4.8
24 Reviews
5
88% (21)
4
8% (2)
3
0% (0)
2
4% (1)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (24 of 24 responses)
By TT
New York
Best Value Rod
August 21, 2020
I have been fishing these rods in both Medium and Medium Heavy for over two years now. The Medium can handle up to 6oz sinkers anything heavier I switch to the Medium Heavy. I have caught a few Fluke over 10lbs with the medium and had no issue. This is my favorite rod and I have others that are much more expensive.
ProsValue and feel
ConsNone
By Joe
Warwick, NewYork
Light rod big power
July 25, 2020
I've been using these rods now for a couple of years and I like them so much that I've purchased every size available. Its a convenient rod that's great for bottom fishing on light tackle but with the lower backbone to pull fish with total control on a light set up that doesn't beat you up .
Proslight weight and surprisingly powerful backbone that will shock you !
ConsNoNE so far after over three years of use in various size rods
By Steve
Montauk, NY
Perfect for deepwater fluking
June 16, 2020
Fast tip for good jigging action with a solid backbone to fight bigger fish. I use this rod fishing anywhere from 40-120ft of water. Caught my biggest fluke at 10.75lbs and rod handled it like a champ! I now own 4 of the the same rods.
By Van
SoMD
Favorite jigging rod
June 8, 2020
I have two of these in conventional and spinning (for light casting). I have a Seigler SGN, with the longer crank arm, on this rod and love the combination and weight. The setup is butter. The rod has great action, is very strong and sensitive. These rods really do feel like a step up from the other jigging rods that I own.
By Brad
New York City
Trevala S MH casting rod
May 17, 2020
Very light and strong back bone for a small diameter rod. I matched with a Tekota 500HG which I will use for vertical jigging. It will be light enough for all day jigging and strong enough to land stripers and gorilla blues.
By Cobb
Glenmoore, PA
Amazing rod
March 2, 2020
Lightweight and is very versatile strong and looks nice
ProsLong grip Looks good Strong and sturdy
ConsNone at all
By Ralph S.
Enfield CT
Sensitive and strong
November 11, 2019
Great Blackfish Rod
ProsLightweight and Strong
ConsNone
By Jason
Pensacola fl
Not sure
August 14, 2019
Done got two that have snapped in half on me on the strike with amberjacks. I love the rod but can’t keep buying theses things every other week
By Roberto V.
Paramus NJ 07652
Shimano Trevala S Jigging Conventional Rods
July 16, 2019
I left a review about this rod recently, giving it a 5 star rating. I'm revising my review as I recently went out fluking out of the Atlantic highland area, with a few friends on a privately owned boat other than a charter. I'd have to say that I'm unsure about that rod tip, I'm not sure if it's because it's nano silica technology but seems as on a smaller boat the rod doesn't perform as let's say a silver bullet, or a stiffer rod. Maybe you have to bump up the grain to 110, 135, or 158 to get that lateral ridigity to get a better set on the hook. Not sure but I hooked into to some nice fluke and many shorts but unsure of this rod when it comes to back bay private boat fishing but on a charter I think it's great because you are higher up and get to use the back part of the rod aka backbone to really set the hook.
By Roberto V.
Paramus
Shimano Trevala S jigging conventional rod 9 (90 grain version)
July 6, 2019
I went out on a party boat for fluke out of Atlantic Highland.. I was bouncing weight up to 5 oucnes without any problem. I was impressed by the nano silcia technology that's incorporated into the rod's fibers. Truly great rod thats a powerhouse.
ProsVery light weight strong rod that has unbelievable backbone great feel in your hands. I would say that this nano silicia rod is possibly indestructible because of the advance technology that's incorporated into the rod.The action on the rod is ideal for true fluke fisherman. A+
ConsWould be nice if this rod was offered in 6'6" 6'8" and 7'. I think that a larger size rod would be beneficial for different applications such as fluking off a kayak, and possibly for just preference. I'm completely happy with the 6'3" I prefer the smaller rod for some reason but I overheard a conversation at Jigging world in Paramus NJ and a kayaker bought the Nexus 7' rod - great rod but if Shimano made a 7' rod with nano technology it's a no brainer.
By Louis
Collegeville, PA
Great rod for bottom fishing
July 2, 2019
Used this rod with an Avet SX reel on a party boat. With four foot seas and 15 knot winds this set up easily handles handles 8 oz weight. At first glance, I thought it would bend like a wet noodle. Not even close. Very impressed with the performance.
ProsGood performance and handles heavy weight
ConsWish the fore grip was a little longer
By craig m.
NJ
Go to bucktailing tail
June 21, 2019
I know its does not have your traditional action for bucktailing but when fishing especially inshore its the perfect rod for me. Light, strong and feels good using 4-6 ounces.
ProsLight Strong
ConsLittle Pricey
By Joseph 3.
New Jersey
Shimano trevalas jigging rod
April 24, 2019
This rod is for anyone who wants to catch fish while enjoying the day out on the water. It is sensitive to the touch with a excellent backbone. If I was going to purchase another rod I would but this one again
ProsIt light, capable of bringing in your fish ,strong and sensitive.
ConsNone at the moment
By Kevin b.
Bucks county pa
Best pole for the money
August 22, 2018
great product, light tackel pole with a lot of power. Had no problem pulling in Bonita and false albies. Caught a couple 15 lbs blues with no issues. This is a must have rod in your arsenal.
By Aleks
Wethersfield, CT
Trevala S MH
September 8, 2016
My favorite rod in my arsenal for jigging or bottom fishing. It is sensitive enough to detect bites even with up to 12 ounces of weight and also has incredible strength for its size and weight. I use this rod fishing anything from 1 ounce bucktails to a high low rig with 12 ounce of weight. If I could pick one rod to fish all day this would be my choice no questions asked. The only negative thing about the Trevala S line is that they do not have a H (heavy) model. Other than that it is a fantastic rod for any type of fishing from porgy, to fluke, to bluefish and striper. Some may consider it an expensive rod, but I would say it has excellent value for its price point.
ProsSensitivity Strong Backbone Very Light Value
ConsTrevala S does not have a H model
By christopher
Monroeville, NJ
awesome
April 19, 2016
I use this rod for deep water fluke jigging. It handles buck tails up to 8 oz. and has the backbone to land large fluke in 100' of water. Most of my fishing friends laughed when they first saw the size of this rod but they quickly went out and bought there own when they saw me landing fish after fish. also has been a great outfit for inshore seabass fishing.
Proslightweight extremely sensitive reasonable in price
Consguides are bent easily if laying around the boat short overall length short fore grip
By cody m.
Brevard County Florida
this rod is Awsome
October 1, 2015
This rod I rate 5 out of 5 all day hands down!!! im the Owner of BonaFide anglers fishing team and im a deck hand in florida an in new jersey seasonal.. I use this rod with the New Lexa 300 high line capacity left handed Bait caster... for all purpose fishing from Wreck fishing for Snapper to bottom fishing for Fluke to Launching lures for Mahi an Cobia an Blackfin tuna... this rod is soo amazingly light an Powerful you cant go wrong Amazing fights every time.. I own 3 of these Rods with different reels on them Cant go wrong for the price ethier
Consneeds a top grip above reel for small conventional reels
By Michael
Boynton Beach, FL
sweet rod
May 2, 2015
Not really a vertical jigging rod like the regular trevala but a nicenter rod
By Luc
Abu Dhabi
Jigging rod, with ability to cast some stickbait
March 12, 2015
Very nice rod, it's amzing how strong this rod is and how much it can handle . It feels very light and looks good.
By Jon
Long Branch, NJ
A "MUST HAVE" ROD
August 3, 2014
This rod is worth every penny and is one helluva work horse...Extremely light weight with plenty of backbone to handle heavy weights and action, yet sensitive enough to feel the lightest bite...If you don't have this rod and the M weight version of this rod, then you are missing out on an outstanding fishing experience!!! Pair it up with an Avet two-speed Raptor reel and you have an incredible fishing tool...
ProsExtremely light weight; plenty of backbone to handle heavy weights and action, yet sensitive enough to feel the lightest bite.
ConsNONE!!!
By Colin
Wallingford, PA
Trevala S
December 19, 2013
This i a great, light-weight setup with a light tip, but lots of backbone. Even though this rod is rated for around 4 ounces (110 grams), I've bottom bounced bucktails up to six ouces with it.
By Mohamed H.
Sharjah, Sharjah
Very Lightweight
January 19, 2013
Very Lightweight, Strong Blank high sensitivity
ProsVery Lightweight, Strong Blank high sensitivity
ConsNothing
By alex
margate city nj
great rod
October 15, 2012
i have the ml one its light and sensitive and strong i have a tyrnos 8 2 speed which is a great reel but a little heavy weight wise for this rod. but the rod is very strong and can handle bucktails and weights up to 8 ozs i use i for striper and fluke iv caught up to 30 lb striper on it
Prosstrong light looks cool like a largemouth bass rod
Conswish they made the heavier ones in 7 ft
By Mohamed H.
Sharjah, Sharjah
Very lite
August 8, 2012
Very lite material and also strong enough to handle big fish
ProsMicro fuji guide, long rear split grip
ConsNothing

Page 1 of 1