4.9
79 Reviews
5
91% (72)
4
6% (5)
3
1% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
97% Recommend this product (77 of 79 responses)
By Chris
Savannah
Great inshore fishing reel
October 15, 2022
This is my 2nd Tranx 200. They are very durable and very smooth.
By Jonathan
Hicksville, NY
Excellent Large Baitcaster from Shimano
September 20, 2022
This is an excellent option if you're looking for a baitcaster with more line capacity to fish heavier line. I fish mine with 30# and it is great for deeper water bottom fishing for fluke and seabass.
By Jonathan
Hicksville, NY
Excellent Reel from Shimano
September 20, 2022
This is a great option if you're looking for an inshore baitcasting reel. I have caught striped bass, bluefish, seabass, blackfish and fluke with this reel without a hiccup. Has a very smooth drag, the reel doesn't flex in your hand under a load, and plenty of cranking power with the low gear ratio. This is hands down my favorite reel for ocean fluke fishing.
By Ron
Pennsylvania
Best musky reel
September 14, 2022
Bought this reel for my annual trip for muskies with my brother. The reel performed as expected no issues with big baits or twin tens. Plan on purchasing another in near future.
ProsGood line capacity for 100 lb braid ,. Strong smooth drag system .
ConsI don't have any at this time
By Nick
Odessa, DE
Great for fluking
September 8, 2022
Great reel for fluking.. easily let line out while continuing to touch bottom with the jig.. well worth the $$
By Luis A.
CIUDAD DEL CARMEN, CAMPECHE
gran aliado de pesca (great fishing ally)
August 16, 2022
Este carrete es un la opcion perfecta para empajerarlo con alguna ca?a de jigging cuando quieres descansar del peso de algun carrete convencional y sin temor a quedarte sin linea y poder de arrastre (This reel is the perfect option to pair it with a jigging rod when you want to rest from the weight of a conventional reel and without fear of running out of line and drag power.)
Prospoder de arrastre capacidad de linea balanceado materiales de calidad proteccion a salpicaduras de agua salada (pulling power line capacity balanced quality materials salt water splash protection)
Consninguna (none)
By Maciek
Sayreville nj
Excellent
August 14, 2022
Excellent
By Jonathan
drexel hill, PA
Nothing but the best
July 10, 2022
Been a long time Shimano fan and needed something for fluking and toggin. The tranx is perfect sooooo smooth and if needed you can cast the thing a mile
ProsSmooth lightweight line capacity
ConsNothing at all
By Trevor
THOUSAND OAKS, CA
Best saltwater baitcaster
June 11, 2022
This is the best saltwater baitcaster in my opinion. I have the 200,300 and 400 they all perform well. Amazing reel for the money.
By Brian
Baja California Sur
Excellent Reel!
May 15, 2022
The Tranx 400 is an amazing reel. I also have the Tranx 500. I fish the mangroves of Baja California with this reel. I highly recommend the Shimano Tranx 400.
By Adam
NJ
Go To Fluke Fishing Reel
December 12, 2021
Perfect reel for all my fluke fishing, both in the bay and on the ocean. Light weight is great for working a bucktail all day. While there isn't much difference between the 200A and the 200HG, the slightly lower gear ratio of the 200A results in a small difference of inches per turn on the retrieve which definitely makes reeling in larger bucktails and bigger flounder less of a chore. Great match for any medium or even medium heavy conventional rods.
ProsLightweight, smooth, ergonomic
ConsLower profile can result in your index finger getting in the way of the line coming off and going on the reel when fully palming the reel.
By RICHARD
Long Island
Great for Light Tackle Fluking
December 10, 2021
Used for quite a few party boat trips for Fluke this year on South Shore of Long Island. Handled very well. Drag is smooth and if you need a little extra oomph you can thumb the spool easily. Caught a few large bluefish with this reel as well and no hiccups. Highly reccomend for Fluking with Bucktails.
ProsSmall, lightweight.
By paul
CALIFORNIA
Strong, Smooth Gearing
September 29, 2021
Bought this for deep cranking and smaller swimbaits. Handles both tasks perfectly. Although not known as one of Shimanos best casting reels, it bombs baits farther than I expected and winches in hard resisting baits with ease. Very happy with the purchase and have since purchased the 300 size for larger glide baits (up to 5 ounces). Another great product from Shimano.
ConsNever in stock.
By Michael
Burke, VA
TRX301 Great Reel
September 21, 2021
Use primarily for Fluke and Tautog fishing. Left hand retrieve and power handle make reeling very comfortable.
ProsPower Handle
By Dara
Orange County, CA
Best Reel for both Salt and freshwater..
September 2, 2021
I purchased about 1 month ago, I went out of San Diego on Overnight chasing Tunas and Yellowtails. Hooked on a 35lb. bluefin it was amazing, button down the drag and just started reeling it in with ease. The reel is soooo smooth. Next week I went to Daimond Valley Lake and Hooked to a 18lb striper and it was so smooth to Reel the fish in..I would RECOMMEND anyone who wanted small Reel with power and smoothness for saltwater and freshwater..
ProsPower, Smooth Reel in, Compact.
ConsN/A
By Eric
California
Not a saltwater reel.
August 30, 2021
Ok this reel is alright, but it's not a good saltwater reel. It's a musky reel made for freshwater. Daiwa lexa tw has replaced the larger size tranx's but I still have my 200. The Daiwa lexa tw has a better saltwater design than the bigger 300-400 tranx and a lot more torque maintaining the same weight and better cast ability. I honestly believe the tranx 300 is better suited for salt than the bigger tranx's because of it's lack of bearings, there is pretty much nothing to corrode. I
Prosnot sure, it's just as smooth as my daiwas but they always like to fail.
ConsThey fail fishing exclusively in saltwater.
By David
Connecticut
Insane water resistance
August 27, 2021
My lucky day included a beautiful 25” fluke on the kayak, AND pulling a heavily encrusted tranX 300a attached to a 7’ St Croix rod. The rod and reel were so covered with saltwater nastiness, that I had no idea what I had pulled up at first. Regardless, I brought it home to throw in the trash rather than just toss back in the ocean, then noticed the Shimano font on the reel cover. A quick pressure wash later (and a little bit of toothpick work) and the reel worked. Smooth as butter. I cracked open the case the next day to see that almost zero growth was inside. A tiny bit on one for the bearings that was easily removed. When I say it looked new inside, that’s zero exaggeration. I’m going to put a new star drag and handle on purely for aesthetics. Reel (and rod) worked like new. I’ll never know for sure, but I’m guessing that the combo was immersed in a saltwater bay notorious for heavy growth for a minimum of a year. Can your Diawa do that? Two that I threw in the trash after months of use (and several $ervice appointments later) couldn’t. I’m actually amazed. That CoreProtect is real!
ProsAmazing
ConsNone noted at this point.
By allen
Bakersfield, CA
very light and effective
August 4, 2021
very fun to handle when the fish runs...
By Salt C.
Hackensack, NJ
Strong and lightweight
July 21, 2021
Awesome reel for my bottom fishing needs in the Northeast. Can't wait to test it on Tog
ProsLight, strong, oversized dual paddle handle
By Joshua
Valley Lee, MD
My favorite baitcaster 201
July 19, 2021
Bought this to pair with a G-Loomis E6X swim bait rod. Rod is on back order, but so far it has been amazing on every rod I’ve used it with. When rigging my rods prior to fishing. I always tie my anticipated “best lure” on it. I’m getting ready to order another one when I get a shipping time frame on the G-Loomis.
ProsGreat casting, control, and smoothness. Comfortable. Good looking. Great for salt water too. Plenty of power for fishing heavy cover. Great amount of line capacity.
ConsNone that I can think of
By Joshua
Valley Lee, MD
I’m saving up to buy another one!
July 19, 2021
I bought this for throwing bucktails and larger soft plastics (1-3oz) and it does this very well! I wanted it to be a heavier setup I keep on my kayak Incase an opportunity presented itself on a big striper or a big cobia. So far I have only caught big specks and schoolie sized bass. It is easy to manage and pairs well the the bigger baits. The handle is amazing too. I put a oz egg sinker on and I can cast well over my barn which sits 88 yards away and is 25’ tall.
ProsGreat handle. Comfortable too use for extended periods retrieving large lures. Casting. Looks great.
ConsI can?t think of any at this time
By JohnHolliday
Michigan
Tranx 400
June 27, 2021
Amazing reel, feels great in hand, casts well, and has the brakes of a truck.
By Kris
So Cal and Colorado
West Coast Inshore Perfection
May 9, 2021
I bought this reel specifically for fishing west coast bays - something I have done for decades. I have used my small Shimano Calcutta's in the past, and was looking for a low profile reel for flipping docks and throwing swimbaits for Spotted Bay Bass. I was contemplating this reel or a Shimano Curado - which I have owned before for Largemouth fishing in the Southwest. I chose the tranx because of the saltwater use and the extra level of protection it offers for this environment. I just used it for the first time on Mission Bay and it performed better than I had dreamed. Don't get caught up in counting bearings - I learned long ago that bearing count isn't nearly as important as bearing QUALITY! And this reel will throw a 3/8 oz jig into the wind with no issues - Sure any baitcaster can sling a 1 oz but when you go light, that's where you see just how smooth and drag free the reel truly is. Had a blast fighting plenty of Spotties up to 2+ pounds - Fishing 10# mono, they will pull drag and require some quick reeling to yank out from the dock pilings - which the reel did to perfection. Not to take anything away from a Curado - but if your fishing salt - this reel is the ticket!! I know its bigger brothers are fantastic offshore - but this little guy definitely deserves its family name and can hold its own in the light line salt game. Put your money where your mouth is - I am - I am purchasing 2 more. Well done Shimano!
ProsSmooth casting with light baits Drag is smooth and didn't fade after many runs Gear ratio + Larger Handle = quick retrieve but power when you need it Sealed for Saltwater use Good Price Value
ConsThey are often out of stock - very popular reel for good reasons
By Robert
Mastic, NY
Just as advertised
March 17, 2021
I’ve been looking to grab a baitcaster for a while. For months I would go back and forth on if I wanted to spend the $ on the tranx. So glad I did. It’s very smooth and I’ve already pulled in some nice fish on it. It’s got a lot of power from the bottom thank you the low gear. If you’re wondering if it’s with it....100%. Pull the trigger.
By jon
salisbury, MD
Powerful and smooth
March 13, 2021
This reel is super smooth and has plenty of drag power. Pairs nicely with 7'6" hf tidemaster.
ProsLightweight
By Terry
Longwood, FL
Great light weight SPJ reel
February 24, 2021
I bought this for using some my lighter SPJ setup and it pairs really well with it.
By Cody
Portland, Texas
Great reel
February 17, 2021
Great reel fast shipping and good customer service.
By Ricardo S.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon. Mexico.
Just get it.
February 1, 2021
If you're using swimbaits or anything over 2 oz just get it. I paired it with a Dobyns 806SB and I can bomb soft baits a mile, almost spooled it with an 8' magdraft. Love the power handle but if you don't just get a gomexus handle on eBay, way cheaper than getting the standard Shimano handle. (Only the 7 gear ratio comes with a power handle)
By Johnny
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Great reel
January 13, 2021
From throwing swim baits to bottom fishing for tog this reel does it all
By jon
salisbury, MD
Smooth Reel
January 6, 2021
Spooled w/ 50 # and paired on a 76 h tidemaster for inshore around OC. Looking forward to casting eels at big cobia and bottom fishing for drum, tog, and doormats.
ProsHandle is nice
By Kane
Sacramento
Tranx 401
December 27, 2020
I love it. Best reel ever
By Timothy
Marmora, NJ
Tran x 400hg is a power house
December 14, 2020
This fall I was trolling with the 400hg for albies and it handled it with no problem I feel like this reel with the power handle reels them in easier then most 20 conventionals. They say the drag isn’t strong enough but for your normal fish it is fine. It has caught albies, mani mani, hound fish, strippers. I can only imagine what the 500 is like
ProsSmoothness, power handle
ConsNo clicker option
By Rockamike
NYC
Great Reel
November 17, 2020
Perfect size, great reel, I own about a dozen other reels this one stands out. Great handle and has a smooth feel.
ProsGreat handle
By Gabriel A.
California
Great reel
October 10, 2020
Easy to handle strong reel for it size great product.
By David S.
South Florida
lots of drag
August 25, 2020
love tranx 400aHG reel.. It has great casting with little backlash. The drag is enough to pull the big snook out of the pillings and I have successfully landed several overslots!
Prosdrag durability line capacity
By Blayne
Austin, TX
Great reel - a little heavy
August 13, 2020
This reel has been great and held up very well in extreme salt (surf) conditions. The one slight downside is that it's heavier than I prefer for a lure reel. However, a little added weight for the extra durability and lasting performance is a sacrifice I don't mind making. I would give it 4.5 if I could split stars!
Prosrugged, durable, precision,
Consheavy
By darrell
COSTA MESA, CA
versatile reel
July 23, 2020
great reel for inshore bass fishing
By Joseph
bay shore, NY
300 is amazing!
May 23, 2020
Got a 300 Tranx AHG On my g loomis pro green MH. Very impressive bait caster. I’m not one to use them but this reel caught my eye and I’m so glad I made the investment
ProsPower handle is comfortable
By Andrew
Carolinas
Tough and versatile
May 22, 2020
I’m on a budget but I need quality gear so I try to buy gear that can serve multiple purposes. This real fits that category and can be fished in fresh or saltwater with excellent performance.
By Angel
Lake Worth, Florida
Awesome real
May 8, 2020
Very smooth feels great in the hand so far great setup on the st. Croix mojo musky
ProsReels in the snooks with no problem
ConsSo far nothing to complain about
By Dave
Ca
Excellent
May 2, 2020
Love Shimano. Just another great product.
By william
Atlanta, Georgia
Tough
April 28, 2020
This reel can take some damage. Can handle baits really well
By Tim
Ocean city
So far loving this reel
March 31, 2020
I was in Florida recently and I accidentally hooked a shark I thought the tran x 400hg handled it really well
By Glenn
Jupiter
Nice reel
March 30, 2020
I paired this with an Okuma xpress travel rod. Nice and smooth, casts very well. Midrange reel with a high end feel
ProsLeft hand return option High and low gear options Power handle equipped
ConsShows up all hours of the night Promises the world when it?s drunk Doesn?t know Joe Rogan
By JBrous
Texas Coast
Sweet reel
March 17, 2020
This Reel is looking great so far. Only one trip on it yet but it is so smooth. The single knob 'power' handle is nice as well I wasn't sure I would like it but I do. I paired this with a Terez Heavy rod and it is a great combo. I am now looking into buying a 200 and 300. Makes me feel more confident with the seals to keep water out so i am not as worried about opening up and needing to maintain the internals as frequently.
ProsWater seal
ConsAt the top of my price range so I cant buy several.
By Scott
Virginia Beach
Shimano Tranx TRX201AHG
March 14, 2020
Good reel with several options for adjusting spool casting tension. Reel makes long casts and has strong drag.
ProsSeveral options for adjusting spool casting tension.
ConsNone
By Mark
Ontario
Versatile Musky Reel
February 11, 2020
Got the 400 size HG and can use this reel to fish big rubber, small blades and jerkbaits for musky. The line pickup is excellent and the cranking power when pulling size 8 and 9 blades is excellent as well. Just a fantastic reel. Paired with a 9' XH rod you have yourself the ultimate musky fishing machine.
ProsLightweight, incredible line pick-up, durability
By Mark
Ontario
Perfect Big Bucktail Reel
February 11, 2020
Bought this reel for fishing big bucktails for musky and it did not disappoint. I did end up adding the power handle to it. Pull double 10's with ease and the lower gear ratio actually works well for fishing big rubber a little deeper when fish are holding close to the bottom.
ConsDid not come with the power handle.
By Brent
Miami, FL
One of the best reels
January 22, 2020
I got the 300 size to throw medium sized baits, swimbaits up to 4oz in particular. I've gone on to use it to throw large jerkbaits and other walking type baits with great success. Casts great, no shortage of cranking power. Drag has been smooth. One of the best reels on the market.
ConsPower handle can cause a short cast so either swap the handle or make sure it's in its lowest position before casting.
By Rob
On da wada
To0 big????
January 20, 2020
I bought a 400 for freshwater swimbaits and was worried it would be to big. Upon opening I was pleasantly surprised at the size. Nice reel. Wished I would have bought some sooner.

Page 1 of 2
1