4.8
65 Reviews
5
86% (56)
4
9% (6)
3
3% (2)
2
2% (1)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (64 of 65 responses)
By Ryan
Long island
Best bucktails you can get
June 15, 2020
Use these for fluke fishing on Long Island, love them
By walter l.
VA
Spro bucktails
June 2, 2020
Spro bucktails perfect as always
By raphael
waterford, ct
Awesome bucktail
April 30, 2020
Great bucktail. Pink is the best color
By Leon
BOSTON, MA
Staple bucktail
April 9, 2020
What can I say? Its a SPRO bucktail. Catches fluke and bass straight up. Many different ways to work it.
By Jayson
Columbia, MD
It catches everything....
April 9, 2020
I have spro bucktail 3/8 up to 6 oz. you can't go wrong with chartreuse, white or pink.. make sure you tip with strip of squid, fluke belly or gulp.
By Jayson
Columbia, MD
Little soft tail on the hook catches everything.
April 9, 2020
Make your you put gulp minnow!
By Jayson
Columbia, MD
Reliable with sharp hooks. Worth extra $$
April 9, 2020
Paint seems to last longer than other bucktails out there.
By kl
NJ
pro ducktails
April 1, 2020
great jig plain, bait tipped or curly tailed they catch everything
By Jacob
Ocean City, MD
Best in the Business
March 15, 2020
If you're looking for a bucktail that won't let you and your clients down, buy SPRO. I use these to put customers on fish day after day and they never fail. Highly recommended by a man who use them daily.
By Michael
Blackwood, NJ
Suburb Quailty
February 19, 2020
High Quality bucktail.
By Chase
Quincy, MA
Versatile
January 5, 2020
These bucktails are versatile and reliable. I use them on almost every trip I go on and have had some success with them. If John Skinner says they are good... you can't argue with that.
By Kenny
Columbia, Maryland
Although not my favorite head
December 26, 2019
This is still a quality bucktail. I love my spro terminals, so I can’t go wrong with their bucktails either
By Chase
Quincy, MA
great quality
October 17, 2019
I tend to use these everywhere I fish. These have caught me many schoolie striped bass over the years. Great quality hooks and presentation.
By James B.
Hazlet, NJ
perfect bucktail
August 28, 2019
Can't match the quality of a spro
By Francois
Canada, but fish the Caribbean's
Spro
July 22, 2019
Love this bucktail
By Ty
NY
Great bucktail
June 26, 2019
Good jig . gets good depth still in a moving current
By Steve
NJ
EXCELLENT
June 23, 2019
Spro Bucktails have the color, least fading, strong paint adherence and sharp hooks which means they last
Proscolors, sharp hooks, least fading colors in my opinion
Consprice
By BH
FL
They work!
June 11, 2019
Yes, there are cheaper bucktail jigs out there, but for whatever reason these things are the JAM.... Premium hooks, realistic eyes, the way it "swims"? Don't know... But I do know that they catch fish. On the 4oz Chartreuse I've caught Red Snapper, Cobia, African Pompano.... unfortunately they also draw fast strikes from mono slicing fish like Barracudas and King mackerel... gets expensive at that point.
ProsThey "swim" and CATCH FISH
ConsPrice
By Glenn B.
Georgia
Best on the market
April 24, 2019
Well made looks great sharpest hooks and most importantly. CATCHES FISH. !!
By Chad
Los Angeles, CA
Huge fish, many bites, great product and price.
April 22, 2019
I was one week away from going SoCal rock fishing. I needed a heavy 8oz jig to add to my tackle box. Was fishing in 450 deep water. Tackle Direct had the jig and weight I wanted. Shipped out right away and I received it a day early. I did pay the extra for fast delivery. My new Spro SBTJ-8 Prime Bucktail got so many bites. I even tried other rigs and went back to my Spro SBTJ-8 Prime Bucktail. I reeled in HUGE pacific "red snapper" rock and white fish. Ended up maxing out on bag limit. This jig did the job. All the fish in the picks are from the Spro SBTJ-8 Prime Bucktail I got at Tackle Direct.
By Ben T.
Rhode island
Great bucktail
March 19, 2019
Sharp hook, hair holds up well, paint rarely chips despite using it on the rocks a lot. Great bucktail 5/5
By Ben T.
Rhode island
Nice bucktail
March 19, 2019
Sharp hook, hair holds up well, paint rarely chips despite using it on the rocks a lot. Great bucktail 5/5
By Ben T.
Rhode island
Nice bucktail
March 18, 2019
Extremely sharp hook, hair holds up well and the paint is 95% still on despite using it on jettis as much as I do. Never used a better bucktail, loves these things. 5 stars
By Nghia N.
Philadelphia
The best jig head
February 4, 2019
It the best jig head
By radley
rincon, Georgia
My go to jig
February 2, 2019
My go to jig for any bottom dwellers. I catch more keepers on these than I do dead bait.
By Jessie
nj
absolutely great for fluke
February 1, 2019
Gets slammed not only by fluke, but sea bass and the occasional striper too. Only thing to complain about with these is how quickly the paint chips and wears off when you are drifting fluke and manage to get into some rocks or mussel beds.
By Jessie
nj
absolutely great for fluke
February 1, 2019
Gets slammed not only by fluke, but sea bass and the occasional striper too. Only thing to complain about with these is how quickly the paint chips and wears off when you are drifting fluke and manage to get into some rocks or mussel beds.
By Baja D.
Ensenada Baja California- Mex
It glows Enough
January 7, 2019
Very well made -I got the 3 oz glow color for snook fishing in Yucatan-
Pros-very strong and sharp hooks
Consnone
By LDS
NJ
spro always performs
September 26, 2018
quality lure in a great color. Can't go wrong with a Spro
Prosgood action
By 617
boston
great
August 5, 2018
great jigs for the canal... hardly ever get hung up on the bottom with these,,, good jigs
By aaron
hanford
quality bucktail
July 23, 2018
gamakatsu hook, quality craftsmanship, great color and size selection for your fishing needs.
By greg
mt holly, NJ
A Catcher
July 13, 2018
My go to bucktail for strippers and fluke from the surf. Caught two dozen strippers and four fluke this spring (2018) to 25" before a bluefish stole it.
ProsGamakatsu hooks
By Dave
Hawthorne, NJ
Good quality bucktail
May 22, 2018
Good solid bucktail. Hook was extremely sharp out of the package. Great for flounder/fluke. I like to put a clam on the hook. Or gulp. Raw bacon works too. Seriously.
By Donald L.
Rochester, NY
Great for Low Visability
March 22, 2018
Effective with Berkeley Gulp in strong currents and low visability locations for Flonder fishing
Prosgreat with Berkeley Gulp
By Donald L.
Rochester, NY
Great Bucktail for Heavy Currents
March 22, 2018
I employ this item for Flounder fishing in strong current locations.
ProsWeight and effective with Berkeley Gulp
By Rick
Cape Cod
Great to catch fluke
September 13, 2017
Used to catch fluke with some Berkley Gulp
By Rick
Cape Cod
Perfect for fluke fishing
September 13, 2017
Great lure to catch fluke on Cape Cod
By Brian
Portsmouth, NH
fluke killers
September 3, 2017
my go to for fluke - ad a gulp or a strip bait and hold on
Prossharp hooks
By Larry
Snow Hill, MD
Yup
August 27, 2017
Great, sharp gama hooks. Compact, heavy head. I also purchased some 3oz ones. Which have very short bucktails, but the 4oz ones I Received are good.
By Larry
Snow Hill, MD
Minor flaw.
August 27, 2017
Really great hooks, they are gama's. Only problem is th3 bucktail itself. VERY short. Think I may have got a couple defects. They're much shorter than ones I've gotten from different sizes? Might as well have saved money and just got regular jig heads.
By Jacob W.
Iowa
Looks and works great!
August 17, 2017
first purchase and im satisfied.
By Phil C.
Brooklyn, New York
Love Spro Bucktails SPRO SBT JCC- 3/8 Prime Bucktail
August 11, 2017
Less bulk the other Spro bucktail, excellent for flounder/fluke fishing, well worth the money
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By Kai
Carpinteria, CA
Sleek profile
August 2, 2017
Not as bulky as other bucktails, which is good in fast/heavy current. However, it's easy to add "bulk" depending on what trailer you use.
By Mike R.
Saraota, FL
If I had to count on one lure . . .
July 21, 2016
I've caught a LOAD of fish on the white 1/4 Spro jig. This is the 3/8 oz. version that offers the same effectiveness, but also longer casts and deeper jigging. I've used this lure to catch just about everything that swims in central and south Fla. saltwater. If I had to rely on one lure, this would clearly be the one.
ProsCatches ALL species of Fla gamefish. Can be worked in any environment. Needle-sharp hooks don't miss many hook-ups.
ConsGets beaten up pretty quickly (after you've caught a lot of fish on it)
By Mike R.
Sarasota, FL
Secret weapon
July 21, 2016
For a simple-looking lure, these things catch a LOT of fish. Most of my fishing buddies have seen what my "The fish can't say no to the white Spro" means. I've fished these all over central and south Florida, and it beats virtually any other lure (and live bait) in side-by-side fishing. Being able to vary the retrieve makes it even more effective.
ProsEffective in virtually any environment - flats, grassbeds, beach, reefs. Needle-sharp hooks.
ConsGets shredded pretty easily by toothy fish (is that a bad thing?)
By NovaRyder
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Spro SBTJW-1/4 Prime Bucktail Jig 1/4oz White
May 22, 2016
Can't go wrong with Spro Jigs various weights and colors to chose from. Added to my arsenal for this season.
ProsHooks Fish
ConsNone
By NovaRyder
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Spro SBTJCC-3/8 Prime Bucktail Jig Lure
May 22, 2016
Can't go wrong with Spro Jigs various weights and colors to chose from. Bought to add to my collection for the season.
ProsCatches fish!
ConsNone
By NovaRyder
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Spro SBTJGL-3/8 Prime Bucktail Jig Lure
May 22, 2016
Couldn't resist bought more for the season Can't go wrong with Spro Jigs various weights and colors to chose from. Caught them on sale buy 2 get 1 free (good deal).
ProsCatches fishes...
ConsNone
By Henry
NY & NJ
great for back bay fishing
February 5, 2016
When other jigs aren't working - these will this size great for back bays
Prosgreat alternate to smiling bills jigs
Consnone
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Perfect!
August 24, 2015
I use these mainly off the surf and in the bay and love the results. Sharp hooks, great skirt and multiple colors i find useful!
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Puts Fish in the Boat
August 24, 2015
A lot of people are afraid to go big with bucktails when fluking but at times i need 6 ounces and these do the trick! Great hook size that accommodates the large gulp.
ProsHook Size
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Only bucktails i use
August 19, 2015
There are a lot of choices when choosing bucktails but i find the Spro's to be priced well and they hold up well for me. I make sure to wash them down after using them with freshwater and use them mainly for fluke fishing
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Very effective
May 18, 2015
Great for spinning I have caught many big fish with it. works when water has big waves and there are smaller fish that the big fish can feed on.
By Db
new york, NY
FLUKE CANDY
April 3, 2015
for fluke spro bucktail works like charm the line eye location make sure the jig upright.. hook is also very shap..
By Ben
Lake Worth, FL
Good fluke/offsore
February 3, 2015
This is a good lure to fis for fluke. Also good to use offshore while fishing over recks and structure. Also a good flatline if you get the low weight ones
ConsNot that long lasting
By Jon
Eatontown, NJ
A Great Bucktail Jig for Fluke Fishing!!!
December 17, 2014
Spros tipped with Gulp Grubs are the ticket to catching monster Fluke!!! I have at least three of every size and color to either use as my main jig or as a teaser above the main jig!!!
By Andrew
West River, MD
Great Bucktail
December 6, 2014
I really like the fact these come in sizes up to 6 ounces, makes it versatile for fishing inshore for fluke and then I can use the heavier jigs to go over the wrecks. Chartreuse is the color of the year. Seems like pretty much anything will attack, except weakfish who prefer pink for some reason. Good choice of bucktail.
By William
Sugar Land, Texas
Good jig lure
November 21, 2014
Well made jig lure for flounders fishing...
By Kristi
California, MD
Good for fluke, horrible for anything else.
September 26, 2014
Hair tears out very easily. The hooks rusts as easily.
ProsGood for fluke
Consdoesn't last long
By Travis
bayville, NJ
great bucktails
August 26, 2014
i use the smaller bucktails tips with gulp for fluke and the bigger 4 oz bucktails for trolling the bay.. by far the best bucktails on the market
By Joe
NY
Awesome Bucktail
April 17, 2014
Spro makes some of the better bucktails on the market. They come with super sharp Gamo hooks. Large variety of sizes and colors. For a commercially made bucktail the hair and head hold up very well.
By myong
flushing, ny
Good for Fluke Fishing Jig
March 12, 2014
Love this jig with this size. Very very good for Flucking ,sea bass and stripe bass
By Tony
MD
SPRO Bucktails
March 7, 2014
These are great bucktails. These are one of my go to lures especially since they are offered in 4oz and 6oz with mutilpe colors. These are great lures for trolling in the bay.
By alex
sewell, NJ
fluke jig heaven
February 14, 2013
this jig kills fluke when tipped with a 4 inch mister twister. i like the 1 oz for backbay fluking just wish they were cheaper
Prosgood hooks catches fish looks good
Consprice
By omar y.
Jeddah
Nice and cheap
January 5, 2013
Very efficient for jigging in depth range 15 to 25 m and with a very reasonable price.
Proseasy to use efficient hook
Conslimited to certain water depth usage

Page 1 of 1