4.8
34 Reviews
5
82% (28)
4
15% (5)
3
3% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
94% Recommend this product (32 of 34 responses)
By Anthony
Eastampton, NJ
You get a lot of Bang for your buck!!!
May 10, 2021
I have several of these rods from spinning to conventional. The conventional is my go to rod when I need power in strong current situations. It is light weight and has a big backbone.
ProsCost is low and has a lot of backbone
ConsHave not found one yet
By Michael
Bronx, NY
Wonder why there aren't more in the North East
March 17, 2021
Love this rod. It's light, flexible and durable. I know the company who make the rods are based in the Southeast, but I'm surprised there aren't more Star Rods in the Northeast. I have a blast catching summer and late season stripers up in the Northeast on this rod every season!
ProsLight Durable Flexible
By DAVE W.
Stuart, Florida
Best Inshore rod made
September 22, 2019
I have recently purchased a half dozen of these and after using each one personally I think they are the best rods for the dollar that anyone could spend their money on. I have been using Star rods almost twenty years and I have never had a problem with any of them.
ProsDouble foot guides is what keeps me buying this model. Blank coating is very durable. Quality components
ConsNot a single one !!!
By Anthony
South Mills, NC
Another great Star arid!
September 18, 2019
This rod is light and sleek. Feels good in the hand and well balanced with my 3000 series reels. The heavy action feels more like a strong medium heavy action than a heavy action in my opinion. Highly recommended as with any Star rods! Oh and the lifetime warranty on this rod is legit as well.
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By Mike
Cincinnati OH
So Nice
September 13, 2019
Expertly crafted rod down to the finest detail. Strong and responsive.
By DAVE W.
FLORIDA
The best Rods out there today......
September 9, 2019
Have used the Stellar model for over 20 years. You cant beat them and they are made better than some rods I have seen at twice the price.
Prosweight and quality
By Don
LaGrange
Love star rods. Use seagis a lot but this is a great rod for inshore and surf
February 11, 2019
Star makes great rods and stellar lite makes good trout rods and love the 7’6 n 8’ heavy rods for surf
By Alan
North Carolina
Good feel for the price
October 27, 2018
Very light, nice cork and the blank has a nice look to it. Feels good in the hand when paired with a BG 3000 spinning reel. The only reason it's not four stars is the guide closest to the reel is slightly off center.
By Josh
Brooklyn, NY
Beyond expectation
October 18, 2018
After hearing great things about the Star Stellar Lite series, picked up a 7' .5-2.5oz rated casting rod to pair with a shimano calcutta 300D. Perfect match for throwing big soft plastics for striped bass. The fit and finish is beyond what I expected out of a hundred dollar rod. Plenty of back bone and casts even light lures very well. Very pleased and will be picking up a stellar lite spinning rod very soon as well.
ProsCost, quality, plenty of backbone.
ConsNone
By Greg
Springfield, VA
Ok... I guess.
September 1, 2018
Just received 6’6” spinning rod. A guide was bent upon receiving it, not a huge deal I bent it back. The action of the rod is moderate at best, kind of a wet noodle. I’m using it to pull inline spinners for panfish so that’s ok I guess but I’d prefer a faster rod. Clicking noise when flexing the rod due to the epoxy on the first guide, why the epoxy is making that noise I don’t know I could speculate as to why but I will refrain. Rod is made in China, would’ve liked to know that before ordering. Would have got a St. Croix Inshore rod but they were all a little longer than I wanted at 7’. Hopefully the rod endears itself to me after a long day of fishing. So far though I’d say it is very underwhelming.
By Murph
Decatur, GA
Good rod overall
June 25, 2018
This rod (7'6" 8-17lb Spinning) did a great job on its first week of use in saltwater, handling everything from small trout to 30 inch class redfish. The only issue is that the butt section started separating from the cork handle after less than 10 hours of use. A little glue has helped for now, but may not be ideal. Still a great rod, and I would still consider buying another.
By Gary W.
Florida
Best Rod Owned
June 16, 2018
It’s crazy how light this rod is and it is perfectly balanced my new favorite rod
ProsLight
ConsPrice
By Mike B.
Long Island NY
Great Beach Rod
March 7, 2018
This rod is a great value for beach and bay fishing for blues, bass, fluke, albies. Occasional light ocean duty. Lure rating feels accurate. Again, great value.
By Kamran
Boynton Beach, Florida
Great all around
December 27, 2017
Nice stiff rod for heavy baits and big fish. Star has yet to disappoint
By Donnie
, Goldsboro nc
Star stellar are another great rod by star
November 7, 2017
Stellar lite 6'6 lite and the 8' 1pc rods I use a lot. Well built but yet still light. They are custom rods
ProsLight but still has backbone to handle bigger fish.
By jim
Boston, MA
Excellent rod/value
October 20, 2017
Very happy with this rod (7'6" mh). Light, nice feel. I also bought my son a sea striker contour 6'6" mh (made by same company i believe), they make good quality rods at reasonable prices.
By Blake K.
West Palm, Florida
Absolutely love this rod.
August 31, 2016
This Stellarlite is perfect example of how a good Rod should be made. It's versatile, strong but lite. I have nothing negative to say about this rod.
By Brian
Rhode Island
Awesome
June 23, 2016
This is an awesome rod for the price. The wraps are clean and the action is great. Using this mostly for tossing weighted trebles at pogies but have hooked up with some 25-30lb stripers and this rod handled them with ease. Paired with a Penn Spinfisher V 550.
By C
South florida
Nice rod
December 26, 2015
Star quality
By Don
East Lyme, CT
Great Rod
December 25, 2015
Very happy with this rod compared to my more expensive rods.
By Derek
Sarasota, Florida
Great value!
September 18, 2015
I've always been a fan of Star Rods, but this is my first Stellar Lite. I love the action and overall weight of this rod.
By Brian
Fayetteville, North Carolina
BEST ROD
August 20, 2015
I love these rods. They have stood up to fish from fresh and salt water. Usually I only fish for Bass but have caught shark and a 40lb drum on one. I would definitely recommend these rods!
By B
NC
GREAT FISHING RODS
August 20, 2015
I have a few of these rods already so I bought some more. I will only buy these rods for my fishing gear.
By Drew
Boynton Beach, FL
Great all around rod
August 10, 2015
Rod can serve many different applications and is very stiff and good
By david
lake worth, FL
Awesome rod
May 6, 2015
This rod is great for all types of fishing very strong and stiff my favorite
By Jude
Philly
Love it.
March 21, 2015
compared side by side to a Greenwater and still went with the Star. Great quality and great price tag. Paired with 4000 Stradic.
By cristian
Boynton beach
Great all around rod
February 22, 2015
This thing has caught thing from 100 pound Tarpon to 10 pound snook
By Cristian
lake worth, florida
great investment
January 27, 2015
Got this rod for my birthday and love every single bit of this biggest fish on it so far is only a 10 lb snook but that rod handled it like a champ
By Michael
Boynton Beach, Florida
solid rod
January 20, 2015
Goof stiff rod good for casting heavy baits far
By andre
boynton beach, florida
Amazing inshore rod
January 5, 2015
All of Star's stellar rods have been great for me and this one is not an exception. This rod is great for heavy inshore fishing like big snook and medium sized tarpon
By Charles
Morrisville, PA
Good Solid Rod
October 12, 2014
Works great for me fishing heavier jigs from the kayak.
By "Papa" Y.
Indian River DE
Outstanding all-around salt water rod
May 21, 2013
This rod is a great inshore back water rod for anything from flounder to medium blues (5-7lbs) and is a true workhorse. I owned the first one I bought for 6 years now and it still looks and feels new after the punishment I have dealt it in that time frame. I bought a second because I am intending to use them as part of my guide/charter service with clients because I feel they can stand the test.
ProsGreat performance with braid, I use 20and 30 with no problems. Price for value is very good with this rod. I match it with Penn slammers for an all around inshore outfit.
Cons If there is a flaw at all it is the reel seat. Graphite and it tends to loosen on its own and I have had it "pop" under heavy strain.
By Daniel
Ocean Isle, NC
Star Rods--Great Value
October 24, 2012
Excellent rod. I have used Star Rods for years. They are truly incredible. I like this particular rod for its length--it greatly increases distance when casting 1/8 ounce jig heads.
ProsRod blanks are light weight, finish is beautiful, cork handles hold up well, top of the line oversize Fuji guides (cheaper rods have smaller guide diameter that hinders casting distance)
ConsNo dislikes other than the price, but you get what you paid for!
By Julio
East Hanover, NJ
Great backbone good action
July 26, 2012
Great backbone good action Sensitive to detect light bites Power to handle bigger fish
ProsFor the price is good

Page 1 of 1