3.9
28 Reviews
5
54% (15)
4
11% (3)
3
21% (6)
2
4% (1)
1
11% (3)
75% Recommend this product (21 of 28 responses)
By Timmy
North Carolina
Salt X
September 30, 2021
Best fishing reel I ever bought. It's light and the drag system is great.
By Henry
Maine
Great reel
September 29, 2021
Love this reel, great price point for what it is, holds a tun of line and has a fun of drag.
ProsDrag
ConsNone
By Steve
Virginia
Great Reel
September 5, 2021
Although a little stiff at first this reel performs flawlessly for use in the surf.
By Luis A.
CIUDAD DEL CARMEN, CAMPECHE
Nice reel
August 23, 2021
very strong for this size 4000. tuna reel
By Fernando A.
Sonora
a tank!!
June 21, 2021
hundreds of hard fighting YT and YFT on the SaltX, still as strnong and smooth as day 1.
ProsLight, strong, smooth
Consnone so dar
By James
Deer Park, NY
Good reel but not really sealed
June 7, 2021
Fished in south shore Long Island for last fall season, dumped couple times in rough surf, sand and water stuck in the reel, have to dip the reel in the water to free it up. Opened the reel after season over, found water inside the reel. Send back for service, they change a lot of parts (Listed) and it's free under warranty for one year. Don't know how good the seals going to be, will test this coming season. Overall it's good reel but not really sealed like Van Staal VS.
By Hlow
San diego
Nice reel
June 4, 2021
This reel has plenty of drag. It's good for surf fishing. I used it on a skiff, fishing in the bay. Pulled up a 10lb stingray with no issue. Since the system is sealed system. it's more snug when you reel. Also come with a carrying case. I have more expensive reels and non of them have a carrying case.
Pros50lb of drag Aluminum reel Carrying case with tool
ConsSo far none
By Sean
, Belmar, NJ
Line lay issues
April 5, 2021
I have had issues with this reel from the beginning. As another reviewer mentioned, I experienced the reel "seize up" on several occasions. Lay line issues. Had it re-spooled at the shop 3 times. Wind knots every outing. ( I know, user error right?) Never had a wind knot with any of my set ups before this. Very disappointing, as this was my first higher end reel and there's been nothing but issues.
By Roger
New Smyrna Beach Fl
Nice reel, lite and strong
March 31, 2021
reel works like it should good drag, casts and winds great what more could you want
By Jc
,
Stay away from this reel
March 29, 2021
I purchased a Tsunami SaltX 4000 in early 2020. Since then I’ve fished It 15-20 times on the beaches of Rhode Island. The first thing I noticed was the reel did not come with any tools, as they all should. No big deal, however this reel has had nothing but issues since day one. It locked (seized) up after being lightly splashed in the surf causing me to have to cut and put a backup reel on (Penn SSV4500) Since then Its been throughly cleaned and every time ANY amount of water hits the reel, it would make a very loud screeching sound followed by clunking. It’s had oscillation issues as well, the line lay is the worst I’ve ever seen in any reel. So far it’s been in the shop ( local shop in Rhode Island ) twice for service/ complete line strip & re spool only to get constant wind knots with absolutely everything I throw. While pencil popping I felt a bang, only to looked down to realize that the bail screw had backed itself out and came off falling into the water. I’m sure the shop will not return the reel being that is it now used. I’m hesitant to put it on Facebook market place l as the next owner is just going to be buying a flawed reel. Update 2021* Bimini Bay shipped me a new 4K & within the second time in the surf it SIEZED, they then put me in contact with a local Tsumani Rep who switched it out YET again for another model, this time a black 4K ( maybe the color will make a difference?!?! ) I immediately had line lay issues and washed my hands of them completely. Got a Slammer 3 & has thus far been bullet proof for me. Very impressed with how Tsunami (Bimini bay) handled the situation from start to finish. I think what it comes down to is poor quality control, some guys get what seem to be solid units while others like myself got some duds. Do yourself a favor & stick to tsunami rods, not their reels. Overall Reel quality 4/10 Customer service 10/10
ProsCustomer service Room to improve on the design
Cons? Reel knob stitching immediately starts to break down ? line lay / Oscillation issues ? water intrusion issues ? main shaft / rotor flex under stress ? Poor quality control
By Alvin
New York
produced a squeaking sound
December 26, 2020
I bought a saltx 4000, it was good at first, smooth. After half a season it produced a squeaking sound. I didn’t even submerge it, and i rinsed it every after use. I will open the reel, and see if there are any water intrusion.
By Tom
Cape Cod
Not made for the Cape Cod Canal
October 9, 2020
This reel was definitely not field tested in any condition near the ones fished in the Cape Cod Canal. Went through two in a week (1 replacement) and the spring that is in the drag system popped off when any big fish would take a run. On top of that, the reel went from being smooth to grainy mid fight on my 3rd fish using the reel (this happened on my replacement reel). I had issues with the spring and the drag with both reels.
Prossmooth out of the box. That?s about it
ConsDrag system. Bad max drag/gear size ratio. Too much drag for that compact of a reel.
By Jennifer
Kill devil hills, NC
Tough as nails
September 20, 2020
Great reel ! Tough as nails !
By John
NJ
Not really sealed
September 17, 2020
I suppose no more hype and no worse than Van Staal’s VR series, which also weren’t really sealed despite marketing to the contrary. Developed a squeak and some toughness after 8 months of gentle surf use with no dunking. Reported online many times elsewhere. Still a good reel for the money but Tsunami has some more work to do and we’ll soon see how good their customer service and support is.
ProsSmooth and light
ConsDeveloped squeak and some roughness after 8 months of gentle surf use. Not as sealed as marketing says.
By Wayne
CA
Saltx 4000
September 7, 2020
Great reel. 50 lb drag. Handles all the fish from the surf.
By Chase
Quincy, MA
Handle bent
August 13, 2020
I had written an earlier review indicating that I needed to replace the grease on this reel out of the box. Two nights ago the handle bent on me. The fish couldn’t have been that big and if it really was, I would hope that my leader would break before the handle would bend.
ConsThe handle bent while reeling in a schoolie striped bass.
By Hunter
Ocean city Maryland
Great all around
July 12, 2020
Bought this reel for a all around reel mostly to casting buck tails at cobia but I find my self using it for everything else and it works perfectly. My only complaint is that I didn’t buy 2
By Daniel
Brooklyn New York
Clicker spring gone
June 9, 2020
I bought the 4000 to use as my plugging reel and after the second use there was no sound to the drag.i sent it back and had it exchanged.The new one lasted six weeks before the spring for the clicker came out again.The reel works fine but there's no sound to the drag.
ProsSmooth under pressure with big fish
ConsThey need to address that clicker issue.
By Andrew
Philadelphia, PA
Best Reel for the Price
May 17, 2020
I bought the 6000 silver model when it first arrived on the market and it is easily the best reel I have used in the surf. Granted, I have not used a Van Steal before and I'm sure that someone will dispute this claim, but for the price it cannot be beat. Extremely durable and functional in all conditions. Easy to rinse and lubricate as needed. Worth every penny.
ProsYou get a lot of reel for the price compared to most other sealed reels.
ConsA little heavy but it holds up.
By Jeffry
Paulsboro, NJ
Solid reel
May 6, 2020
This is a really smooth reel with a ton of drag , everything feels solid on the reel exactly what you would expect out of a reel of this caliber.
ProsLight weight and powerful
ConsNone
By Andrew T.
Florida
Drag
April 30, 2020
Great reel but blew two clickers for the drag fighting kingfish first time using both reels and that happened not the end of the world but would have been nice to have sound while drag is being pulled
ConsDrag
By Chase
Quincy, MA
Not impressed yet
April 20, 2020
I was really looking forward to the 4K. I had heard that some people received reels that were too tight in terms of turning the handle. That was the case with mine. I removed the grease and replaced it. It now runs smoothly. I probably didn’t have to replace it completely but the process of having to do anything with the insides of this reel for this price is a problem.
By Mike a.
St. Pete fl.
Love it!
January 6, 2020
Great construction, premium feel and well worth the money. Paired with 8' tsunami carbon shield rod.
By Kenny
MD
tsunami hit it out the ball park
November 20, 2019
this is an amazing reel especially at it's very attractive price. You can fully submerge this reel and still crank underwater without too much worry. It's incredibly light and smooth I just can't believe it's at this price range
By JohnBJ
New York City
Exceeded expectations
September 4, 2019
This reel is comparable to a Van Stall but it’s lighter and easier to turn the handle. Of course the real test is the test of time and I’ve only had it for a short time. It has become my go to reel.
ProsLight weight. Smooth cranking even though it?s fully sealed
ConsNone
By Dan
, North Shore long Island NY
Now the 6000 is my best reel,,,,
August 15, 2019
Ordered on the 13th of Aug, Received it on the 15th. Made it bail less. Easy. Put it on my 9 footer and fished a beach on the north side; caught a few cocktails (released) and even dunked the 6000 in the sound with fish on and... I'm loven it. Will be my primary. Thinking this will do very nicely for the Fall Run on the south side ...Looks like it's going to be a classic season IMO. Tight lines.... Thanx TD !
By J
Rhode island
Solid reel
August 11, 2019
Ordered the 6k once I found out you could switch to right hand retrieve ... Got it size felt good spools with 40lb braid took to canal to truely test it out on a decent fish... Have to say I'm impressed much smoother than a vs next test will be to reel with it under water but so far great reel I'm a fan hoping the 4k comes out soon
ProsLight Smooth Holds alot of line Great drag
ConsNone
By Stuarticus
Florida
Great Performance so far
July 18, 2019
Salt X 6000 not too big or too small. Holds about 450 yds of 30 lb braid. Surprisingly smooth, light weight, can switch to right hand retrieve, and feels great. Caught a few snook on it already.
ProsHolds a decent amount of line, Looks awesome, and has 50 lbs of drag

Page 1 of 1