4.5
32 Reviews
5
72% (23)
4
16% (5)
3
9% (3)
2
0% (0)
1
3% (1)
94% Recommend this product (30 of 32 responses)
By Anthony
New York
Great Rod
October 22, 2019
Great performing rod. Bought the 7' heavy action spinner, paired to a Penn SSV4500. Awesome light weight combo. Can throw plugs all day without wearing out your arm. Did great work on schoolie to keeper sized stripers. And had enough backbone to put the brakes on a 50lb bass.
ProsGreat rod for the price. No complaints.
ConsCork tape on rear grip wore after a few boat trips in rod holder.
By ChuckD
Clayton, NC
A Beast!
October 4, 2019
Not quite a OM, but danged close. Loads and casts at the high end of rating.
By Chau
Worcester
Good rod
May 4, 2019
Good rod best price
By DJ
Old Saybrook, CT
Spinning 10'2" MH Trophy Surf
April 5, 2019
Great rod, well made and great feel. Love the aesthetics and performance. I'd give it 5 stars but I feel like it's a little lighter than what's it's rated for. I have trouble trying to load up and throw 3oz plugs. Wish I could exchange for the 11 foot Heavy. All in all, for the price and quality and performance 5 stars. Great value
ProsQuality Aesthetics Performance Price Value
ConsSeems lighter than what it's rated for
By Ken
UK
great value Surf rod
March 13, 2019
A substantial rod, capable of handling big lures and baits while still providing a sensitive and powerful action to handle those big Stripers. Compares very favourably with significantly more expensive rods.
ProsPrice. Good quality finish. Powerful action.
By Joel
North Carolina
Great rod for the price
March 4, 2019
While I have not had a chance to fish with this rod yet I am impressed with the build quality. I like to keep one heavy action surf rod around for those times when you need throw 8-10 ounces past a sand bar. From what I have seen so far this rod should work perfectly. After matching it with my trusty old Penn 750SSM I tested it by tying a 5lb kettle ball to the line and lifting it off the ground and bouncing. If the rod is going to fail I won't it to fail at home, and not when I have a big Bull Red on the hook. It handled the kettle ball with no issues, I was impressed.
ProsGreat price for a quality rod.
By Tim
Long Island, NY
For the surf
January 17, 2019
Nice light rod. Plan to match with Penn SLAIII6500 for bait fishing or Penn SSV6500BLS for plugging the Atlantic. Just waiting for April 15th (opening day for stripers in NY) to put it to work.
ProsLight weight. 50/50 split makes it easy to transport in a Camaro.
By Chris
Montgomery, Alabama
1102XH
December 27, 2018
Beast of a surf rod.
ProsTip is still sensitive enough to see small critters hitting at your bait.
ConsGimbal little wider than my other rods. Had to go up a size on pvc surf rod holder. Not really a con but just do fit test before heading out.
By Byron
Fl
Good Looking Rod
December 24, 2018
Good looking rod, seems well built and lets me cast far.
By Jesse
Holmdel, NJ
better than i expected
December 13, 2018
I originally got this just for a rod to mess around with for cocktail blues or tiny bass under a bridge when they were migrating. after a couple uses, I realized this is waaay too stiff for my liking. so instead i ended up using it as a fluke + flounder rod off the jetties. even if stated as a heavy rod, should still allow some bend. feel like i'll snap the rod before i let the rod dip 20 degrees.
Prossturdy, great hook sets and sensitive
Consrigid, barely any bend before you can cause damage to the rod.
By Neal
South Carolina
Extra heavy but light weight
December 2, 2018
12’ length is great for casting and with the extra heavy action lets you use plenty of lead and bait.
By Michael
Haddonfield, NJ
Great rod, great price
November 3, 2018
This is my third Tsunami surf rod and so far seems to be my best one yet. Very lively but with plenty of backbone. Casts easily. I prefer the two piece design so I can transport them easily, definitely helps with a 10ft rod and 4 door sedan. The eyes are strong and cast braid very well.
ProsPrice Quality Grip Eyelets Price.. again!
ConsMaybe the plastic reel seat? Hasn't been an issue though.
By Antonio G.
San Diego
Great
August 17, 2018
Going to have fun with this stick. Perfect for what I'm fishing for thanks.
By Grant b.
Nj
DO NOT BUY TSUNAMI PRODUCTS
July 9, 2018
Bought two shield 4000 reels. Absolute trash and ended up throwing both of them away after about a month. However I thought there rods were pretty good. Then on a recent trip to the keys I had TWO tsunami rods break. One broke on a mangrove snapper. A tiny mangrove snapper.. and the other broke while casting out a 6oz weight for a trolley rig. The rod was rated to ten ounces and a six ounce weight snapped it. To top it off there customer service is non existent and they don’t respond to emails or phone calls. Avoid tsunami at all costs.
ProsCheap
ConsNo customer service. Poor quality. Random failures
By Peter
Connelly Springs, North Carolina
Review
March 8, 2018
Great surf rod for the price. This is a cheap, but GREAT rod. Rod handles fish great and the 50/50 split for the 2 piece makes it very easy to put away without it taking up too much room.
ProsLightweight for the price. Affordable and reliable.
ConsScratches on the rod will be very noticeable, but who cares.
By David
Warwick, RI
Loving it
February 14, 2018
I actually use this rod with an Okuma trio rex reel and love it for chunk fishing. Handles blues and stripers with no problems. Actually went out and bought a 2nd one for my brother.
Prosgreat sensitivity for those picky soft hits, and handles the fish well.
By George c.
Bowie Maryland
Tsunami surf rods
February 7, 2018
Rods look and feel great . Can't wait to use them
ProsGreat price
ConsNone
By Michael
Haddonfield, NJ
Great Inshore Rod for the Price
January 30, 2018
I bought this 7ft 2 piece rod as a second inshore rod after having used and liked my larger Tsunami rod. Very good for the price, nice and lively. It's a little lighter action than I thought, but works out fine for throwing anything up to about 2-2.5oz. Nice build quality and a good thin grip with a large butt knob. Reel seat is quality too, I use with a 4000 series penn reel, which is a little too big for this rod but was given to me.
ProsGreat quality for the price Nice guides Comfortable thin grip Lively action
ConsTwo piece junction isn't always confidence-inspiring, but hasn't been a problem yet Grip butt is a little short for my liking Not a ton of power for casting distance.. but it is only 7ft light action!
By Roger
Salem, CT
Tsunami TSTSS 902MH Trophy Surf Spinning Rod
October 19, 2017
Paired this rod with a Tsunami Shield reel for a light surf set up
By jacob b.
Oxford, North Carolina
Great rod for the money!!!
July 2, 2017
I bought this rod for my dad for father's day and when I got it in the mail and looked at it I couldn't believe how nice of a finish it had, has kind of a carbon fiber look to it and how light of a 2 piece rod it was when i put it together! If your looking to do some serious surf fishing but don't want to spend an arm and a leg the tsunami trophy series is the way to go! Has a very grippy textured cork tape handle that feels really nice in the hand, feels more like a one piece rod than a 50/50 split with alot more backbone, and of course for those who like big guides instead of the really small one like you see on the other rods, this rod has them! He has this rod paired with an older reel but yet pretty big a penn 7500ss with 30lb braid fishing with a bottom rig (4oz pyramid) and he said it casts ultra smooth oh and the rod is a medium heavy. 1 other feature about this rod I forgot to put out there was it has kind of a matte black finish at the break down portion of the rod to help assemble and take apart the rod for traveling which I thought was pretty cool cause no other rod i know of has that . Sorry for all the random sentences, but hope this helps!
ProsAmazing fit, finish, and quality with affordable pricing for anyone looking to get into surf fishing or pier fishing
ConsSome of you who want a rod like this may want fuji guides but this one comes with pac bay guides so that personal preference but again nothing at all wrong with pac bay guides haven't had a minutes problem with them so far and they are very well built and wrapped into the rod!
By John
Cape Cod
11' 1102H surf rod
February 9, 2017
Purchased this rod for use at the cape cod canal. Happy with the quality, can not wait for spring. Experimenting a little, rod appears capable of handling the heavy jigs 3-6 oz I use.
Prosprice is reasonable , good quality.
Consnone yet
By THS
Middletown NY
Worked well until it broke
January 23, 2016
The rod tip broke while on vacation this year.......not a fault of the rod. I have emailed the manufacturer to try and pruchase a replacement section with no answer . It's a good rod for the money, but if you have a problem, customer service is non existent.
By Michael
Bridgewater, MA
Excellent light-mid weight striper/blue rod
October 7, 2015
Have been using this rod, paired with a Shimano Ultegra CI4 Plus XSB Surf Spinning Reel. I use this combo walking the beaches of Cape Cod and also for casting slightly lighter stuff in the Cape Cod Canal. Rod has handled everything exemplary so far ranging from 10lb False Albacore up to 25lb stripers.
ProsLightweight but durable 2 piece for easy breakdown & travel
Consnone yet
By Ruben
South Texas
Thinking of a shark.
June 8, 2015
I was looking for a rod that was had some power for casting and landing a fair size fish that I would act like a one piece, but in in two for easier transporting. I like this one. I have a one piece 12ft and it works decent, but it is awkward to transport. I don't want to appear like to overzealous fisherman with rods sticking out windows, truck beds, roof racks, etc... and this rod gives me that liberty. Most rods will have a bow towards the tip because of the wave action, this one barely budges. Most will bend when an average fish. This one doesn't show much a bend at all with fish over 10lbs. Smaller sharks (under 4ft) will put a slight bend on it initially. I have not had it long, but I like it so far.
Pros2 pcs for easy transport holds well against the pound of the surf makes for easy and distance casting makes landing fish seem easy
Consnone so far
By Adam E.
new york
great rod
March 18, 2015
light rod easy to cast.great product
By Alan
Durham, NC
Great rod
October 17, 2014
I've been pleased with Tsunami rods and this is no exception. It's a very friendly casting rod for someone who's learning.
By Don
Pt Pleasant, NJ
11 feet of ease
November 7, 2013
Throws 4oz like nothing - great casting action
By Wilfredo S.
Damascus, OR
You cannot ask for a better salmon rod.
September 4, 2013
The fishing rod has the backbone to fight big fish.
By Kelman L.
Brooklyn, New York
Awesome rod
August 2, 2013
The rod cast really good and not flimsy at the tip for further distance. The quality of the rod blank is excellent because it use airwave blank material for the upper section rod with stainless steel frame followed by a thick coated epoxy for protection. I believe the blank design on the trophy series is better than the airwave for superior toughness and light weight.
ProsVery good for pier fishing or surf
ConsCould have better guides and reel seat ( nothing wrong with guides or reel seat, I prefer Fuji components )
By Kamau
Goleta
great rod for price point
July 4, 2013
great sensitivity. casts braid well.
By Jeongwoo
Cherry Hill, NJ
Perfect for bait fishing
June 13, 2013
This rod is perfect for bait fishing. If you are looking for a plugging rod go with the trophy.
By Antonio T.
McAllen Tx
Nice Rod
April 10, 2013
Very Nice Rod

Page 1 of 1