4.6
45 Reviews
5
67% (30)
4
29% (13)
3
2% (1)
2
2% (1)
1
0% (0)
91% Recommend this product (41 of 45 responses)
By Ernie B.
Massachusetts
Great Fishing Rod!
July 29, 2022
I've had the chance to use this Fishing Rod several times now and am extremely pleased. This replaced my ancient Abu Garcia Surf Casting rod that had been my favorite for years. The best part of my purchase was the price. I think I got more than my money's worth. Thank you, Tackle Direct for an easy-to-navigate and straightforward website and an Excellent selection!
ProsGreat Price Great Value Great Product
ConsNone
By David
Murrells Inlet SC
Tsunami TSAWSS-1202H
May 4, 2022
Great rod.Cast's a mile and has a great backbone.Plus its light.If i ever need another rod i wil definitely look at Tsunami rod's first.
By Jeffrey
Manalapan, NJ
Solid Rod
March 27, 2022
Good grip, nice looking rod, I have 10’ XH. Casts pretty far.
ProsGood grip
ConsNone
By Phong
Lake Worth, FL
Only surf rods I deal with
May 6, 2020
Have 3 of these and had one broken due to closing my trunk on it. These rods are light, cast a mile if you know how and strong. Have caught everything from redfish, bluefish, mackerels, pompanos and even croakers on these. Do yourself a favor and dont go cheap and go with these!
By Shawn
West Yarmouth, MA
cast well and built strong
February 1, 2020
have used the rod for the past four years and it has lasted threw being dropped on the rocks and ever falling and it slammed into the sand. it casts very well and is very duriable when fighting big striped bass in the canal.
Prosgreat casting and has good feel when pared with 30-50lb braid
Consneeds a hook hold
By Dave
Vinita
12 foot heavy airwave
October 1, 2019
Great casting rod however I have broke two of them casting a 3 ounce weight with small bait and 30 lb braid. Pole is definitely over rated. Tsunami has replaced one for free so far.
ProsCasts long distance with ease.
ConsWay over rated pole.
By Ricardo
Morgantown, PA
TSAWSS-1102H - Excellent Rod for the Price
June 13, 2019
I have paired it with Ultegra 5500. What a beautiful combo. Extremely light. Excellent to fish with bunker. I haven't tried plugging with it yet but it seems promising. For the money, it makes such an excellent beginner / backup rod.
ProsNot expensive Light but Strong.
ConsNone
By Brandon
texas
as advertised
March 24, 2019
would recommend this rod
Proscast up to 5 oz lures
Consnone
By Brian
TN
Better than G.Loomis
March 13, 2019
G.Loomis is $600. Tsunami is $140. If I have all the money in the world I'd still pick Tsunami. It's LIGHTER, cheaper, better look, feels great. I fish for Stripbass 10-30 fish and these are best I found
By Greg
Oak Island nc
The best
October 20, 2018
Light rod, strong but sensitive.
ProsLight, strong, durable to salt.
ConsNone at this point
By Roadtrio
á»’klahoma
12' H 4-6oz
April 20, 2018
Its very light compare to other 12', however it doesnt cast as far, and for $150 rod i expected the guides could be a little bit better, they scratch easily
By LC
Cape Cod
Snapped in half.
April 14, 2018
I had this rod in Nantucket and on my first cast, it snapped below the first eye. The rod looked great and felt solid, but that "lighter than air technology" did not hold up. I must have got a lemon so I won't give it 1 star. I emailed Tsunami and they never responded.
ProsLooks cool lightweight
ConsGot a lemon I guess The companies customer service is non-existent
By Craig
Todd, Pa.
excellent
January 5, 2018
Light and strong, a pleasure to fish with. I love it for flounder fishing.
By Donnie
, Goldsboro nc
Always loved these rods. Just got an 8' surf and it broke w 3oz weight on it?
November 7, 2017
Good rods but always bought 9'. Just got an 8' and broke on first cast. Maybe a lemon. Buying a star stellar 8' though
Pros9' surf all good
Cons8'surf/broke first day
By PAPA J.
PENSOCOLA DAM. LANGLEY,OKLAHOMA
Excellent rod ,light weight,I use these rods fishing for strippers and large blue catfish in discharge waters below dam
November 6, 2017
I broke a rod last night will send it back for warranty and order another rod
ProsHave purchase more expensive rods ! Would recommend this rod to any serious fisherman
By Mark G.
Blackwood nj
So far so good.
September 30, 2017
It's doing what I got it for. 8 oz plus bait. Haven't held back on the cast. Nice rod without the broomstick feeling. No issues as of now. Money well spent.
By Justin
Easton, MA
Good Rod for the money
October 17, 2016
great rod for the price (especially on sale) bought it to replace an old rod my wife uses, balance was perfect with a 550sg
By J W.
Pennsylvania
Great rod
August 14, 2016
This is a fantastic surf rod..is super light in weight. I use it for just about any fish from the surf board including striped bass, brown sharks, and bluefish.
By Art
617
Great
May 15, 2016
Awesome stick. Throws far. Like a 10'. But it's a 9. And a great price too. Well worth it.
By David
Long Island, NY
Great Product for the price you pay
April 30, 2016
Easy to carry around, come in 2 pieces 50/50 division. Tsunami TSAWSS-1002MH Airwaves Surf Spinning rod is flexible and durable. Easy to cast. Love it!
By Angel n.
Fort Worth, Texas
The pole work good
April 22, 2016
I used the fishing pole and it work very well, and it throw far away.
By Bill W.
Stony Brook NY
Perfect rod
March 10, 2016
Perfect rod to match up with my Penn 5500ss. Always great service from Tackle Direct.
ProsLightweight
By Matthew
SMITHTOWN, NY
Nice Rod
January 12, 2016
I used this Rod a lot last year. Great to catch small blues, bass,, fluke, flounder or porgy. It casts great. I can throw small .75 oz plugs to 2.5 oz plugs. I paired with the penn battle 2500. Happy with the set up.
By Striperguy1123
texas
great rod
December 22, 2015
For anyone new to the sport or if you want a good quality rod without breaking the bank, this is a great rod. When I first got my hands on it I couldn't believe how light it was. I paired it with my stradic 5000fk and 40 lb power pro line and getting great casting distance. It's lighter and cast further than my other rods of the same length. Only issue I have with the surf series is that they use the pac bay aluminum oxide guides, which I found was slowly fraying the line. I wish they would of use the Fuji guide than it would be awesome rod for the price. It's a quality rod with out having to dig deep into your pockets to get your hands on one. It's still new but hopefully the fraying will go away after a couple more trips.
ProsLightweight, cast further, great cosmetic
ConsPac bay guide, fraying the line
By Stan W.
Richmond Va
Excellent surf rod
December 16, 2015
Nice surf rod excellent weight balance
ProsShipped fast light weight for all day surf fishing
By Eddie G.
New Rochelle, NY
Great 12' Surf Rod
August 3, 2015
The tsunami airwave 12' spinning rod is made of great quality. It is light weight and awesome to cast far. A great 12' surf rod at a great price from Tackle Direct.
By Travis
NJ
very good rod
June 9, 2015
love this pole paired it with a 4000 Penn battle 2 very good combo
Prosprice
By MDFishing
Maryland
Style/Design, Performs well, Value for money
May 24, 2015
The rod is very light, but it flexible. Very good to get big Rockfish. I love this rod!!!
By Alex
California, MD
Great rod!
April 26, 2015
Very nice rod. I have it paired with a Penn 460 Slammer and it has caught some big fish!
By Dan
Geigertown, PA
Lotta bang for the buck
January 10, 2015
Light rod, paired it with a 4000 series reel. Excels in the 1.5 to 2 oz range.
By JukeJoint
Raleigh, NC
Great surf rod and sensitive
December 22, 2014
Love this rod, paired with a 6000 Penn and some braid it's been doing really well on light surf days, doesn't overpower the smaller reds and blues and makes the fight fun. I mostly fish bait with this one but seems great for some heavy plugs too.
Prossensitive
By Robert
Pleasantville, New Jersey
Good surf rod
October 28, 2014
Picked up this rod for throwing bait chunks and clam. So far the this rod has help up nicely to throwing 4oz with a small decent chunks. My only suggestion would be going up to at least an 11'. Also did a lot of sharking with this rod too and never failed.
ProsPrice Warranty
By Leo
Los Angeles,Ca
Very good overall rod for a price!
September 27, 2014
I bought for surf fishing last month. It's perfect for medium action type of fishing and the price is right.
ProsSturdy, good range of casting, right price, nice design
ConsNone
By Corey
Bethany Beach, DE
Strong Reliable Rod!
September 17, 2014
This Tsunami 9ft 2-5oz rated rod is my absolute favorite rod in my collection! I use this rod for many application wether long lining flys at the inlet tossing 3oz or surf fishing catching large rays and sharks this rod can do it all... The grips are a nice rubberized material that seems durable and the reel seat is sturdy and grips onto my Saragosa 10000sw with no problem! Great rod for the money hands down!
By Mike
Lowell,Ma
Airwave
April 4, 2014
Awesome surf rod for the money. I bought this rod for my younger sister. It feels slighter than my St. Croix legend surf. For a person who just getting into the sport, I believe this rod is great. I bought the 11 footer extra heavy, lure rating 4oz-8oz. However, I would not recommend using the rod to cast anything 6oz or more because it feels like it will break as I cast a 5oz bucktail.
Proslight weight, great casting distance, and awesome price.
ConsI believe the lure ratings are incorrect.
By james
arverne, NY
Beautiful 2-piece 7 footer
February 25, 2014
This rod felt right the minute i picked it up, light, strong stick with good action, and great reviews. Saw the pole on other sites for $99.99 and since Tsunami has an excellent reputation for warranty and customer service I got this for my backup 7 footer.
Pros2-pc Price Tsunami Product
By Olga
Brooklyn
Very nice
January 3, 2014
It's nice and light. My husband goes crazy about it:)
By Stefan
, Bloomfield nj
Light weight sturdy rod
December 2, 2013
Picked up the 9 footer for surf casting plugs.. Matched it up with a quantum boca 50 and the balance is perfect.. I can swing this rod all day with ease.. Light weight and great action for plugging.. If your looking for a solid rod from a company who backs there product I would highly recommend this rod..
By Don
Pt Pleasant, NJ
New plugging rod
November 7, 2013
Superb action for a longer plugging rod!
By Fish B.
York, PA / Lewes, DE
Superior proformance at reasonable price!
October 7, 2013
Purchased as a backup, when my "name brand" - made in the USA rod, broke - during a fight with a shark ..... (might of been my fault) was being sent off for repair. This economy priced rod, fished as good, if not better than it's over priced predecessor.
ProsBest money that I've ever spent on a rod!
By Hugo
Heidelberg, Gauteng
Monsters
October 4, 2013
I own four Tsunami Trophy rods and they are monsters... These I believe to only be better. Can't wait to land my first 50lb catfish on this rod.
By Tam
Fairfax,va
Best surf rods for the money
August 24, 2013
After researching for a surf rod ,I have decided to give this rod a try,,,my buying power base on 2 thing ,1st: rod functionality ,I can throw 1oz to 3oz lures all day and its still have the right amount of flex and back bone ,to put this in perspective ,from landing croaker to 30inch plus stripper,,you will feel every bounce the fish made,it's have amazing curve to it when landing big fish,I gues I would have right this rod mod/fast action! 2nd: the looks,,,after compare apple to apple ,this rod have the same component as your $200+ rod, and trust me it looks and feel much better in person than picture ! I very happy and please with this one! Guess the folks at Tsunami knows what they were doing ,,,unless someone show me a fish that can read brand name ,lolzz
ProsBest rod for the money
ConsNone
By Chucky
Texas
Awesome rods
May 18, 2013
Awesome rods! I purchase two 8 and two 9ft. They are just plane awesome! Light sensitive and can cast all day without fatugue.
ProsLight and sensative
By Chucky
Texas
Killer rod!
May 18, 2013
Light and sensitive, I landed a 40lb cobia on Pensacola beach! I was throwing a gotcha for Spanish maks! The rod whopped down the unexpected cobia!
ProsLight and sensitive! Good for casting all day long!
By rino m.
Singapore
Tsunami TSAWSS-1102XH Airwaves Surf Spinning Rod
November 28, 2012
Surprisingly lightweight but this particular product have the capability to withstand powerful casting technique. The reason I like this product very much is because it has a set of strong middle joints for rough surfaster like myself to withstand breakage during long distance casting. Really great product.
ProsThis product does not break or crack easily as compared to my other sets of rod. I love the handle during surfcasting. It makes me feel as though i am returning a service during a tennis game.
ConsI prefer if the company could add on a hollow casing with the 'TSUNAMI AIRWAVE' logo for this product. This will protect the hollow portion of the joints during my fishing trips.

Page 1 of 1