4.9
80 Reviews
5
89% (71)
4
11% (9)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (80 of 80 responses)
By Van
SoMD
Great inexpensive rod
February 12, 2020
I ended up getting a second one of these for the boat. These are great rods with good components. They are also light and sensitive. I have either a 4k stradic on this and the other one I have, 7' med. The combination makes for a feather weight setup that I can cast all day with either.
By Van
SoMD
Another great value
February 12, 2020
I am not sure what the differences between the regions but I needed a good, light, sensitive rods for inshore fishing with a 4k to 5k reel and this really fits the bill. I am very happy with it and I am happy that it's also $60 to $150 cheaper than the rods I was originally looking at.
By Tyler
Lincoln, DE
A do it all rod
January 11, 2020
I’ve been using the 7’ Spinning 1/2 to 1-1/2oz model for a few years and it’s a workhorse. Great for throwing lures at stripers and bluefish under 24” or soaking bait for smaller inshore species. Throws its weight rating well, I use it more as a 1/4-1oz rod but it’s perfectly capable of throwing towards the upper end. I wouldn’t say it’s under powered but it starts to loose its backbone on hard fighting fish over 20” - with that said, it doesn’t feel weak at all and can handle larger fish. It reminds me of an improved ugly stik as far as versatility and toughness go, but with more sensitivity and better suited for throwing lures.
ConsGuides are on the weak/bendy side and need a little extra care to prevent rust, but overall still a great rod
By Lyndon
NY
Great rod for the money
October 7, 2019
Absolutely loved my first experience with this rod. it casts an epoxy jig miles and can handle small poppers as well. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that the rod had some cork damage out of the box. I fixed it with a little super glue.
By Logan
Oviedo, Fl
Tough rods
May 2, 2019
I have several 7,6 in the 8-17 and 12-25 lb classes. I abuse them pretty badly and they take the beatings.
ConsHeavy
By intothewild
Oklahoma city, OK
just the right rod that i was looking for
March 6, 2019
looks and feel good, mine was 7' medium fast action, rod was very flexible which is exactly what im looking for, i wish i made 2 piece 8 foot rod
By DB
VA
Quality Build
March 1, 2019
Great for Reds and Trout paired with my Daiwa Costal!
By intothewild
Oklahoma city, OK
just the right rod that i was looking for
February 12, 2019
i was looking for a rod that has flexible tip, so i bought a 7' medium fast action 1/4-5/8oz hoping it will be the right one for, and it is exactly how i want it to be when i recieved it, it is very flexible, love it
By Duke
Rome
Absolutely the best 8ft rod with extra fast action in the world !
February 2, 2019
To make it short and simple look no further, I have owe over 30 of these rods bc they’re highly strong back bone with ceramic guides fast tips perfect for long casting, caught snooks , bulls , tarpons , flat heads stripe bass , so I love with these I still buy it over anything other rods period ! Time tested and I got nothing bac to say bout this rod ! The picture I included is all 8 ft teramar extra fast on background
ProsEverything
ConsNothing
By James
PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
Totally satisfied with the rod and customer service
January 29, 2019
i was looking for a tsunami rod but it was discontinued. Rick (i think) put me on this rod paired with an Okuma helios 30. Perfect combo. The fast tip and lumber rod are exactly my style. I can’t wait to put Mr Snookey on it!
Prossuper fast tip - quality materials to fight any inshore fish i target.
Conswasn?t free!! 😂
By Tom W.
Stuart, FL
Terrific Casting
December 19, 2018
I live in Florida, am blessed to be surrounded with numerous inshore fishing opportunity. I added an older, bullet proof Shimano, Bait Runner reel, loaded with 30 lb.Suffix, braid. The casting performance of this combo is excellent.
By John
MARCO Island
Quality Rod
December 16, 2018
I was hesitant to order the “Heavy” series, fearing a club weight for the rod. Just the opposite, nice flex at the tip for casting and plenty of backbone down low to handle the big tarpon.
By Darrell
Knoxville, TN
Great All Around Rod
November 1, 2018
Have lots of Shimano Teramar rods in spinning and casting. These spinning rods throw Redfins and buck tails long distances with good accuracy but also work well with live bait under a cork. Pair them with a Stradic 4000 and easily control midsize stripers in the 12 - 20lb range. Great action keeps fish hooked up even with beginners at the controls. Highly recommended.
ProsLight. Accurate. Easy to control.
ConsNone
By Darrll
Knoxville, TN
Great rods. balanced power
November 1, 2018
Have lots of Shimano Teramar rods in spinning and casting. These spinning rods throw Redfins and buck tails long distances with good accuracy. Pair them with a Stradic 4000 and easily control midsize stripers in the 12 - 20lb range. Great action keeps fish hooked up even with beginners at the controls. Highly recommended.
ProsLight. Accurate. Good power. Easy to control.
ConsNone
By Craig
ringwood, NJ
Spin and Casting great rods!
October 25, 2018
These are my go to tog rods and the casting comes along for the ride on most fluke trips when i have to drag weight (only bucktail up to 6 ounces with a different rod). 7" MH extra fast spinning for tog jigs and the 7'6 Casting H XF for tog when using bank sinkers.
ProsLight, strong and sensative
By Hookman
Florida Panhandle
Shimano Teramar TMSX80xH
October 3, 2018
Great rod. Plenty of backbone and sensitive tip to enable you to feel the bite. Heavy duty guides. Great rod for kings, bonito, and tarpon. Great rod for casting swim baits and 1-3 oz lures.
By Richard
Florida Panhandle
Shamanic TMS-80XXH
September 22, 2018
Nice quality rods. Light weight with slit of backbone. Perfect 8’ rods for cobia and tarpon.
ProsLight weight, plenty of backbone
By Muddyh20
suisun city, ca
Great Deal!
June 22, 2018
Just received my teremar couldn’t be more impressed. For the price a great choice. Quality through and through. Only 2 outings so far no issues spanking the strippers. Getting ready to order another.
ProsQuality work, great price point!
By HankNYNJ
NY&NJ
sensitive and strong
June 18, 2018
I use for bottom fishing in Long Island Sound - big porgy, sea bass, and chopper blue all good
Prosvery sensitive and very strong
Consa little too long
By Justin
San Antonio, Tx
Great rod for the money.
June 3, 2018
I have paired a MH 7.5 and a MH 7 foot with Tranx 400 reels, and they are about perfect for trolling and casting for king mackerel from my kayak. Once I can buy a couple more of these setups, I intend to leave my heavier tackle at home unless I plan to bottom fish next to the oil rigs.
ProsTough, good price, fairly light weight.
ConsNone.
By jeff
Nokomis, FL
underpriced incredible rod
April 27, 2018
I have 6 of these rods, gorgeous to look at, very expensive guides, reel seat, the blank is a "10" as well. I whip Tarpon and huge Jacks,Cobia with these and its hard to believe they only cost $130 ! very light, well balanced. there is no better rod out there in this price range, period.
Proseverything
Consnone
By Jeff H.
Sarasota, Fl
Nice Stout Rod For Those Big Tarpon
April 15, 2018
I use this rod for tarpon for a few years now. Does not disappoint !
By Peter
Charleston, SC
A great inshore fishing rod
March 22, 2018
I have been using the Teramar 7'6" inshore medium action rods for redfish, speckled trout and other inshore species on the Carolina coast and have found they are light, sensetive and very well made rods. They cast well and handle daily abuse from fishing for big redfish near structure like oyster beds, docks and jetties. These rods are built to last with high quality Fuji guides and cork handles that hold up extremely well to the extreme saltwater fishing we do. This is a great rod for any inshore fisherman!
ProsSensetive, light and strong, excellent guide placement and action perfectly matched for tough inshore redfish and other hard fighting fish, a high quality rod for the money.
By Elvin
Bahamas
No issues
February 3, 2018
Item came packaged very well in a hard cardboard tube. No damage to the rod. Rod came as described.
By Bay F.
Chesapeake Bay
Perfect pier rod
December 18, 2017
This is the perfect pier rod bay rod. Built to last the concrete, very light, very sensitive, and at 8', it is the perfect pier rod to use 2nbait with. Much more wieldy than the short 9' surf rods and much more backbone than the light tackle Gotcha rods. If you're looking for a 2nbait rod for the bay, look no further.
Prosprice durable looks
Conshuge guides
By Mark
San Antonio, PR
Nice rod!
November 16, 2017
I paired this rod with a Shimano Calcutta 201B reel. So far so good! Very sensitive rod for a reasonable price!! I love it!
Prossensitive, strong, affordable
By TOD26
New Jersey
great rod
November 15, 2017
This is my 3rd Shimano rod. They are my favorite rods for big fish. This rod has great action and may appear to be lightweight but it has no problem handling gator blues and 30# bass. It makes for a very sporty experience when fishing this rod for bigger fish. Outstanding!
Prosaction, and power despite the small diameter. Exactly the quality I expect from Shimano.
By KB
Wallingford CT
My favorite rod I have ever owned
October 17, 2017
Great rod for inshore striper, blues and albie fishing
By Frank
Tampa,Florida
Shimano TMS-80XXH Teramar Inshore Southeast Spinning Rod
September 27, 2017
This Teramar Inshore Spinning Rod is exactly the tool I need for the type of fishing I do,pier & bridge. Well crafted,beautiful rod. Plenty of coating; tightly wound wraps;strong eyelets;solid feel of total glass construction. Came to me in perfect condition packed in a special tube with plenty of packing material from the crew at "TackleDirect". Thanks again guys! Can't wait to put it to the test!
By Tom
North Stonington, CT
Light tackle powerhouse
September 1, 2017
This is a great rod for throwing small jigs or soft plastics at false albacore, Bonita, blues, small bass or taking it off shore to catch Skipjacks, Mahi and small yellowfin tuna.
ProsSoft tip descent backbone
By AJ
Hilton Head Island
Excellent value for money
September 1, 2017
This rod, paired with a Shimano Twinpower 10000 is perfectly balanced. I landed 4 tarpon between 80 and 150 pounds and lots of bull sharks and blacktip sharks with it. Really good value and exceptionally strong.
By Monte
Bonita Springs FLORIDA
Sanibel Tarpon Go To Rod
August 10, 2017
The 8ft XH Xfast is quickly becoming the rod of choice for tarpo guides in South West Florida. The soft tip plus backbone is awesome for clients' hook/land ratio. My girlfriend landed a slob snook over 45" thanks to this rod. I just ordered three more to pair with Van Staal VR 200's for tarpon/shark and big snook.
ProsVery durable guides Perfect tip for baitfishing big game fish Excellent value
By Bill
Florida
Great rod for the money
May 26, 2017
This is my second TMS MH rod. It is a great rod for the money. My 4 year old rod is 7'6" I bought it for slip cork fishing and throwing top water lures. I am hoping the shorter rod will be my new favorite for working a Cajun Thunder, twitch baits and heavy jigs in deep water. I haven't used it enough to decide on the shorter length. Both rods are matching with Shimano Ci4 using 20# braid. They can stop almost anything I catch in the Intracoastal waterway here in NE FL/Jacksonville. I have caught redfish up to 38" in a foot of water. A medium heavy action combined with a fast action tip is gentle enough to toss live bait a mile and not tear it up. It will also sling a top water plug or Bomber Long A with tremendous accuracy. Flats fishing is about hitting the target. These rods are great. I also carry two T Allen high carbon micro guide 7'8" medium action with extra fast tips. They are the most sensitive rods I have ever seen. I use them for 1/8 jigs and lately an Unfair Advantage shrimp. Both rods are also paired with Shimano Ci4 2500 and 10# braid. The rod is more than double the cost of my Teramar. They will cast a tiny weight across town! I use them the most. If a fish taps your lure it's like getting slapped in the hand amazing sensitivity. The last rod on my boat is a Star Rod - Plasma 7' heavy action with 20# braid. It is rated for baits up to 2oz but can handle double that if bottom fishing. I use it for soaking blue crab pieces for redfish, big live mullet and trolling. The rod is a beast and doesn't cast very well it's too stiff and too short. It works very well in specific circumstances. All my rods are one piece. I am old enough to need hi-viz line. I get out two or three times a week. Fish don't fear me.... Yet
ProsGreat price very durable.
ConsMy 4 year old rod is showing some rust on eyes. I fish only saltwater. They are rinsed off 95% of the time.
By D
GA
Very nice rod
May 18, 2017
Will be trying out this weekend-Like the looks & feel
By Mickey
Akron, Ohio
Perfect for Trolling with 4 3/8" and 5 1/4" Rapala Minnow
March 25, 2017
I already have a Shimano Compre Spinning Rod with the same attributes - 7'6" Length, Medium Power, Extra Fast action. Looked long and hard for a backup. The rod absorbs the hit by Northern Pike, Walleye, and Smallies. Sets the hook almost effortlessly. It's really fun to fish with a rod like this. Will take the new rod with me to Canada - Eastern Outlet Pickerel River - this May. Caught several Pike +15 Lbs on this type rod. Expect this new rod to behave much the same.
ProsRod absorbs the impact of the strike but has the muscle to handle larger fish.
By Brian
Orlando, FL
Best rod value
March 15, 2017
I have 2 of these for redfish and trout and 1 as a light tackle offshore setup. Very sensitive and can cast light lures a mile. In my opinion this is the best rod at this value and I would take it over a few rods priced higher. The entire line can have you fishing trout to tarpon to dolphin offshore.
By Frank Q.
San Francisco
Perfect!
January 28, 2017
Love this rod! Casts like a dream. The longer butt grip is nice as well. So glad i bought this rod!
ProsQuality build Looks
By Daniel
Locust Valley, NY
Perfect Match!
January 28, 2017
After consulting with TD regarding a rod recommendation for a Shimano Baitrunner this rod was suggested. Huge success from the kayak with fishy results. Sensitive and powerful at the same time, Great product!
By Charley
Sarasota, FL
TMC-X70MH
December 31, 2016
Great blank/rod and components. Great feel and action - well balanced.
By Dennis
Southwest Florida
Bought these for my wife
December 21, 2016
Purchased this rod for my with for Redfish and Snook. Light weight strong and well balanced. Nice rod will buy one for myself
By Matthew
BROOKLYN, NY
amazing product
September 29, 2016
i have used this rod for both saltwater and freshwater. This rod can do it all! When i am trolling a spinner bait and one spinner stops spinning i can fell it.
ProsCan feel everything, great rod, Can handle anything
By John
Mobile AL
Great rod, plenty of power.
September 11, 2016
This rod is amazing, I purchased this for bigger game fish in the gulf. I paired this with a Quantum Iron 300, and it preformed very nice. When ever I troll in my kayak I use Rat-l-traps, and I managed to pull up a good size shark with some effort.
ProsGreat back bone, and parabolic dynamics for such a long rod.
ConsNone
By Brian
FL
Best rod at this price point
September 2, 2016
Great rod, light and sensitive. You can actually throw very light baits with these rods for redfish and trout. It's has enough backbone to handle tough fish around structure as well.
By Daniel
Naples, FL
Good rod
August 25, 2016
I use this for small tarpon and small sharks. Paired with a Shimano baitrunner 8000D it is a great setup.
ProsCost
ConsNone
By Michael A.
California
Rod has perfect balance and power!
August 8, 2016
This rod is amazing for Striped Bass and a Baitrunner reel! Perfect combo for the California Delta! Enough backbone to handle live bait in the SF Bay
By BERNARDO
COSTA MESA, CA
Amazing performance for the money
June 22, 2016
Extremely light yet very responsive and strong, have a Shimano Curado paired with this one for inshore and kayak fishing and it handles great!
By Jacob
Florida
Great Rod
May 5, 2016
Great Rod I use the 7ft medium extra fast. Works great for walking top waters for trout and reds.
By Charles
Haw River, NC
Plenty of backbone!!
February 11, 2016
I bought this rod and paired it with a Shimono Saragosa 6000 reel. It has a light enough tip to fish live bait but strong enough to handle any inshore fish. It is my go to rod for bull reds, tarpoon and cobia. I will also use it to cast plugs at dolphin offshore.
ProsSoft tip with plenty of backbone
ConsNone so far
By Jim R.
North Wildwood, NJ
Perfection!
December 16, 2015
This is my fourth Teramar and I'm equally pleased with all of them. I paired this with an Okuma Komodo 364 w/ 40# Power Pro. Thisbis one formidable combination. This rod throws 1 ounce to 4 ounce equally well and has incredible backbone. I'm getting a second setup just like this one.
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By Jimmy
Massapequa Park, New York
Nice rod
November 7, 2015
I have caught Bass to nearly 30 lbs with rod in the back bays. It's a pretty good rod for someone that does not want to spend a lot on a rod.
ProsCasts pretty well Strong Nice action
ConsHeavy

Page 1 of 2
1