4.8
86 Reviews
5
84% (72)
4
13% (11)
3
2% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (84 of 86 responses)
By Harrison
Glen Burnie, MD
No star!!!
December 9, 2019
First time out with this rod yesterday for seabassing and I was totally disappointed.pulling out 4Lbs maby 5Lbs dogfish on a boat the rod broke in half!!
By Tom
New Jersey
Great Rod
November 20, 2019
The Terez series are great, lightweight, strong, powerful.
By Rikki S.
Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Great rod
October 27, 2019
This rod can handle everything you throw at it. It's tough, strong and sensitive. The Terez line of rods are some of the best made. From medium to extra heavy, these rods will help you catch more fish !!!
ProsMade for braid. Light weight. Sensitive. Strong. Tough. Comfortable
ConsA fairly light tip for some situations.
By Peter
Maryland
Plenty of backbone!
October 21, 2019
Paired this with my Penn Slammer and have been flipping chunky stripers into the boat. Great rod, tons of backbone and the black finish is super sleek!
By BP
LA
solid pole
October 16, 2019
well made
By Chris
Boston
Great rod
October 14, 2019
Shimano TZS72MBLK Terez Spinning Rod, Used this rod for everything and it's a great all around boat rod. I've jigged up to 5oz with it, thrown lures with it and bottom fished with it.
ProsGreat all around rod
ConsHeard they dont like being dropped. Hand mine bounce of the rail and hasn't broken yet. I guess time will tell.
By Derek
Apopka, FL
Great rods, better price
October 10, 2019
Got them on special, close out of last years old model. Great deal and great service.
Proseverything
Consnot more of them available
By John
Sky Valley
Awsome
October 6, 2019
Great heavy duty rod that is super light weight
By John
Sky Valley
GREAT BUY
October 5, 2019
Had a chance to go grouper fishing last week and the rod performed flawlessly. I love the light weight and strong backbone. Works especially well for my 11 year old son to be able to use lighter equipment and still be to fight big fish.
ProsLight but strong
By Craig
San Carlos, Sonora, Mexico
Shimano Terez spinning
October 4, 2019
A well made fishing rod. This is my 3rd Terez rod. I mainly use them for fishing Yellow Tail in the sea of Cortez. Nice rod for the money. Got my 3rd one on sale.
ProsDurable!
ConsA little expensive.
By Tony
Houston
o-tzs69xhblk-terez-spinning-rod-black
October 3, 2019
Very dependable rod also good price. This is my second one, buying for my wife. Didn’t like the warranty from shimano. The 1st one I got it was life time but now only 1 year.
By Conrad
New bright ,ny
Beautiful rod !
October 3, 2019
Great rod for porgys and Black fish jigs , easy hook set with a sensitive tip.
ProsGreat flex for braided line. Price on sale!
ConsShould have brought the conventional when it was on sale
By Aaron
Asheboro, NC
Shimano Terez 7'2" M Spinning
October 3, 2019
Got this shipped down to NC and was happy right away with the condition it arrived. Packed perfectly and safe. Tested the fitment of my Shimano 8000 Reel on it first thing, fits like it was made for it. Locks down tight and solid. Just got back from a trip using this set up. The Rod has a very light and sensitive feel. I was able to use it for both heavy bottom fishing and live baiting. I was confident in either method that I had the right rod for the job. Largest fish landed so far was in the 30lb range. The Rod is impressive to look at, the guides are super smooth and didn't have and issues with casting. This is a Beautiful, Versatile, and Strong Rod.
By Tommy
California
Great rod
October 3, 2019
Excellent rod for the ocean.
By SOON H.
NY
Great rod!!!
October 2, 2019
Lightweight. Strong. Looks good. Paired it with a saragosa 8000
By Thomas D.
NJ
Live up to the hype
October 1, 2019
There's a reason Shimano's Terez series are some of the most well regarded rods out there. Great balance, strength, durability, lightweight, and on and on.
By Grant
Port Aransas, Texas
Awesome rod
October 1, 2019
Great rod and handles giant fish with ease. Has a ton of lifting power for those larger tunas
ConsNone yet
By thomas g.
nj
super rod
October 1, 2019
see below
Prosi dont give 5 stars for anything .So this is my highest rating lso far for any rod
Consnothing at all
By Andy M.
NC
Shimano TZS72MHBLK Terez Spinning Rod
October 1, 2019
outstanding, light, very sensitive, strong rod, well made - great spinning rod
By Milton P.
CA
Shimano TZC70MBLK Terez Conventional Fishing Rod
October 1, 2019
very good rod and at a great price wished I would have bought another at this price.
By Thuan T.
San Jose
Tuna slayer
September 12, 2019
Used it for YFT and easy fishing
ProsGreat value
ConsNone
By Rikki S.
Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Great rod
August 29, 2019
A true medium light that is very sensitive yet very strong. I love these terez rods in all powers...
ProsCan handle anything. Extremely powerful.
ConsIf you want stiff tip rods, these aren't what you're looking for.
By John
Sky Valley, Ga
Smoker Slayer
August 25, 2019
Use this to get 8’ away from boat while trolling for kings. Stick it in a holder and pull ballyhoo on the outside surface. Stayed many a smoker as well as some dolphin. Great rod that lets you know when you get hit and also stout enough to get them in.
ProsLight weight and plenty strong
By Ed
TX.
108lb reef donkey!
July 30, 2019
Powerful rod,good backbone,can throw a 3oz halco 75 yards.
ProsAwesome Fuji guides.
ConsReel seat needs improvement...
By Jeffrey W.
Spring Tx
Great Rod
June 13, 2019
Light weight strong backbone, land large fish
ProsLight weight, strong backbone
By Jason
Woodbridge, NJ
Love this rod and plan on more.
April 29, 2019
Mounted a Saltiga LD40 on here for striper. I must admit I was a bit worried when I saw the rod diameter was narrower of some of my fluke/sea bass combos. After using it this weekend I have no complaints whatsoever. After using it, it is by far one of the best rods I have fished.
ProsLightweight, great backbone, comfortable grip, and amazing action.
By Brendan
Buzzard's Bay
Great Rod
March 11, 2019
Lightweight. Strong. Looks good. Paired it with a TLD30 - nice match.
By Warren
Laurel, MD
Exceeding My Expectation Too
February 7, 2019
So I bought the XXH as well as the XH. Shimano is winning. The XXH is paired with a Talica 20II for grouper, tuna and reef donkeys. The XH is paired with a Daiwa Saltist 50P and this combination is so light, I couldn't believe it would handle offshore bottom fishing in depths 100 -400' for smaller snapper bottom dwellers. My buddy had the bright Idea to hook this setup to his bully (American Staffordshire terrier) on a harness. I was as surprised at the rod as I was at the reel. This rod seems to come to life under pressure. Only thing left is to test it out at sea. I will give an update with pics soon.
By Warren
Laurel, MD
Exceeding My Expectation
February 7, 2019
The responsiveness of this rod is amazing given the overall weight. It also has a very forgiving tip and a super unforgiving back bone, for the fish that is. And a perfect butt length.
ProsSensitive Tip Strong Back Bone Stylish design Light Weight
By Garry
El Cajon, CA
Outstanding rod
January 16, 2019
This rod has far exceeded my expectations!
ProsSturdy but yet responsive to the bite.
ConsNone
By Thach
Lake Worth, Florida
Good casting!
January 4, 2019
So far so good! Casting with 3 oz no problem. The reel seat is kind weak, rod clam is a must! Pair with Torium 14 so beautiful! Got another MH TEREZ (white) 7’ with trinidad 20 got no problem landing 11’ shark while boat fishing.
ConsNeed a better reel seat for this price!
By Ken
NJ coast.
Amazing rod.
November 26, 2018
Very light and Very strong. i have 2 of them I use for trolling and bait fishing and one rigged with a spinning reel that i cast for with top waters. Have caught plenty of big boys on them and the action is incredible.
By Timothy S.
Florida
great snapper rod
September 12, 2018
Used this rod for red snapper this season when it was open for it's short time. Paired it with Accurate 2 speed FX2 400 and braid fishing in 70 feet. Nice and light setup. Just don't let anyone crank down the drag and high stick it. Broke one this year on a 6 foot nurse shark.
By Dan
Florida
You will break the reel seat with heavy drag
August 24, 2018
The blank is awesome but the reel seat is pretty weak. I can see how this rod is great for medium tackle jigging but while leaning into a snag in order to bend a hook I broke the reel seat on mine (mind you I was fishing 100 lb braid but the rod is rated for 200). Shimano replaced the rod for free but I now I use it for lighter applications.
By steve
san jose
great rod
August 15, 2018
rod is very strong for its weight. Just landed a 50 lb yellow fin w 25 lb line. Took over one hour but i was always in control. All rod components are of top quality. I just wish the top fore grip were longer. I have used this rod for 5 seasons and it still looks like new. Probably landed over 100 tunas with it.
ProsExcellent quality rod and components. Guides lined up to rod spline.
ConsFore grip could be longer
By Michael A.
Rancho Santa Margarita CA
Accuracy and Distance Popping Rod
August 8, 2018
Unbelievable casting power for this rod, I might need to pick up another one!
ProsSleek and tough build of reel guides
By Snapper S.
Alabama
Great Rod!!
July 12, 2018
I have punished this rod and it keeps performing!!
ProsVery Durable!!
By Jose
Florida
Nice rod
July 1, 2018
Best rod I got!
ProsLight weight
ConsNone
By Tony
Boca Grande, FL
Love this rod!
June 16, 2018
Great rod! Lots of backbone with a fast tip. Length makes for easy casting. I like this rod so much, I just ordered another one!
By Stephen
Fitchburg, MA
great rod
May 31, 2018
love this rod. currently have it paired with a cabo 80. Have only caught stripers and blues on it for time being. Casts great and not bad to jig with given its length. hoping to get some whitey and small BFT, possibly some mahi as well. I am sure this rod will be up for the task
By jeff
Nokomis, FL
Best all round rod ive ever owned
April 27, 2018
It handles like a medium heavy snook rod BUT will whip huge grouper, tarpon, Goliaths. Crazy light, castable, massive backbone. Best rod ever..I live in SW Florida, chase the big boys, this rod on my Penn Clash 6500 tames the beasts with authority!
By Dean F.
Bradenton, FL United States
Nice pole
March 31, 2018
Nice lightweight pole ,ideal for anything from Ladyfish,Spanish Mackerel,Snook,Redfish,to a little light Tarpon work.Casts beautifully and light enough to throw 1/8th jigs to 2oz and still feel the little bumps from pinfish!
By Mark
Georgia
Great rod
March 14, 2018
Great back bone yet light as a feather
By Rawlinson
Mary Esther, FL
good rod
February 2, 2018
I have all the Terez rods and I love it all, cool designs and very comfortable in your hand. I always use Shimano reels and rods and this rod sits very comfortable in your hand. Reeling fish makes it a breeze with his rod.
Proslooks cool sits comfortable in your hand tried and tested
Consnone
By Rawlinson
Mary Esther, FL
great rod
February 2, 2018
I used this for my kayak fishing rod, it's just perfect for my kayak it's not too long and not too short and very good quality type rod. Always use this too catch reds, black drum and sw trout and always slay them in this rod.
Prosperfect for kayak good quality rod
Consnone
By Rawlinson
Mary Esther, FL
Really great rod
February 2, 2018
I used it for large fish like AJs, Snook and big groupers and totally love it. I thought the rod was gonna break when I hooked on a large AJ but really durable. Tried and tested and really good quality.
ProsReally like the design Tried and tested
Consnone
By john
encinitas, CA
Cast a mile
January 13, 2018
So happy i bought this rod, big fish killer.
ProsLight, cast a mile
ConsNone
By BT
Riverdale, GA
TD
December 18, 2017
Very strong rod. I got it for shimano Stella 10000SW.
By dogparty
Hillsborough, NC
Good match for Shimano Tranx
November 25, 2017
I have this rod paired with a Shimano Tranx 401 HG. It is the recommended rod for this reel, but is a bit stiff and heavy for anything lighter than 2oz.. Still, it will handle medium to large false albicore (up to 18 lbs) with ease, which are the fish I am currently targeting (November, North Carolina coast). I replaced a Powell MagHeavy rod, two of which I have broken fighting these amazingly muscular fish. The Powell's were easier to cast and much more sensitive, but could not handle the pressure.
ProsStrong rod
ConsRequires heavier baits/lures to adequately load the rod
By John
Sky Valley, Ga
King killers
October 29, 2017
Paired up with Penn Fathom 40 high speed reels with 30lb. Test and have stayed kingfish upto 47 lbs. love the light weight and the length of the 8 footers work great with my outrigger rod holders to widen my spread out on my Mako234cc.
ProsLight but strong

Page 1 of 2
1