4.7
42 Reviews
5
83% (35)
4
12% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
2% (1)
1
2% (1)
98% Recommend this product (41 of 42 responses)
By Captn G.
Brick, NJ
Nice Rod
November 16, 2020
Nice rod that casts well. Well worth the price paid. Would like to get more.
By albert
bayside, NY
Great rod
October 30, 2020
Great 1 piece rod at great price. Rod is light but study. I use it for pier fishing and boat fishing. Hasn't let me down, pulling in stripers
By Spencer Y.
New York
Rod Snapped out of nowhere.
September 13, 2020
I enjoyed this rod, it worked well while it lasted, but while fishing for porgys it snapped in half out of nowhere.
By Sean
CONOVER, NC
Been wanting one for a while
July 10, 2020
Wanted a long time to get this. I hope for the price, that it is still a great striper/hybrid rod.
By Leroy
S.chesterfield, Virginia
Rods
May 13, 2020
can't beat the price
By Leroy
S.chesterfield, Virginia
Rods
May 13, 2020
man I love these rods the are strong 💪
By Sean
MA
Best Inshore Rod for the $$$
May 5, 2020
I love these rods, I have a couple and they have never let me down.
By leroy b.
VA
best rod ever
April 18, 2020
i have 6 of them i got 2 and loved them so much i got 4more i have them paired with Pflueger President what a combo can not beat it!
By Jesse
Riverside, CA
Amazing Rod!
July 8, 2019
This is a great rod to have in your arsenal. No issues upon receiving it. Packaging was done right. The rod is very sensitive and I can chuck 3oz lures all day. No issues. Tsunami has made a fine product if you ask me. I would definitely recommend. I use this mainly off of piers and jetty's.
By Chuck
Clayton, NC
Tough, Sensitive, and LOOKS GREAT!
June 20, 2019
Amazingly sensitive and lightweight rod. Appears strong, and is gorgeous to look at. Caught my first fish after receiving a couple of days ago. Casts like a dream as well.
ProsLooks and weight. Rebekah recommended, and she was right!
ConsLack of hook keeper
By Tom
Philadelphia
Great product
May 20, 2019
So far it works great. I have it matches up with a Daiwa BG 4000 and it casts really well. I used it over the weekend for blue fish and striped bass. I bought it to use on my uncles boat for striper, blues, and tautog.
By kayak99
Florida
For the price this was a great value
May 14, 2019
A great value and a well performing rod.
By kayak99
Florida
Nice for the price
May 14, 2019
Great rod for the price.
By Frank G.
Sanford, NC
Great add on
January 28, 2019
I already own a couple of 10 foot Tsunami rods for surf fishing. Love them, and have been looking for an eight foot rod for when the blues run. I found the rod I was looking for at TackleDirect for an awesome price. When I checked out, I was offered anotherTsunami seven foot rod at an incredible price I couldn’t refuse. The total bought me over the cost for free shipping, another incredible deal. Awaiting the weather to warm up to use them, but already playing with them in the backyard. No complaints and will use the shipping tube to store them in. Another plus.
By Unreel
Marco Island
Solid rod
January 27, 2019
Good rod. Great price. More durable than most. I usually build my own rods. Needed four rods quick (full time charter). Fit the bill.
By Henry A.
IL
Excellent rod.
December 25, 2018
Excellent rod for the money would buy again.
ProsVery well made.
By MACIO T.
Smith's
TFSS-701MH
December 17, 2018
I have four of these rods now. I like that you can chuck a fairly heavy lure out there with it. Many times I am sight casting from shore to Albies for feeding Bar Jack and I can get 1-2 0z jigs out there...like 75+ yards easy... Also the rod a very good back bone. I use it to pitch live bait at structure - Mangroves, Juvenile Amber Jack, Jack Cravalle etc and I can pull em out most times! I have the rod paired with Daiwa BG 3500's, 20lb. PowerPro Superslick and 30lb Momoi mono leader...
ProsThe look! The cork handles - love em! The price! The flexibility to use it for various fishing tactics...
ConsOne of the rods had a mysterious problem where the reel guide insert just shattered...while on the rack away from harm...strange. It could have been bumped/damaged without my knowledge however...
By Ansen
chinatown ny
good
September 22, 2018
Good
By JH
Laurel, NY
great short boat rod
September 20, 2018
had to order a 2nd pole as a backup, paired with a shimano
Prosprice
By disappointed
Chapel Hill, NC
liked it while it lasted- lost 2 top inserts after just a couple of days
August 27, 2018
After 3 days of pier fishing in the Outer Banks, NC (mostly 1oz Got-cha plugs, 15pound 4braid - blues+Spanish) I noticed that the top 2 inserts were just ... gone. This may well have happened on a windy day when something (felt like a ray) got the plug and starting going away with it - the line snapped then but I have only noticed the missing inserts when I packed later on; the wind may have hidden the sudden lack of inserts. Have yet to contact customer service to discuss a return / warranty options.
Pros- good feel in hand - casts like a canon (1oz got-cha plug that is) - good action for blue/Spanish
Cons- build quality-durability - 8 bucks extra shipping charge for a carboard box (*not* the solid tube you'd get from Cabela's,btw)
By Chris
Maryland
Great Price and Shipping
August 19, 2018
Arrived fast and the price was great. Used this rod in the Outer Banks offshore and off the beach and it performed well.
By Alex
Boston, MA
Good boat rods
July 27, 2018
Good boat rods. A little soft for casting but great trolling rods. And can't beat the price!
By Peter P.
Naugatuck Ct
Tsunami TFSS-701MH
July 19, 2018
The best thing that I can say about this rod for the price it is truly fantastic. Mainly used in salt water when we are slack tide. Able to cast a good distance and when retrieving slowly able to feel the slight bite. Good back bone when reeling in bigger fish. Even dog fish.
By Jessie
nj
best rod brand out there for the price
July 17, 2018
They are literally manufactured around the corner from where i live ( less than 5 miles) in Mahwah NJ and are truly fantastic. I would recommend this company to anyone, plain and simple. This is my current pole from bottom fishing to Mahi Mahi and even smaller sharks. I even caught a 300+lb shark on my tsunami reel rated for 40 lb and my tsunami pole rated for 80-100 pound line in a chum slick 10 ft from the boat and wrenched him in. My father went out and bought a $300 custom rod years back for it's lightness and sensitivity, but when i handed him my rod to hold so i could get a sandwich, he he wouldn't give it back and went out and bought one of these. The thing is so sensitive you can literally feel the types of ocean floor terrain you are on, and distinguish bites from that, and also it is light as a feather.
ProsWell worth the money. Very sensitive. Light as a feather. Strong poles. Very good looking.
ConsAbsolutely none. Best rod i have ever used, and i have used a lot!
By Wes B.
West Virginia
My first Tsunami Rod, pleasantly surprised.
July 1, 2018
Would have given a 4.5 if i could have. Paired rod with a Penn Conflict II 2500. This combo cast like a dream. Recently used this combo in surf, intercoastal, and pier fishing. Didn't catch any large fish to test it's beef, but did catch some pins, blues and spanish. Even at med hvy it was sensitive enough for feeling bites of pins and got great hook sets on the blues and Spanish! It gave it a 4 (4.5 If I could have.) just based on my dislike of handle length, which I was not expecting when I ordered, (May have been my oversight when ordering) and the fact that I haven't got to test it on a large fish yet. As I use it my rating may get higher.
ProsGreat casting, line glides smoothly thru guides
ConsHandle 6-8 inches too long for my liking.
By Jonathan
California
Decent rod
June 28, 2018
Seams to be a well made rod used it twice so far held up well.
By Tom
WORCESTER, MA
best fishing rod for the price
June 5, 2018
i dont know what to say im speech less best rod for the price
By Thomas
L.I. New York
Seems nice
December 18, 2017
Didnt have a chance to use it yet, but looks very nice.
By George C.
New Jersey
Rods are ok
August 20, 2017
Rods are what you expect nice to use and look good.
By Doug
Miami, Florida
Worth $60
May 28, 2017
Well I was looking for a couple rods for a budget build with a set of Diawa Exceler's. Had a rod budget of $100 and this fit the bill way under budget. Blank is a little thicker than higher end rods but nothing absurd. Nice length after the reel seat which is hard to find on a cheaper rod. Nice action and only time will tell if this was a just a good purchase or a heck of a deal
ProsPrice Guide count Full cork Reel seat height
ConsNone
By Kerry
Myrtle Beach
Great price
April 29, 2017
Excellent quality rod for the price.
By Larry S.
CT
Great rod for the price
March 10, 2017
great rod for the price, good looking and strong
ProsWell made
Cons7fter not as heavy as I thought it would be.
By Matt T.
RI
Great Rods
February 17, 2017
Great rods at great prices! Hard to beat these for the price. grabbed two!
By JoeyG
Pompano Beach, FL
Great price!
December 22, 2016
I haven't had a chance to use them yet due to a recent surgery but all looks well. The rods feel good and they appear to be balanced. One thing I noticed for sure is that they could use a wire hook holder toward the handle. The shipping was fast and the packaging was secure and protected my purchase. I thought is was strange that I had to purchase the shipping tube as well but the price of the rods was so good that I didn't mind paying $7.00 for a shipping tube that I used one time and then threw away.
By Jim
CT
High Quality Rod for an Incredibly Low Price
July 26, 2016
With its cork grip, light weight, and high quality reel seat and guides, this tsunami rod looks like it could be around $100. Who needs an expensive rod when you can get this beauty for $29.99?
By Fishman 1.
Homosassa FL
Good value
June 5, 2016
Great rod for the price.
By Ron
Bowie, Maryland
Great Rod
May 9, 2016
Haven't use it yet, but I can't wait to use it.
ProsThe size and length is prefect for the job.
By Michael
New Jersey
literally all you need....
November 11, 2015
I have 5 of these on my boat...we use them for bluefish and stripers (lures, bunker snags, etc). You literally dont need any other rod. throw the best reel you want on it, and it will match it.....awesome value and we beat them up pretty good....hard use for sure!
Proscheap sturdy good quality
Consnone
By Bruce
Delray beach, Florida
best pole for the kayak
August 30, 2015
I put a penn battle II 4000 on this pole with 30# super slick and it has handled grouper, snapper, sails, and dolphin....so far. Love the rod, suggest it to anyone looking for a great jigging or kayak rod.
Proslightweight, perfect balanced rod, can be used on the jetty, or as a caster on the kayak/boat.
By Bob
Forked River, NJ
Quailty Rod
September 18, 2014
Love these Five Star rods. Amazing quality and great value. Will purchase more. No need to spend more money on the expensive rods.
By Bob
New Jersey
Great rod
September 18, 2014
I have used Five Star rods for about 6 years. Great product. Quality construction, Inexpensive and compares with the more expensive rods. I will buy more
ProsSee comments
ConsNone
By Mark D.
Delware
Best Graphite Rod For The Money
March 16, 2014
When first saw these rods and the price I could not believe it. $29.95 ??? I have seen many rids for $70-$90 that are not as nice. Going order about 3 more.
ProsConstruction, quality and price
ConsCant find any.

Page 1 of 1