Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.8
28 Reviews
5
82% (23)
4
18% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (28 of 28 responses)
By SonarTed
Northern,Central & Eastern Arkansas
1oz. SPRO Bucktail Jig / Chrome Silver head-w/ WHT
July 12, 2019
SPRO makes some of the best products in the entire world of fishing lures & terminal tackle. What we use this model of Bucktail for is fishing the tailrace spillways below dams for Stripers & their hybrids. We rig them about 3-4 ft. below weighted 7in. "pole float" type slip bobbers (fluorocarbon leaders) and make extremely long casts w/8-10 ft.rods- out to where the spillway gates are open w/rushing water. The slip-bobber set up allows for long casts w/easily controlled depth of the lure, and acts as an indicator when a Striper or "Wiper" hybrid nails the jig! We use Chartreuse curly tail trailers,tie on the 1-2oz. SPRO Bucktail Jig to 17lb. fluorocarbon leader material-up, then up to a barrel swivel-connected to the brais mainline w/ the pole float rigged on 60 pound Hi-Vis braid (Power Pro) We've caught stripers up to 45 lbs. this year and hybrids around 10-12. With all the storms here in AR-it's been a slow year but the SPRO Bucktails still get us strikes- we douse them liberally w/GULP scent as well (hin-hint)
By BAMA
La Porte Texas
Awesome product
July 7, 2019
spro is the leader in jigs
By Stephen
Holmdel, NJ
Great bucktail
June 12, 2019
Well made bucktail.Awesome jig for flounder fishing or striped bass when tip with trailer.
ProsPlenty of sizes and colors to choose from
ConsLittle pricey
By Randall H.
Texas
Jigs
May 27, 2019
The quality is there , well made and last ~ spro always my first choice in jigs ~
By Bob
Florida
SPRO ducktails
May 22, 2019
These have proven to be very effective in trolling. We use them primarily to catch Benita and blue runners but from time to time we're amazed when they get hit by good size fish.
By Brian
Chesapeake, VA
Flounder pounder
May 13, 2019
Tip it with gulp or a strip bait and send it deep down for flounder! I started flounder jigging with these bucktails.
Proseffective lure, sticky sharp hooks
Consa little bit pricey, hooks may be of concern for other species
By william
New Jersey
Love these for deeper water fluking and around wrecks
March 27, 2019
They almost never fail to get a bite. Only problem have with them is that the paint chips off very easy if banged into rocks or other hard surfaces while fishing. Always a good idea to carry nail polish of a similar color around to fix dings in the paint.
By Steve K.
Pa. / Delaware
SPRO Chrome Bucktail Jig - 3 oz. Chrome Chartreuse
March 27, 2019
SPRO is high quality
ProsSuper high quality
ConsA bit expensive
By Steve K.
Pa. / Delaware
SPRO Chrome Bucktail Jig - 3 oz. Chrome Silver
March 27, 2019
Spro is high quality
ProsHigh end bucktail
ConsA bit expensive
By Ben T.
Rhode island
great bucktail
March 19, 2019
Sharp hook, hair holds up well, paint rarely chips despite using it on the rocks a lot. Great bucktail 5/5
By Ben T.
Rhode island
Great bucktail
March 19, 2019
Sharp hook, hair holds up well, paint rarely chips despite using it on the rocks a lot. Great bucktail 5/5
By Ben T.
Rhode island
Great bucktail
March 19, 2019
Sharp hook, hair holds up well, paint rarely chips despite using it on the rocks a lot. Great bucktail 5/5
By James
West Olive, Michigan
Great Jig with Multiple Weights Available
November 22, 2018
I really like the variety of weights available in the SPRO Bucktail
By Jessie
nj
Bought a blue one of these from a local bait shop
November 14, 2018
when i realized i left my jigging box at the house. When i got it i almost wanted to mount it in my nautical themed lounge area it was so nice. It actually took a lot of mental convincing to use this and risking damage, but i did so and they work like a charm. I mean normal Spro bucktails work too, but this one seems to catch at a higher rate that I'm guessing because of the extra flash.
By LDS
NJ
shiny gold spro
September 26, 2018
A good alternative color when I want something other than white. Lots of flash
Prosflashy, shiny color, on a quality jig. Good for fluke
By LDS
NJ
Shiny Spro
September 26, 2018
Very nice metallic shiny color on the good Spro jig. Lots of flash.
ProsShiny, good weighted jig
By Brian
Manheim, Pa
Worked great first time out
September 1, 2018
Worked well off the surf for flounder. The chrome finish seems durable
By aaron
hanford
great jigs
July 23, 2018
spro bucktail jigs are great. quality craftsmanship that holds up better after constant abuse and a gamakatsu hook that stays sharp.
By TK
SAN DIEGO, CA
Quality construction
November 16, 2017
It's a nice, standard bucktail. Offers good size and color options
By Joseph P.
Clinton, NJ
Spro Bucktails rock! Love the Chrome Head in White!
July 19, 2017
Tried the Chrome Head in White with Gulp and Fluke really love this combo!
ProsShiny Head seems to attrack more strikes from Fluke
By paul
New York
good bucktail
June 23, 2017
as always super sharp hook, good quality...4 stars cause the finish wears pretty quickly when fishing rough bottom
By VT F.
New Haven, VT
SPRO
December 13, 2016
This is an awesome jig - I use for browns, rainbows & perch, pick a spot in the water column where fish are holding - twitch ever so slightly
ProsWell Made, durable finish, tail and a stout sharp hook
ConsI don't own enough of them yet!
By VT F.
New Haven, VT
SPRO
December 13, 2016
This is an awesome jig - I use for deepwater lakers & perch, short taps on bottom or a vertical speed jerk retrieve are deadly.
ProsWell Made, durable finish, tail and a stout sharp hook
ConsI don't own enough of them yet!
By Phyllis R.
North Carolina
Excellent Product1
October 8, 2016
The best jig I have come across. Catch my limit everytime! Spro prime bucktail jigs are the best!
By V R.
Rhody
Blue works!
July 23, 2016
Always just used white Bucktails for fluke but decided to try blue metallic. Works just as good. Sharp hooks nice finish and just the right amount of hairs for better casting.
ProsA must have to Bucktail collection
ConsNone
By V R.
Rhody
Fluke killer
July 23, 2016
Out performed normal white Spro Bucktail. Especially when peanut bunker is around!
ProsMetallic finish is great.
ConsNone
By Kenneth L.
Quakertown, PA
Flounder Beware!
June 19, 2016
I use Spro Bucktails and they are great for Fluke in NJ, these should be an KILLER.
By robert
houston,tx
flounder rig
February 28, 2016
used on bottom of flounder rig,would prefer smaller hook

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
FISHING ''HEATS'' UP
Fri, 13 Sep. 2019
Summer in South Florida has been rolling on without a hitch. Heat, humidity and lots of bait. Our bait run started several weeks ago with huge schools of pilchards and sardines arriving on the rock piles offshore and the inshore waters alike. These baits can... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
More Events Coming Soon!
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved