the big brother 500 only because I'm completely satisfied with this reel. I just want both. Shimano has a winner here!
ProsBuild , smoothness , quality , power , and looks great!
Consnone
By Thomas K.
New York
Failure
June 10, 2019
The winding and drag suddenly failed for no apparent reason.
ConsThe winding mechanism and drag control suddenly failed for no apparent reason.
By Kevin
San Francisco
Good casting
June 8, 2019
Very nice reel
By Peter
Maryland
Smooth as silk!
April 19, 2019
I finally had a chance to use this reel last weekend out on the bay. It was an absolute pleasure to cast. It has a great feel in the hand; fits perfectly and the paddle crank was smooth as silk on every return. No issues at all with ocean spray. Gave it a rinse after the day was done and I'm ready to head out again next weekend!
By Casper
Upper Chichester PA
Great Reel
April 7, 2019
Been using this reel for Taug fishing. So far it's been a great reel with all the power needed for catching big fish.
ProsLow profile. 25# of drag. Lightweight.
By BIGGS
BROOKLYN ,NY
NICE
March 28, 2019
RECENTLY PURCHASED THE 400AHG .VERY SMOOTH , VERY LIGHT EASY CASTING REEL WITH NO BACKLASH. VERY WELL MADE SHIMANO WINNER LOOKING FORWARS TO WORK THIS BAD BOY OUT .
ProsLIGHT N SMOOTH.
ConsDON'T LIKE THE PLACE OF THE SIDE BUTTON.
By Justin
California
The Tranx 400 is great
March 17, 2019
Even smoother than expected and looks good! Very tight package with a ton of drag. Tranx is a top tier reel and I’m very happy with it. Will cast anything about a mile and a half!
ProsQuality Smoothness Big drag small profile
ConsWould like to see a little more line capacity
By Carl
Sugar Grove, IL
Light & Smooth
March 2, 2019
My choice was the TRX400AHG. I like the big single handle. Set it up with two, opposing, brakes on. Have not had a "bird's nest" yet.
ProsBig single handle on 400. Light weight. Shimano Technology.
ConsNone
By Bob
Millsboro, DE
FAST RETRIEVE
February 2, 2019
Nice smooth cast and retrieve low profile bait caster; will be using in the Florida Bay as well as the reef line in the Florida Keys. Good design and easy to maintain.
By Bob
Millsboro, DE
Super Smooth
February 2, 2019
Great casting distance and super smooth retrieve. 20# braid filled will meet the needs of any Florida Bay fishing targets. Nice simple design and easy to maintain.
By Frank F.
Newport Bach, Ca
Nice small baitcaster
January 3, 2019
So far so good. Smooth casting
By Louis D.
Rhode Island
inshore special
October 12, 2018
out of all the reels I own Im constantlly reaching for my tranx300 . Its an amazingly comfortable and versatile little powerhouse. from fluke and blackfish to trophy size striped bass it can handel anything I can throw at it. Castability when paired with an expride is unmatched and i love the fast retrieve. Amazing reel
By Bill
Wisconsin
Smoothest musky reel I've ever owned
September 2, 2018
It real double 10 musky baits in like there's nobody's business they're awesome
By John
Los Angeles, CA
Power and casts a mile
July 27, 2018
This light weight reel paired great with my Phoenix rod and is now my surface iron 20-30# set up. Yellow tail killer
ConsPut a lanyard on the real cover to keep from loosing it. Watch how to on YouTube reel reviews.
By Justin
San Antonio
My new favorite reel
July 6, 2018
I now have 2 of these, and intend to add a 3rd. They’re perfect for kingfish out of my kayak. I currently spool with 30lb braid, but i’ll use 40 when I replace the line. It’ll hold plenty of either, even for the big kings. Perfect for when you need a small, tough package.
ProsSmall, light, lots of line capacity.
By Jame
rancho cordova, ca
awesome reel
April 3, 2018
this reel a beast
By Justin
San Antonio, TX
Great heavy duty casting reel.
February 23, 2018
I paired my Tranx 400 with a Teramar SE 7â‚"6â‚ MH to cast and troll for kingfish out of my kayak. I like it so much I will likely buy a 2nd combination like this. Itâ‚"s like a Curado on steroids.
ProsPlenty of line capacity, very smooth, casts great.
ConsNone. I love the setup as it is.
By Marcelo
New York, New York
Nice and powerfull reel
February 5, 2018
I have loaded it with Power Pro Super Slick 40 pounds and cast a mile and its operation is very smooth ... Great Shimano !!!
By John
Sacramento, CA
Smooth reel
January 6, 2018
This reel is very smooth with huge line capacity. I can't really speak for it's casting abilities but I use it for jigging saltwater primarily and have had no issues with it.
By Neal
Texas
TRANX!
December 2, 2017
This is the second TRANX I have gotten, my other is a 500PG. The 300 is light, smooth, and really fires out the line! Great reel, performs very well.
By Rodrigo
Easton, PA
Great reel but never used it
September 20, 2017
Purchased for fluke fishing but way heavier that I wanted. Returned it for a curado 70.better fit for my needs .... this reel did look like a monster and it does have its place
By Bob G.
Yonkers NY
Smooth
September 18, 2017
The reel is light, fast and very tight. It has a smooth retrieve that is quiet Gives the feel of excellent control
By ANTONIO
NAPLES, FL
PURCHACED THE TRX300A SHM-3228
August 10, 2017
VERY SMOOTH!! GREAT QUALITY.. USED FOR FRESH WATER FISHING IN A TRIP TO SOUTH AMERICA.
ProsSMOTHNESS
ConsI NEEDED THE 22 POUND DRAG, ONLY FOUND WITH THE DOUBLE HANDLE NOT THE POWER HANDLE.
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Purchased both the HG and PG
July 31, 2017
I purchased both because I couldnâ‚"t make up my mind. The 400 size is perfect for coastal fishing in Southern California. Spooled with 50lb braid, I've caught everything from yellowtail and white seabass, to rockfish and lingcod. Comparing the two models, the 400HG is geared a bit too fast, and youâ‚"ll feel it when fighting a larger fish. The 400PG is plenty fast at 5.8:1.
ConsWish the PG had the same handle as the HG. Purchased an HG handle from Shimano and swapped it out.
By Kevin
San Francisco
Nice reel
May 17, 2017
Nice reel

Page 1 of 1