4.6
21 Reviews
5
76% (16)
4
14% (3)
3
5% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
5% (1)
95% Recommend this product (20 of 21 responses)
By Nathan
Los Angeles, CA
Best slow pitch jigging rod that cannot break your bank
September 24, 2019
Wow, this low cost rod got all the back bone and sensitivity. Bought 2 models. MH / H Got ton of yellowtail, small tuna, rock fish in West Coast water.
ProsLow cost Got back bone
ConsGuides are little weak. I almost broke my top guides when rod was bent
By Van
Tog City
Great rod for Tautog!
September 13, 2019
I use this with a Daiwa Coastal for a light setup to jig a 1oz tautog jig. Rod is sensitive enough to feel the slightest bite and strong enough to high stick the toughest tog.
By Hunter
Trenton NJ
Blown away
July 21, 2019
Extremely happy with my slow pitch jig rod. The sensitivity to feel every tail slap yet being able to DOUBLE over and kick butt is insane. No better jig rod for 100 bucks
By craig m.
NJ
Strong, Fun Rod
June 21, 2019
This rod is super fun to use and not to mention super light and super strong. Mostly using it for inshore blackfish but used it for fluke and it did the job as well.
ProsGreat Value Strong Light
ConsSome may say small eyelets
By cuba j.
New York bight
great rod but rod seat is not good
June 13, 2019
I bought this 6'6" medium heavy rod for my grandson and it has been a great rod, light with great action, we have landed big stripers and and bluefish but the rod seat leaves alot to be desired. Twice my reel (Newell 220) has popped out of the seat with fish on. I don't understand why with this nice rod they put a cheap seat, - why not just put a fuji real seat on??
Prosgreat rod increased hits more lure action can take weight
Consrod seat is cheap
By Chris
Pompano Beach, FL
Great start to Vertical Jigging
April 26, 2019
5-stars because if you are getting into the jigging application and have a budget this is the way to go. I have several and have recently upgraded to a "fancier" rod after committing to this type of fishing.
ProsAffordable, has some action, handles big fish, acid wrapped guides
Consdoesn't have the big action for slow pitch style
By Jong K.
Virginia
Big Bang for your buck
November 28, 2018
Super awesome rod for the price. I have the 7’6 XH and it’s super light weight and a strong backbone. It’s my go to tog rod
ProsLight weight and strong back bone
ConsNone
By john
socal
Best SLOW PITCH Rod for the Money!! VERY RESPONSIVE!!
September 28, 2018
Without Breaking the Bank....This SLOW PITCH Rod is the Perfect One for a Starter and Beginner who is Learning the Technique....Very RESPONSIVE on your JIG that if you Match it with the Right Size and Weight of the Jig you are using....Otherwise you will feel you the rod is not connected to your Jig.... Once you mastered your Slow Pitch Technique....then you may consider upgrading to the Dedicated Slow Pitch Rod like BlackHole... Mounted on Seigler SGN and had been slaying Yellow Tails and Schoolie Tunas...
ProsGreat Starter SLOW PITCH Rod....
ConsNone so far...
By JH
Laurel, NY
Light and strong
September 20, 2018
great bottom fishing rod if you can get your hands on it..
By RALPH G.
PA
Super Sensitive, Light Weight and Strong!
September 16, 2018
My go to rod for bottom fishing, never miss a bite and has enough back bone to bring in large fish. Matched with Avet SXJ 5.3-under 30 oz's!
ProsGreat price- super sensitive
ConsNone
By KK
Long Island NY
Good Fluke Rod
July 11, 2018
Nice light weight rod for fluke jigging with a lot of power for size. Handles 1 to 4 ounce jigs no problem. Landed fluke up to 8 pounds with no problem. Nice paired with small bait cast reel.
By Joe
Long islands.n.y.
Great
June 14, 2018
Just what I needed great service can't wait to try it
ProsGood rod
Cons0
By Cyaco
Upstate New York
Good
June 13, 2018
I used Tsunami TSSPJC-661MH Trophy Series Slow Pitch Jigging Casting Rod for flounder bottom fishing. I can't tell that if this rod holds 10lbs + fish since I only caught one small crab on 4 hour party charter boat..... I couldn't feel & see the full potential of this rod but I can tell that I wish this MH rod had one piece EVA grip for rear end grip!. the most charter boats rod holders scratches the rod blanks bad...
Prosfair price it's good for LIGHT JIGGING and bottom fishng
Conswish rear grip was not split EVA grips.... wish it was like Tsunami TSSPJS-601MH Trophy Series Slow Pitch Jigging Spinning Rod rear grip. one piece EVA grip is better for the party charter boat because rod blank gets scratched and damaged by the rod holders.... poor finish on EVA grips top guides are small
By Chris
Hartford Connecticut
Tsunami slow pitch jigging rod
May 19, 2018
Awesome rod love the feel the weight and the grips paired it with my Okuma 2 speed real awesome on sea bass flounder porgies and Blues and stripers
By OmarL
San Francisco California
Nice
May 2, 2018
I was using this rod for RF and Lincod
By Benny
South Florida
Know what you're getting into before you buy
April 24, 2018
I was able to use this rod on a trip on the Yankee Capts out of Key West, fishing in the Dry Tortugas, using 180g jig in approximately 220ft of water. For full disclosure, I am on the pro-staff of a company that also manufactures slow pitch jigging rods, but I will no disclose the company, or its products, so that this is an unbiased review based solely on the performance of this rod, from the perspective of someone who is a professional slow pitch angler, and who has fished nearly every available slow pitch jigging rod on the market. Let's be up front when discussing the Tsunami series of rods - they are not a true, dedicated, slow pitch jigging rod. They are what appears to be a fast action, inshore blank with a re-configured reel seat and guide layout, and labeled as "slow pitch" to keep pace with the phrase as it gains in popularity. If you are bouncing a jig off the bottom, particularly in shallow water, and the rod action matters little to you, then this is fine. If, however, you are actually trying to get into slow pitch jigging, and are learning the technique involved, then this is not a good option. The rod is terrible at effectively working a jig. Terrible. The rod does not load up well, the recoil is inconsistent and too quick, and you lose contact with the jig while fishing it. Secondly, in general, be wary of a "slow pitch" rod that touts that it is versatile or that it is particularly strong. A true slow pitch rod has one function - to impart an action on a jig. That's it. It's not used to be a primary tool to fight the fish, and it is certainly not used for any other style of fishing. If you know what you are getting into, and you are ok with the above, then by all means, make the informed choice to purchase this rod. However, if you think you are getting anything that resembles a true slow pitch jigging rod, you are very, very mistaken. In my opinion, it would be better to save a little extra money and put it toward a more dedicated product as the performance and your experience will be substantially better.
ProsIt's "value" priced.
ConsNearly everything if you are expecting anything that resembles the performance of an actual slow pitch jigging rod.
By Mike B.
Long Island NY
Slow Pitch is the real deal
March 7, 2018
Super light, stiff, but flexible. Strong. These rods are amazing. It's only a matter of time before they become insanely popular.
By Larry
Sreet Md.
Great description
March 5, 2018
Nicely assembled, no noticeable Flaws, Good feel,
By Blake
Md
Best tog rod out there
February 16, 2018
You can not find a more fun rod out there. I have caught 10+ lb tog on this rod. It had a light weight feel with enough backbone to handle bigger fish. I have both the MH and H. I recommend the slow pitch rods for any bottom fishing .
ProsLight but mighty
ConsWarning, when you take this rod offshore for double digits black fish you may encounter funny looks from fellow fisherman at first!
By Mike H.
Annapolis,MD
Amazing
February 13, 2018
Rod is amazing - pairs with a Shimano Curado nicely for jigging.
By Paul
Long Island
Best deal for the money
October 12, 2017
Amazing rods for the price, I currently own all 3 versions and they cover everything from back bays with the MH to deep drops with the XH.
Prossuper sensitive and very light weight
ConsNone

Page 1 of 1