Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.8
20 Reviews
5
75% (15)
4
25% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (20 of 20 responses)
By Joshua
Surfside, Florida
Extremely well made
April 16, 2019
Feels very high-end. The case is very good quality. Bought to take on trips around Florida, Bahamas, Canada, etc. The case looks like you could fit a second 3-piece travel rod.
Prosquality and value
Consnone
By Charles
Virginia
Super value for a travel rod!!!
January 8, 2019
I bought this rod specifically for a trip to the Caribbean. First off, the travel case is extreme sturdy and traveled very well as carry on. It easily fit in the plane's overhead storage. As for the rod, I was impressed with the quality of the build for this price point. The pieces held a snug fit and I did not experience any twist. I paired this up with a Daiwa BG 3000 reel for inshore fishing and had no problems handling species like Jack Crevalles and etc. I think I will be buying the medium version of this rod soon!
ProsExcellent value
ConsNone Yet
By james B.
johns island, SC
Very happy/great value
December 31, 2018
Nice action, great case
Prosaction, case , value
ConsNone
By Todd
Dorchester, MA
Good Travel Rod
July 8, 2018
Have not had a chance to take this on a plane yet but have used nearby my home a couple of times. Rod is well built. Guides are all smooth. All pieces fit together nicely. Travel case is sturdy and I know I can fit at least one more travel rod inside. Overall good rod for the cost.
ProsCost Travel Friendly Well Built
By Brad
All over
Impressed
June 14, 2018
I'm incredibly impressed with the fit and finish of these rods. The quality of the cork handle, reel seat and guides is very comparable to a much more expensive rod. I purchased a 7' Medium to pair up with a 3000 Stradic and I love the combo for traveling. I make bi-monthly trips to South Fla and only a few trips in so far I am really impressed with these rods. The rod tube it comes in might just be the most robust I have ever owned and can fit an extra rod, I carry 2 in mine and its super easy to throw in the overhead bin of any commercial plane and never have to worry about your rods.
ProsQuality construction, unbeatable price.
ConsCan't find one.
By Jim
Boston
Good travel rod, great value
April 7, 2018
Bought this rod for a trip to FL, along with another travel rod that cost more than 2x as much. I used one and my son used the other. With changing bait/lures, we swapped rods many times, and I wouldn't be able to tell you which rod was which without looking at the brand info by the grip.
Proslight, felt like one piece, nice hard case for travel/protection
By Shane
,
nice
March 27, 2018
really good rod to start fishing very light and strong my son loves it
Proslightweight easy to use cast very well
By Matt
Fort Myers, FL
Buy with confidence!
March 20, 2018
This travel rod has met every expectation and then some. I first want to talk about the cork. It's nice. Real nice. Cut and shaped clean, there were no missing chunks or abrasions from the factory. I immediately coated with U-40 Cork Seal when I received the rod and left it to dry for 24 hours. Upon inspection all of the seal was drawn in the material and hardened as it should. Don't expect the quality of cork to be the finest AAA Portugal grade, but I would say it is on par with average AA grade. For $80? Yea, I'll take it. Moving on to the build quality of the rod. It gets a solid "A". There are a few guide raps that aren't absolutely perfect and you'd never notice them unless you slowly inspected each one and took your time (as I did). But my purpose was for an accurate review, and not to criticize the craftsmanship. The rod fits together and locks up tight as a drum. You will have no issues with it coming apart while casting and reeling in that monster (that got away). Rod guides are in line and all inserts are smooth as can be. There is no pitting or excess glue from the manufacturing process. I do wish there was some sort of rubber/plastic/dense foam butt cap on the rod. The cork just kind of stops and is cut off flush. Make sure to seal that part too with some U-40. Reel seats are solid and lock up well on the reel. For my testing purposes I used the reel I will be fishing on this rod; a Penn Battle II 3500. Weight and balance are on par with a rod of this price and a graphite blank of this tonnage. I would say any reel size over 3500 would start to be a bit too unbalanced. This is an inshore rod after all. The action is on the stiffer side, with a decent tip. There are no issues hooking into 30lb reds, agressive pompano, strong snook, and sea trout. I'm pretty confident you could land a good size tarpon if your reel has a decent carbon drag. The travel tube is outstanding. Looks to be made of heavy nylon or a medium weight cordura-type material. The zipper is smooth and functions perfectly. There is a heavy-guage anti-crush solid tube inside that is lined with nylon to protect from scratches. Foam in the top of the lid protects the rod tip when the three pieces bounce around during transport. I'm fairly confident that I could fit another travel rod in this tube along with the Silver Hook 3-piece rod. For $80 you will be making a good investment. I'm really glad Tackledirect is offering this rod and will probably end up buying a second one this year. Tight Lines!
By David M.
brooklyn, NY
TD Travel Rod
March 16, 2018
great feeling rod that is sensitive and strong. i bought it for $100 and feel like it is well worth the price, so the $80 price tag is a great price for the quality and build of the rod.
Prossensitivity high quality guides and cork handle
Conscase is heavier than i expected.
By Stanley
New York
Rod for travel
February 17, 2018
Nice compact size
By Jason
Eastvale, CA
Great quality
December 26, 2017
Great travel friendly rod. Great quality, I will definitely be buying more of TackleDirect rods.
By Mike
South East Coast.
Awesome
December 4, 2017
It came a bit damaged, but tackle direct made it right exceeding expectations. It is a3 piece with a great travel case. It is light, strong and sensitive on the tip. The tip eyelet is slightly wider than the last, so your leader knot does never suffer friction. The grip is comfy and great. I had it for a week only and already caught more trout on it than the whole season before having it, Good luck maybe? I don't think so! it makes any lure vibrate more naturally and when the bite comes, it sets the hook faster than any other rod I have. Forget the overpriced hype out there, this one is a winner. Tackle direct people really got it right!
ProsLight, Strong, Sensitive, Fast, Tip eyelet wider for non-uni knot friction, Great grip and comfort. Travel capable.
ConsNo hook keeper, but is a minor one.
By Wes P.
Darien, CT
solid rod. well made.
November 20, 2017
A good rod to travel around with.
By Blacklabdad
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Very impressed
March 30, 2017
Bought a couple of these for an upcoming trip to SW Florida. The fit and finish are very good and as soon as I put my 3000 sized shimano's on them I knew I had winner for our trip. Can't wait to fish them but so far very impressed.
ProsComes with nice rod tube large enough to hold a second rod. Guides and reel seat are quality. Nice feel and finish.
ConsFirst one I ordered had a blemish from production however not really a con since Tackle Direct replaced it promptly and made the process of returning it VERY easy.
By capt j.
NY .Rockaway Beach.
very good rod at a great price .
January 15, 2017
Took with me to mexico caught fish all day . Great action , held up well to a good fight . Very happy.
ProsEasy travel bring on the plane put up in over head . Travle case is strong, easy to carry with the strap . Love it.
By Mohammed F.
Khobar, Eastern Province
Excellent Rod
January 12, 2017
I used this rod for more than one month and it is excellent rod with this price range
ProsEasy to carry
Consnothing
By Bill S.
Ohio traveling to Florida.
Fits diagonally in a 29" suitcase.
November 11, 2016
Great quality. Very handy.
ProsFits in a larger suitcase. Quality 3 piece rod. Guides.
ConsNone
By Dennis
northern virginia
Bought these for my wife
September 24, 2016
Great deal with the special offer on the Okuma reel. Light weight, cork handle very nice rod
Prosgood travel case and nice action
Consnone
By BT
NJ
Quality, Versatile, Travel Rod
August 26, 2016
The low price point belies the quality of this rod. I purchased it along with TD's $20.00 deal on an Okuma BTX-40 RTX reel. The rod comes with a nice travel case that I had no problem carrying on an airplane (United) during a domestic flight. The carrying case is sturdy. The rod itself is well-built and feels like it is of a quality beyond the price point. I'd actually compare it to a St. Croix tr It pairs well with the Okuma BTX-40 that was part of the special offer but I've been using it with a Penn Battle II 4000, which is a dynamite light tackle saltwater setup. I'd recommend this product to anyone looking for a versatile rod that can be stowed for travel or left in the trunk of the car for a spontaneous trip. My only issue (hence the 4-star rating instead of 5) was that it didn't come with a rod sleeve (inside of the tube). I had an extra one lying around but it probably should have been shipped with one as it is a travel rod.
ProsValue. The low price point belies the quality of this rod. Nice, sturdy travel case. It come with it at no extra cost.
ConsNo rod sleeve/sock to keep the rod safe inside the travel tube.
By Jeffrey
Tampa, Florida
Excellent travel pole
August 23, 2016
Came in a great travel case that lets you carry it on the plane instead of checking it as special baggage. Fished off the shore with it and it cast like a one piece rod. Good action. Excellent travel pole.

Page 1 of 1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
ICAST 2019 VIDEO LIBRARY
Mon, 8 July 2019
From Tuesday, July 9 Friday, July 12, TackleDirect will be bringing you product videos and content from the best brands in fishing at ICAST 2019. Check back regularly for all of the updates, or if you want a live feed, tune into our... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
More Events Coming Soon!
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved