4.9
39 Reviews
5
90% (35)
4
10% (4)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (39 of 39 responses)
By Steven
Paoli, PA
Smooth and powerful
June 19, 2022
I paired this reel with Jigging World Medium Heavy Black Demon Conventional Rod, which turns out to be a perfect match. I owned a Shimano Tranx 401A which is perfect for jigging, but I found the Trinidad is much smoother and easier to reel in the fish from deep water.
By Brian
West Islip, NY
Smooth and tight
May 20, 2022
I went with the 14a for blackfish. Paired it with a 7' blackhole rod and I'm very happy with the balance and the light reel. I'm ready to spool it up and send it.
By Trinity
Trinidad, Ca
art that reels in fish
November 30, 2021
beautiful piece of fishing equipment. Shimano makes good reels that are hard to beat
By Ryan
Virginia Beach, VA
Trinidad 12a, sweet little reel
June 24, 2021
This reel is a work of art. So smooth, casts a mile.
By Nathan
Los Angeles, CA
Best Inshore & Offshore reel
March 22, 2021
Bought for using at the local trip for yellowtail. Very light but strong drag power. Very smooth for casting jigs.
By Jason
San Diego
Still my best star drag reel
August 9, 2020
I own 8 of these TN20A reels now. I use the for just about every application and bluefin tuna up to 150 lbs. These reels are absolute quality and a dream to work on. For those that cast conventional reels, this reel should be your among your top picks.
ProsCastability, drag, bearings, capacity
ConsPrice
By T B.
Bk NY
Unbelievable Quality
April 25, 2020
Upon touching this product you can get a sense of if craftsmanship, it is top notch, what makes it super special is the compact solid casing it’s solid, what’s even more attractive is the responsiveness and quickness of the spool, you can sense that casting this baby will get whatever you are throwing far out effortlessly... Great product great purchase.
ProsQuality Material,
ConsGOD BLESS AMERICA!
By Stephane
Springfield, MA
This reel can remove tree stumps
April 18, 2020
This reel costs a pretty penny but in the world of fishing "you get what you pay for". I own two Trinidad reels, 20A and 14A and both have more than ample torque to pull everything from porgy to striped bass into the boat. A1 buy if you can stomach the price.
ProsMaterials, Performance is exception and a lifetime buy. By far my best jigging reel.
ConsThe price is high but it comes with the territory of high end fishing gear.
By Hunter
Ocean city Maryland ,
Must need
April 10, 2020
One of my favorite go to reels super strong will handle anything I throw at it from flounder to offshore game fish own 1 . 4 more on the way
By Kenny
MD
Love the handle
November 19, 2019
As title says I really like the handle on this when it comes to conventional gear. It's a really smooth reel that packs a lot of punch for its price. love it
By Mike
CA
Best casting reel
May 17, 2019
This reel by far is the smoothest casting reel ever!! Will purchase another larger size soon!
By Wayne
San Francisco Ca
This reel does the job!!!!
April 7, 2019
Small light and tough
By MEL K.
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
SHIMANO TRINIDAD SERIES
February 18, 2019
Just bite the bullet and buy one. I did it 3 times for reasons you'll quickly discover.
By Nathan
Los Angeles, CA
The best star drag reel ever!!
December 31, 2018
It was super hard for me to decide between Trinidad, Saltiga, and Okuma Macaira and I am so glad that I chose the right one. My TN16A is the smoothest reel I ever used so far. Wow!! I am in West Coast. I used this reel for both fly liner (live bait) and casting surface jigs. WOW WOW WOW Very strong drag and cast super far!! Get it you won't regret!
By Bradley
San Diego, CA
Great Reel
December 27, 2018
Very smooth and casts easily.
By Jessie
nj
Nice drag for the price
November 2, 2018
always been a Penn man, but after looking at reviews on the Shimano reels I might have to try one instead of getting another Penn.
By Chris G.
Loreto Baja Mexico
Muscle Bound
May 1, 2018
I live in Baja and the Trinidad has become my "Go To" reel. I have hooked Dorado, snapper of all kinds , groper etc and this little mighty might has put the smack down on all comer's. Smooth and powerful.
ProsGreat and powerful drag
ConsI find the clicker a little sticky
By Seth
Palm Beach, Florida
Supper smooth and durable
March 20, 2018
We outfitted the entire boat with these reels because of their versatility speed smoothness and overall performance
ProsSilky Smooth Powerful Durable
ConsNone
By Charles G.
Pasadena, CA
Castmaster!!!
February 21, 2018
I love this reel!! I typically fish lever drag, but decided to give a star drag reel a try. This reel cast further than any reel in my collection. Best purchase of 2018 so far for me!!!
ProsCasting
ConsSingle speed
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
12A Line Capacity
July 31, 2017
Purchased the 12A, super fun reel for both inshore, and light offshore fishing. It holds 300 yards of 40lb Daiwa Samurai braid with room for a short fluorocarbon topshot. Can't wait to use it on kelp paddy dorado!
ConsWhite handle knob
By Danny
Water Mill, NY
Excellent Reel
July 1, 2017
Smooth Drag, compact design. The high gear ratio helps me get fish of the bottom!
By Kevin C.
San Francisco
Super nice
January 18, 2017
Very nice I like it
By Christina C.
Fairfield, CA
Excited Husband
January 12, 2017
I brought this reel as a Christmas present for my husband just this pass December and he couldn't wait to put some brightly colored braid on it and try it out. He has the Calcutta that he has been using for years and he remarked that the Calcutta is smooth but that the Trinidad was like butter when he cast, so I'm guessing that I did a good job on Christmas! By the way, my husband has hooked into four oversized sturgeons, a stingray, two pikes and a lot of striper bass since since December 27 when he got the Trinidad braided and put it on his black steel seeker.
By Rubberneck
Middletown, NY
Trinidad 12A
August 14, 2016
I got this thing attached to a trevala S rod. This reel is like a truck winch. I use in the northeast for wreck/bottom fishing
ProsLarge crank and handle. Light spool.....casts like a champ
Consgotta say it...the price. it's expensive...but well made.
By Andrew
Middletown, NY
TN14A - is unreal
July 16, 2016
i got this reel on a trevala s rod. it casts amazing well into the wind. great power and gear ratio and drag. This reel gives you versatility. I loaded it up with 30lbs braid and put a 10 yd 25lbs topshot of mono.
Proscompact size. casts amazing well. power and drag
Consthe spool does not auto-engage. although i don't really consider it a con. but some would.
By Nathan
Perris, CA
AWSOME REEL
August 15, 2015
I have this reel paired with a Terez rod and just recently took it out on a tuna trip here in So Cal and not only did it cast great with live bait but it also did great with the jigging. It was very well balanced with the Terez and I had no problems reeling in Blufin anf yellowfin in the 20-50lbs ranges and I believe it could have handled larger if I had hook one:)
ProsNot only performs great but also looks great.
ConsCan't think of any..
By myong
long Island, NY
great for fluke and black fishing
July 7, 2015
heavy enough to bring fish on to the boat. great for tautog and local cod fishing.
Prosgreat white handle look beautiful.
By Michael
,
Good for jigging and bottom fishing
January 26, 2015
High gear ratio and narrow spool is awesome for jigging.Smooth and high max drag is great too
By Thomas
San Jose, CA
One solid Reel!
October 31, 2014
I ordered this reel after reading many reviews about it. I'm sure glad I ordered it! This reel is a beast! I have it on one of my terez rods. Its way overkill for some of the fishing i do. Who cares? I don't.
Prosfeels great to know you have a high end reel thats a workhorse.
ConsPeople with hate on you when they see you holding your setup.
By Jose
West Hills, CA
great to cast and bottom fishing reel.
October 20, 2014
Smooth easy to cast reel, was able to cast an anchovy with a 1/8 egg sinker about 50 feet without a problem. Have caught yellowtail, halibut and white sea bass up to 30 pounds and was able to land them without a problem.
By Leon V.
Arizona
Great Reel
September 30, 2014
Another great Shimano product.
ProsWell built Aesthetically pleasing Good line capacity
ConsWould prefer a lower gear ratio Not a 2 speed
By HAU
Texas
finesse star drag reel
August 1, 2014
This reel is smooth as butter. The drag is very to use. You can feel the solid construction of it at the first touch. light weight but solid are the terms
Proslight and solid
Consnone
By samuel
santa barbara, CA
Bought a second !!
July 3, 2014
Liked the action and workmanship so much I bought a Second reel! I love the Shimano for its smooth working and power
ProsSmooth, great drag, Love the double action
By John
Riverside, CA
Great Reel
June 7, 2014
Remarkable reel; Very compact, but with braided line can easily be used with 40# line for tuna. And is capable of casting light baits, like anchovies, with ease.
Pros Compact and tough.
ConsPricey!!
By Thomas
Philadelphia, PA
Wait for the bugs to be worked out.
April 15, 2014
I was very excited to see this reel come out, I prefer the star drag to the lever so this was the reel for me. I bought it to cover a heavy day of bottom fishing fluke, the being a small tuna setup. I feel the reel comfortably meets those requirements. The reel I ordered had an issue in manufacturing, where I couldn't get the bolts into the reel seat to attach the rod clamp. I exchanged it for a 20 wide which doesn't have the same problem. Paired with a 7' heavy action terez it is my go-to setup.
ProsLight, easily cast. Big comfortable handle , star drag.
ConsReel seat issue.
By jerrry
clayton, NC
great jigging reel
March 18, 2014
i love my 16a. ever since i started jigging with this reel my success has increased noticeably. this is the perfect reel for blackfin tuna and amberjack as well as toothy critters such as kings and wahoo. the high gear raito and high retrieve rate really let you rip a jig through the water. the star drag has precise clicking ajustments.
Prossmall light strong high speed perfect for jigging
Conswish the handle wasn't white
By alex
sewell, nj
powerful reel
January 17, 2014
i have the 14a on a lamiglas triflex tfx7030 its super lightweight but powerful.loaded with 50 suffix 832 and youll be set for anything in nj
Proslight smooth good drag
Consnone
By Walter A.
El Cajon, CA
amazing power and drag
June 1, 2013
loaded this reel with 50lb. braid and got 305 yards on it. drag has everything it needs to fish 50 lb. with it hammered down.
By alex
margate nj
great reel
January 8, 2013
got the trinidad 14 for christmas as a new fluke and striper reel and it looks and feels sweet worth every dollar havent fished it yet but i know it will preform great
Prossmooth light powerful
Consprice but its worth it none

Page 1 of 1