4.6
27 Reviews
5
63% (17)
4
30% (8)
3
7% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
85% Recommend this product (23 of 27 responses)
By Jeffrey
Ohio
Avid
March 11, 2020
Love this rod. Top 3 rod
By John
NJ
Avid surf spinning rod
February 16, 2020
Not much I can say other that, if your in need of a surf rod you can't go wrong with this model.
ProsExcellent warranty.
ConsNot enough time to use it more.
By Reginald M.
Atlanta, GA
Good for "ultralight surf" although but section is skinny for a man's hands
December 17, 2019
Good for super light lures in the surf. Nice components. Somewhat parabolic action, which is OK with me.
ProsGood for light and ultralight lures in the surf. Nice components. Nice finish.
ConsCork tape on butt section, which is typical for Avid series rods, just results in a butt section that is not beefy enough. Another layer of cork tape would have been good; I might apply my own.
By Christian
North Branch, MN
Nice rod
December 21, 2018
Love the rod I have it rigged with a Van Staal and with 8oz it casts a long ways. Now I only need a big fish to use the rod to it’s full protenal as fish under 4 lbs feel like bait when reeling in.
ProsLightweight,feels good when casting and reeling in.
ConsNone yet
By William
Panama city beach, Florida
Performance and durability
December 3, 2018
I use the 12 foot AVSS120HMF2 6-16oz for targeting bigger shark on spinning gear. Can cast a chunk of bait w/ a 4-8oz sinker like it was nothing. After putting dozens of 80-150lb fish on the beach with these rods, I now own 3 and stand behind them. All still work and perform as if it was the first day I used them.
ProsDurable and can be absolutely put to work. Will cast heavy weight very well.
ConsWish this setup came with an Aluminum reel seat option.
By PrunedaleMike
Prunedale, CA.
Great rod for walking the beach!
July 8, 2018
St Croix HIT a homerun with this rod. Light weight but has a strong backbone, making life easier as I fish the Monterey Bay beach. Walking this beach is the only option to find the fish as no vehicles are allowed. St Croix built in a replaceable rubber butt pad that can be replaced when needed, cool idea. I put a Abu Garcia Beast on the rod and created a very balanced set up. The rod loads with 2 ozs. without breaking a sweat, and handles up to 4 oz's very well. The rod looks gorgeous, beautiful red finish that proudly shows its American made quality . I highly recommend this rod !
ProsEverything.
ConsNothing.
By Chad
Maine
Another winner from St Croix
February 10, 2018
Just received my 8' Avid and right away I'm liking it. Can't wait for the spring run to put it to the test of catching fish. Own other St.Croix rods so have no doubt it will perform. So far it's a great feeling rod and sharp looking. Will be pairing with VR50 and 6000 baitrunners
ProsGreat construction and looks
ConsStill winter
By Drew
drewbert124@yahoo.com
9’6 medium heavy
October 19, 2017
Rod is amazing. Top of the line rod everything is sealed for maximum corrosion resistance. Rod handles 30-40â‚ stripers with ease. Paired it with a Slammer III 5500.
ProsSealed everywhere. Candy paint is beautiful. Cork tape handle is nice. Plenty of back bone
ConsNone yet.
By Anas
Springfield Gardens, NY
Great rod
June 24, 2017
Great chunk rod it got the looks and the power to cast. it will definitely cast 8 ounce and bait with ease.
ProsGreat quality. nice color. strong well made
Conscrock
By Lou
Panama City, Flordia
good but not so good
November 28, 2016
The blank of this rod is nice but the material on the butt of the rod isn't so nice. The material that covers the blank undo the real seat is horrible it is twisted in a spiral pattern around blank of the rod and it will unravel and fall apart. I fish this rod on pier and surf and it is pretty good it is extremely strong i fish it on a van steal 150vs. The guides are great just beware of the material on bottom portion of rod. DONT GET THIS MODEL GET THE OTHER ONE WITH DIFFERENT MATERIAL AT BOTTOM.
Prosgreat rod blank great guides
Consreal seat is bad the material at bottom of rod is horrible
By Nicholas
Pittsburgh, PA
Excellent Chunking Rod
November 13, 2016
This rod loads up nicely through the casting arch with 8nbait. It will definitely handle the 16oz rating at the same time. Paired with a Penn Fathom 15 and the set-up will hit well over 100yds with minimal practice. The rod, for a 12 footer, also feels very light in hand while having the backbone to handle larger fish with ease.
ProsCasting weight rating, Action and Power, Casting Ability, Made in the USA
ConsNone
By Corey
Manahawkin, NJ
Loved it at first
September 24, 2016
The rod its self is great. Good distance and action however, the handle loosens and the tape falls off. (This has happened to every avid surf I've seen not just mine) The handle is also way too skinny after popping a popper or jigging a bucktail it will feel like your hand is going to fall off.
By Jonathan L.
Philadelphia, PA
Awesome Surf Rod
June 5, 2016
Tested this rod for 6 hours on a rainy and windy day with repeated casts of different lures to catch stripers and blues. This rod was very light and durable. Handle grip performed flawlessly with rain and water while holding it barehanded during the downpour and waves. It handled big fish like its nothing. The best part, my arms and shoulder were never sore with the number of casts I made during one session. Worth the money.
By DJ
Pittsford, NY
Great rod but it's long even when broken down.
April 29, 2016
I love this rod. It's great for casting and is a nice rod to use with my Van Staal VS150. The only drawback to this rod is that it breaks down to a little over 7', which makes it tricky to transport. I live in Central NYS and so I have to ship it to where I am going in order to transport it: too long to entrust to airline baggage handling and my wife has a fit if I load it in the car for a long trip. I fish the surf along the southern US Atlantic coast and the Gulf coast. I sometimes think I should have purchased the 10' model but then realize it would only have been about 7" shorter broken down.
Prosgreat performance
ConsDifficult to transport due to it's very long breakdown size.
By Chhouvon
Philadelphia, Pa
Light weight perfect for all day surfcasting
April 23, 2016
Love it so much I brought a 2nd one from Tackle Direct. This rod is light weight but still have enough backbone to easily cast 6 oz. Perfect for throwing SP minnows and Talkin' Poppers however still able to handle 6oz and bait. Has very good action to handle both striped bass and gator blues.
ProsSuper Light Weight K guide frames Cork Handle grip rod action from tip to mid handle 70/30 split Nice Red color
ConsNone thus far
By Nick
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Amazing rod!!
February 24, 2016
This is a great rod!! I use it to fish the Atlantic Ocean in Central Florida. With just a 3oz weight on this rod you can cast it a long way out into the ocean. It is amazing at casting. Super light also. The whole rod weighs as much as a small section of one of my old surf rods it seems. I got the 11' rod. I needed something long and powerful enough to get weight out into the ocean and also with enough backbone to fight a big fish. You never know how big of a fish or shark you might catch in the ocean. Great rod! It is pricy but worth every penny!
ProsColor Sensitivity Length 11' - is perfect for what I do. Weight - super light Warranty - St Croix Rods are like no other company from what I have heard.
ConsFedex shipping!!! I received the rod quick but the tube it was shipped in was broke in half. This tube is a solid cardboard tube almost as strong as wood that the rod is shipped in. I weigh 225lbs and I can stand on the tube lengh wise without crushing it. The tube was broke in half at some point during shipping and taped back together by Fedex, which the tape was falling off so my rod was holding the tube from bending in half. Luckily the rod was fine but I opened the rod in front of them and inspected it to make sure there was no damage. Horrible job Fedex! How do you break a tube of that size...? No cons about the rod. Just shipping.
By Reggie M.
Atlanta, GA
Super strong rod that loads well.
November 12, 2015
This rod is a bit longer than I wanted, but it is super light, so that helped. Nice looking rod. Definitely was able to throw ten ounces without a problem, and when I got used to it, I was able to load the rod and get the weight out there. Good "heaver" rod without breaking the bank completely.
ProsLoads well. Nice butt section. Can hand the heavier casting weights as advertised. Although the length distribution of the sections was not 70/30 like the Legend series rods, the top section was only about 7 feet long, which made for easier transport in my station wagon.
ConsI think that the first guide was a bit close to the reel seat, and set a bit too close to the blank, even for a casting rod.
By Reggie M.
Atlanta, GA
Very nice rod. Tip could be a bit more sensitive, but overall a nice strong rod.
November 12, 2015
Overall a very nicely finished, strong rod, The tip is not as tapered or as sensitive as it could be, but otherwise a great all around surf rod that is up to its recommended casting weights.
ProsAttractive. Strong. Casts well in the heavier parts of its range, not as well in the lightest part of the recommended casting weight. Nice workmanship. Overall appears durable. I like the slanted no tangle guides (I think).
ConsNot quite as tapered at the tip as it could be. Casts lighter weights not as well. Expensive rod at $330.00, and I'm not quite sure it was worth it,
By Percy
Pacifica, CA
One of my favorite rods
June 26, 2015
My go to surf rod this season. Light, plenty of backbone and loads 1.25 bucktails and 23/8-23/4 littleneck poppers very well. Have landed some nice Stripers since purchasing. Legend surf is it even worth it?!
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Surf Spinning Pole
May 18, 2015
Very comfortable pole for spinning from the beach. I have caught many big blue fish with this pole.I use it with a ZeeBass 22 and it works very well.
By Eric
Pacifica, CA
9' Avid Surf
May 3, 2015
Lightweight with a feel of a 1 pc. rod. Distance casting is great with 1 to 2 oz lures. Although the lure rating is 1 -4 oz., I have also used 1/2 to 3/4 oz. bucktails with no effect on rod sensitivity. As always, excellent craftsmanship by St. Croix.
By Chuck
Edgewater Maryland
Great Short Surf Rod for 2oz lure
February 4, 2015
Got this rod to fish off SUP and in heavy surf. Matched with Van Staal 100, which may be a little small but is balanced well. Can launch a 2 oz metal Hopkins style lure a mile. Not so great for lighter lures, but that's what I got her for.
ProsGeat throwing 2oz metal lures Short and easy to handle Candy Apple looks cool Shortness makes it more of an all purpose surf rod, could be used on boat in a pinch.
ConsNot so great throwing lures under 1.5 oz Can traveo on airplane cause one piece
By Db
NJ
Super light rod
January 20, 2015
I ordered this rod for my VS 150 it turns out super SUPER LIGHT surf set up. 9'6" length is really comfortable with such a light reel.
Proslight and storong
By Griz
Garner NC
Surf Fishing Rod
September 26, 2014
Great surf fishing rod. Great for casting heavy spoons or large weighted rigs.
By Michael
Boston, MA
Great Rod
June 27, 2014
This rod is amazing. I use this rod almost every day of the season and love it! If I could change one thing it would be the point in which the rod breaks down. Instead of the rod splitting in 2 equal pieces, it is more like 1/3 and 2/3 pieces, making travel and storage tricky sometimes. Besides that, highly recommended.
ConsStorage
By Viv
Lower Portland, N.S.W
A top rod.
February 20, 2014
2 piece, and intelligently 2 piece at that. Sensitive, strong and light with good hand grips. I find this rod casts very well and suits a large variety of fishing situations.
ConsTip section too long for travel case. Disappointing as this was purchased with airline travel in mind. Also, a bonus rod was offered as part of the $700 purchase (2 rods), but we never received it, despite assurances that we could get it in Australia by paying freight.
By Johan M.
Hawaii
Excellent
April 17, 2013
Incredible quality. It's amazing how much further I can throw with this one. The handle, which is made of some sort of tape has loosened.
ProsQuality Length of throw
ConsThe long peace doesn't fit my tube Upper handle comes loose Don't like the color

Page 1 of 1