Track Orders
Don't know your order
number? Log in
1-888-354-7335

4.8
67 Reviews
5
84% (56)
4
15% (10)
3
1% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (66 of 67 responses)
By Max A.
Nantucket, MA
9.6 the perfect rod for light plugging
July 23, 2019
I originally ordered this rod from another vendor and it arrived in a flimsy carton. First cast with a 1.5 oz Hopkins and the tip snapped. I have a hunch that it was damaged during transport and it wasn't a manufacture's defect. Since I was on my way to Nantucket, I didn't want to chance it and re-ordered from Tackle Direct. It arrived on the island in a very rigid tube in pristine condition. Hats off to Tackle Direct for the care they take in packaging. I fished with it extensively for a week and love it. Only on a few occasions when bluefish were hitting further out did I sort of wish I'd opted for the 11' 2" but the trade off is comfort. I cast for hours and the 9' 6" was just about perfect and I never got fatigued. The 'sweet spot' is probably around 2 ounces but I was mostly throwing bombers, sluggos, and small Hopkins in the 1.5 ounce range and it loaded just fine. As for the fish, I didn't get a chance to test it against anything huge but it was definitely up to the task with stripers and blues in the 10-13 lb range. The right amount of responsiveness, sensitivity, and muscle. I've read some reviews that complain about the thinness of the rod, but I didn't find it to be an issue at all. I think the very thin rubber grip (almost a sleeve) was perfectly comfortable and didn't dull the sensitivity when a curious bass would bump my offering. I have quite a few rods including a G Loomis, a Tica Dolphin, and a bunch of longer/heavier rods from St Croix that I use for heavier plugs and bait. I didn't touch any of them on this trip. For the cost, I'd be hard pressed to think of a better option.
By Jim N.
New England seacoast
Tsunami 9’ 6”! Elite surfcast cast trials
July 18, 2019
Good quality rod . Build quality ::10 Weight : moderately light Action : stiffer than expected Casting: (w30 lb cast king braid) strong force gives better results, heavier weights give better distances, I will try again with 30 lb power Pro line. Plugs tried: Diawa SP minnow 1.25 oz, 7” minnow long , yo Zuri mag darter Will be using bucktail jigs in next test I’ve not landed anything yet so I can only refer to videos by the guys at surf casters journal on the web.
ProsBuild quality 2 piece construction - fits inside my Mini Cooper! Nice grips Rugged construction Good value$
ConsStiffness: more than expected by this Newbury Weight: again,more than expected coming from fly fishing it seems casting rods are overbuilt compared to top of the line fly rods ... take that with a grain of salt
By Jt
Mass
Exceptional!!
June 29, 2019
Tosses lures from 2 to 6 oz with ease I use for heavy jigging and plugging on top awesome Rod If you need distance
By Alvin
Rego Park, NY
Excellent Rod 9’6”
June 2, 2019
I wanted to test this rod before I write my review... Before that, I just want to say Kudos to tackle direct for the hassle free shipping, the rod was well packaged, couldn’t be happier... 9 I took the rod this morning to fish for some blues... the rod handled a gator blue with ease For a 2 piece rod with a thin diameter, it has a lot of backbone.. it is light weight, sensitive and gives you the bang for your buck. At first I was hesitant to purchase this because of the 70/30 split, but after repetitive contemplation, I pulled the trigger and purchased 1. Couldn’t be happier.
ProsPrice
ConsI want another 1
By Philthy
Staten Island, New York
Quality product at a great price
May 3, 2019
This rod is amazing, super good for throwing lighter soft plastics. Very nice quality and price
ProsGreat Price, superior performance
ConsNone
By Joe
Philadelphia, PA
Really cannot say enough
March 4, 2019
For the price , this rod is super well built. Not to mention if for any reason something fails I have the comfort of knowing Tsunami will take care of it in the next state.. I do not think there is a more value packed rod for surf fishing.
ProsPrice Materials Customer Service
ConsI do not have 20 of them :)
By waly
long island, NY
great surf fishing rod
February 22, 2019
feel like a one peace rod.
By 617
Boston
Great
January 30, 2019
At 9.5,, this rod size is perfect for throwing 1oz 2oz lures. Powerful stick.
By Daniel
Middlebury, CT
Good rod
January 27, 2019
I got this rod for tossing shads and bucktails in the inlets and it does the job fantasticly. only thing I do not care for is the butt cap is a littler larger than I like so it does not fit the D-rin I attach to my belt, otherwise great stick.
Prosgood stout rod for jigging, eeling and plugging. good moderate price point.
ConsButt cap is a little larger than I like but it is not overly bad.
By John
Cape Cod
can't wait for spring
January 25, 2019
Great price, fast delivery in perfect condition, very well packed for shipping. Very light , love the diameter and grip. Over all impressions are of very good quality
By Michael
Mount Pleasant, SC
932XH Pretty beefy
January 10, 2019
So far I've only had it out about a half a dozen times so my experience with it is limited. But I have it paired with a Penn Spinfisher vi 5500 which size and balance wise seems to be a good match. Models TSAWESS932XH, TSAWESS1002XH, TSAWESS1142XH are 50/50 split ferrule rods. ^ Not the case on the one I received, (mine is 70/30) Must be a new model or a revamp. 70/30 is what I wanted anyway, so wont harp on it. It is a very stout rod for a 9 footer. I bought it thinking it would be a good compromise between soaking bait and tossing lures. Generally speaking it isn't It's difficult finding lures that will actually load out a rod this beefy at a good price point, that or the ones you do find are huge or have huge hooks seeing they're 3-4 oz, that or they won't swim or act natural because they are so heavy. As far as a set and soak rod though it will load and cast with as little as 2 oz+ some live or frozen mullet, especially on a dropper where all your weight or the bulk of it is at the terminal end of your line. There could be more guides as well the ones that are on it are great just not enough of them while I believe they are Fuji K guides they're not in a "concept" layout. (8 or more with most of them close together and biased toward the tip of the rod {the ones toward the tip being relatively tiny}). All in all it is a good caster with a long cast reel and proper line size as well as rig weight even an average person like me should be able to at least throw it 150 yards with minimal effort. If you plan on fishing lures most of the time get a lighter rod, or a noodle, or even a steelhead rod.
ProsFast action backbone 70/30 split
ConsAlmost too heavy actioned for its size
By Joe
PA
Great Rod for up to 3 oz.
December 28, 2018
Delivery was quick and the rod is light and strong. I know it will be a reliable tool for many years.
Proslight weight, strong
Consit is still six feet long when broken down
By Jeff
Manchester-by-the-Sea
Great rod for the price
November 19, 2018
Very well built. All Fuji components including the reel seat. Rod is a lot lighter than I imagined. Casts 3-4 oz lures a long way.
Cons70/30 2 piece
By Tim
Long Island, NY
Light rod with nice action
November 8, 2018
I spent a lot of time looking for just the right rod. I came upon this rod from reviews on youtude. I was looking at this and a couple other brands. I finally saw this rod at a local fishing expo. At first I thought it was going to be too delicate. As it goes, I chose the Tsunami Airwave Elite 9'6 rod. I paired this rod with the Penn Slammer III 6500 reel. My first use of the rod was casting a 2oz diamond jig. I was very happy with the rod from the very first cast. Felt effortless. Fished for about an hour until the jig got snagged in a muscle bed. Walked back and forth pulling trying to get it unsnagged until I gave up and cut the line.
ProsVery light nice action effortless to cast reasonably priced
Consnone yet
By Long f.
Long Island
Airwaves Elite882m
November 4, 2018
Bought this rod for fishing false albacore on Long Island.great rod for the speedy fish.rod is very light with good power for such a small diameter rod making it great when many casts are sometimes needed between nights.Rodrated to two ounces but able to cast 2 3/8 ounce super strike.great rod for medium size fish .would recommend
ProsLight weight good power
ConsHandle diameter thin but not a big problem after using it .could always put on a layer of cork tape
By Dick D.
Rhode Island
Tsunami 9'6" Elite
October 10, 2018
Recently purchased this rod and have no regrets. Long casts and great fish handling ability . . . love the distance I'm casting SS poppers into the surf.
ProsLight and flexible.
By John O.
Holbrook NY
Great Rod
October 4, 2018
This rod is outstanding if you are looking for a lighter rod that you can cast all day without fatigue and not compromise casting distance. Perfect for lighter lure surf fishing where a little extra distance is needed. I’ve used several times in windy situations to reach busting Albies that were a bit out of range for my 7’0 rod. Had no trouble casting a 7/8 oz epoxy jig a long way to reach them. Great backbone that handled the Albies with ease. Highly recommended.
ProsPerformance Price Comfort
ConsNone
By Dennis
Trinidad
Rod that never died
September 26, 2018
I love this rod a million times perfect rod
By Ron F.
Alabama
1142XH. Wow !!!!!
September 13, 2018
After the 1102m came the 962m then 1202xxh and now I just had to have another. 1142XH. I've got it all covers. Thanks Tackle Direct !!!!!!
ProsTo many to list
ConsZERO-NADA-ZIP-NONE
By Marlon
Brooklyn, NY
TSAWESS-1102H
September 13, 2018
John Skinner Fishing recommended this rod for fishing the cape cod canal so, I purchased this as a back up to my St. Croix mojo 11’ MH rod. This rod is sturdy but light enough to feel the lightest of bites. I paired this with a penn clash 5000 and it balances well. I can cast pretty far and fish all day with this combo. That’s being said, I plan to upgrade the reel to the new Penn Spinfisher VI 6500 BLS. The customer service at tackle direct is top notch and shipping is really fast.
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By Ron F.
Alabama
The perfect 12' bait rod Tsunami 1202XXH
August 28, 2018
I have the 962M and the 1102M so I had to try the 1202 XXH ! I needed a 6 to 10 ounce chunker I thought 8 to 16 might be a bit much ! I took it to the lake same day I received it ! I used 6-8-10 ounce sinkers. 6 was a little light but very doable !! 8 was excellent!! 10 was OMG !!!!! This rod is perfect for 8 to 10 !!! I mean great distance, guessing 140+ yards more than I was expecting ! Loads smoothly and recovers very very fast. I own St Croix Legend 3/4-4 Mojo 2-6 GSB Lami 2-5 and I find myself almost Heart broke that I spent the money on those high end rods. Tsunami all you need !!!!!! I put my Saltiga 7000H Dog Fight on 1202XXH and that's where it's staying !! Sure Wave Elite. All 3 !!!!!!!
ProsPriced for the working man, built for the retired everyday surf caster. Not worried about scuffing them up I won't have to save for 5 months to replace one. If ever needed. 70/30 split on all 3 models. Thanx for a great product Tsunami that's affordable!!!
Cons1102m and 962m need thicker grips from factory. Easy mod. Other than that. ZERO cons
By Jessie
nj
best rod brand out there for the price
July 17, 2018
They are literally manufactured around the corner from where i live ( less than 5 miles) in Mahwah NJ and are truly fantastic. I would recommend this company to anyone, plain and simple. This is my current pole from bottom fishing to Mahi Mahi and even smaller sharks. I even caught a 300+lb shark on my tsunami reel rated for 40 lb and my tsunami pole rated for 80-100 pound line in a chum slick 10 ft from the boat and wrenched him in. My father went out and bought a $300 custom rod years back for it's lightness and sensitivity, but when i handed him my rod to hold so i could get a sandwich, he he wouldn't give it back and went out and bought one of these. The thing is so sensitive you can literally feel the types of ocean floor terrain you are on, and distinguish bites from that, and also it is light as a feather.
ProsWell worth the money. Very sensitive. Light as a feather. Strong poles. Very good looking.
ConsAbsolutely none. Best rod i have ever used, and i have used a lot!
By Rymon
Ny
Tsunami airwave elite tsawess-962m
July 15, 2018
The rod is extremely light but has great power.
By Arthur W.
Wilkes Barre, PA
Great surf rod.
May 12, 2018
One of the better surf rods I have used. Light, responsive and a great bucktail and ligh5 lure rod.
ProsLightweight, and well designed.
By K r.
Bronx nyc
Mr K
April 29, 2018
Excellent fishing rod. VR 150 great combination
By Bubba677
Plymouth.mass
Airwave elite 1142xh monster
March 5, 2018
This rod handles 4-6oz lures with ease ,buck tails-savage-gags jigging lures are nothing to throw with it .also 7-9oz PlugLab,bob Davies,strike pro popper fly with 40lb braids on a Shimano ultegra 14000 reel.i also found it very easy to walk the dog on the large plugs and it works the 5" tsunami poppers very well.i am fishing the cape cod canal with strong currents and this will be my daily rod along with a Shimano tiraljo rigged with 60lb braid on a Shimano saragosa 8000 .
ProsStrong loading rod with the extra backbone to get big lures out in the canal and still sensitive to feel the popper
By G D.
Old Saybrook CT
Best rod for the money!
January 4, 2018
I own two of these rods, the 10'6" MH and the 8'8" M. Both are excellent rods! The 10'6" in particular is a great surf rod! I used it for the majority of the 2017 season and caught stripers from schoolies to the mid 30# class on it and the rod handled every fish like a dream. I used it at the Cape Cod Canal to catch many fish between 20# and 35# and I was able to turn the fish in that current no problem. Excellent plugging rod, sweet spot for the 10'6" is probably 1.5oz to 3 although it can throw lighter minnow plugs pretty well, and can throw a jig into the 4oz range with relative ease. The 70/30 split makes it feel like a one piece rod. Lots of backbone. Solid buttcap, you could certainly use the rod as a wading staff in the rocks. Great rod for the money, and good warranty, not that you'll need it.
ProsGood backbone. Soft tip that throws light plugs well without sacrificing power. Solid buttcap. Excelent all around surf rod.
ConsNone.
By SAEJIN
HICKSVILLE, NY
Light Rod
December 1, 2017
Light and Strong rod. Casts well and price is good.
Proslight and strong back bone.
Consone piece would be nice.
By Donnie
, Goldsboro nc
Great rod . Much nicer than original air waves surf
November 8, 2017
Really like these rods. Had 3 of the original air waves and they were good rods too but bad luck w last one. Made it in a hurry I guess . Tsunami is a great company
ProsGood company and will fix any problem
ConsAir waves original surf rods aren't as strong as they used to be
By rick s.
cape may nj
exceeded my expectations
October 18, 2017
have caught plenty 20-30 lb bass and 15-20lb blues using mag darters tsunami poppers and metal. seems to handle all of my favorite lures. highly recommend it . lightweight so i can throw for hours.
By Chad
Portland, ME
So far so good
October 13, 2017
Great value and so far I like the rod. Not my first Tsunami. Always been happy with them. Take some abuse and they keep on fishing!
ProsGreat value
By Jeremy S.
North Walpole New Hampshire
Awesome rod
August 28, 2017
Added 30 to 35 yards to my cast putting them out there close to 95 to 110 yards great casting rod for distance
ProsSuper quality great casting high end with a low to mid price
ConsI have zero complaints about this rod awesome
By Jeremy
North Walpole New Hampshire
Tsunami airwave elite
August 25, 2017
Tsunami airwave elite this 11 foot rod is totally awesome added 35 to 40 yards on my cast putting me out close to 95 to 110 yards
Pros Long casting , Super llite, Small diameter
Cons The split is 70/30 makes it tough transporting
By Francis K.
Bethlehem,PA
Great surf rod.
August 18, 2017
A nice light, responsive rod. Feels a bit stiff at first, but when loaded with a lure or bait it casts very well. Has enough backbone to to land 15lb+ ornery bluefish in a strong surf. A thinner than typical handle, but not an issue for me. I have no doubt it will handle heavy stripers in the surf.
ProsLight weight, casts very well. 70/30 split a nice compromise of performance of a one piece rod and portability.
By Phil C.
Brooklyn, New York
Pure Awesomeness!
August 11, 2017
If you're looking for 11 foot surf rod that can get the job without breaking the bank, this is an awesome blank. It far exceeds my expectations, I have this rod paired with a Van Staal VR 150. Light weight blank, handles Bluefish and Striped Bass with no problems at all. I used it with plugs and bait fish, and haven't had any issues. Love the 70/30 split which allows it to responded more like a one piece blank. Excellent value at this price point.
ProsWorks with plugs and natural bait, excellent value at this price point, casts extremely well.
ConsNone
By Peng
North Bellmore, NY
Great Rod
August 9, 2017
I bought this rob last year. I used it to catch several striped bass, blue fish, even shark. It is good enough. The only thing is the paint around last rod ring is broken.
By Michael
Westfield, NJ
Great Buy
June 26, 2017
I bought this as an entry level surf rod, far surpassed my expectations.
ProsLight enough to throw small bucktails Strong enough to throw heavier plugs
ConsNone
By Jim
Ocean City
Great Rod for the Price
April 25, 2017
I use this for soaking bait and it is well constructed and can handle a good amount of lead.
By Junior
Brooklyn, NY
Best Surf Rod
March 15, 2017
Great for beach and rock fishing .
Prosthis rod is light for surf fishing , very strong .
By Carlos o.
New rochelle ny
Nice
March 8, 2017
Very nice lite rod rod plugs
By Tony
Massachusetts
Out standing fishing rod
October 5, 2016
Won't have any problems with this rod bringing in the big ones, caught a few stripers both over 30 lbs. I have 2 of the rods plus a 10' 2" tsunami great rods!!! Thanks
ProsJust a great rod for the money
By Tony
Whitinsville
Great fishing rod
August 10, 2016
Loaded my tsunami airwave 10002 XH elite with penn Squall Star15 what great match cast at least 100 yards. This rod has a honey weight 3.Oz you want a. Rod that can cast to the big ones and has the back bone to haul them in,this is it. Tight lines !!!!!!.
By Joe
East Rockaway Nassau
Joe April 29 2016
May 6, 2016
I have used 88 Elite Airwave Great Casting Distance With Lead Head And Poppers As Well Soft Plastics At The Bay Great Action Rod Yes" I Recommend this Rod
ProsWorth The Money
By Alex
Pozzuoli, Italy
Decent
May 1, 2016
I use this as a heavier inlet rod for big jigs, rigged eels and chunks. I wouldn't recommend it for eels, its a broomstick for the most part. Sweet spot is just under 4oz and it has a good backbone.
By Chris
long island
Cant be beat for the price and purpose
April 22, 2016
if your looking for the perfect rod for buck tails and some light soft plastics and hard plastics than this is THE rod, especially at $170. there really isn't a lot of options out there for a rod this length with these ratings, and tsunami crushed it with this rod. its incredibly lightweight and has a 70/30 split making it super easy to transport.
Proseverything about the rod
Consnone
By james
arverne, NY
TSAWESS 8'8
February 10, 2016
Rod has 70/30 split,is very light, has a nice feel to it. I'm looking forward to fishing it in the bay and surf,,matches well with my Cabo 40 VS150,
ConsSHIPPING COST ME $19.99 ORDER PLACED ON JAN 16TH RECEIVED FEB 6TH
By Brian W.
Queens, NY
Long and soft
December 23, 2015
Used it only once since purchase, rod feels long and soft, cast very well. Rod received has minor imperfection at a spot with the final coating.
By Db
new york, NY
string back bone
July 21, 2015
I ve been using for 2 seasin already. it has lot is back bone and tension. guide is tangle free k guide. details are good too.. best fir th money
By Fred
Webster, FL
Need to About Ferrule
June 1, 2015
Uses a friction fit ferrule It will appear to fall short of what looks like a perfect fit of bottom section wrap and bottom wrap top section. DO NOT TRY TO SAND TO FIT BETTER!! It was designed that way. You or I are not going to live long enough to ever see it eventually bottom out. Connected it to a Diawa Saltiga Surf 6000 (19-20 oz.) Very light setup. New to surf rods and I will get better but amazed at casting distance with practice plug. I think you will enjoy. Talked to distributer and they will be adding a tag to explain ferrule. Tackle Direct has PDF but I couldn't download it
Prosreasonable price, light and comfortable. Good looking rod
Consneeds info attached to rod about ferrule or at least the PDF download included in shipping package
By udon
, Providence, RI
Good rod for the money
May 20, 2015
A little overpriced but overall its a great rod. I would'n throw anything over 2oz for the 9'6 cuz it starts to feel soft when you put a lot of power into your cast. the 10'6 can handle everything up to 2 3/8oz but I would'nt go any heavier. Comparable to the Mojo Surf but a little lighter.

Page 1 of 2
1


Sign up for exclusive sales and offers
Be the first to know about product news, exclusive sales and events.
FISHING ''HEATS'' UP
Fri, 13 Sep. 2019
Summer in South Florida has been rolling on without a hitch. Heat, humidity and lots of bait. Our bait run started several weeks ago with huge schools of pilchards and sardines arriving on the rock piles offshore and the inshore waters alike. These baits can... Read More
In-Store Events & Promotions
More Events Coming Soon!
New product reviews and guides
Contact Us
Call or visit our retail store today! 6825 Tilton Rd Bldg C
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
08234-4426, USA
1-888-354-7335 Toll Free US/CAN
1-609-788-3819 DIRECT INT'L
8am-6pm ET Mon - Fri
9am-6pm ET Sat
10am-4pm ET Sun (Retail Store Only)
© 1997-2019 TackleDirect® All rights reserved