4.5
78 Reviews
5
72% (56)
4
19% (15)
3
4% (3)
2
1% (1)
1
4% (3)
92% Recommend this product (72 of 78 responses)
By ryan
BRICK, NJ
Great rod for the money
July 5, 2015
Purchased rod to troll 9er umbrella rigs with for striped bass. Have not been disappointed. 2-8oz rating should be more of a 3.5-8 oz rating
ProsPrice Grips
ConsReel seat cheap Power rating inaccurate
By Chris
east greenwich, RI
Great inshore whip
May 7, 2015
Light weight rod with some backbone. I managed to bottom fish it for tautog and it handled them quite well, not the typical drop and wait but a slow cross current retrieve with a jig head and whole crab got the fish to bite.
ProsLight weight, great price, versatile
By Kevin P.
Greenwood de
one of the best light trolling rods!!
April 22, 2015
Absolutely the best rod for the money..the rod is super light and can handle trolling tandem parashute lures up to 20 ounces. they are light enough that my kids and wife can handle them with ease and fight the fish not the tackle.I would recomend these rods for deep seabass fishing and light to medium trolling..
ProsLight but still has plenty of back bone to fight large fish.. great looking rod quality construction A+++
Consnone
By Peter o.
Marco Is. fl.
Ceramic tip fell out the first time I used it
April 11, 2015
Not good probably won't buy Tsunami again.
By Gennaro
queens
great stuff
April 11, 2015
Love it caught strippers to tile fish n much more. Have recommended it to others. Good stuff ty
ProsLight weight sensitive yet strong good hook set great back bone
ConsTwo piece lol
By Lance
The Ocean State of Rhode Island
A Beautiful Rod!
January 14, 2015
Honestly, I haven't used it yet. I intend to use it in May on Goliath grouper and sharks in Florida. It's so light that I'm kind of afraid to use it on these fish, but the reviews state it's an amazingly strong Rod for its weight.
By Henry
Westchester, NY
Tsunami Trophy Jigging Rods
January 11, 2015
I have caught many fish on the Tsunami Jigging Rods, using either the Daiwa Saltist Levelwind STTLW40A or 30A. I fish Montauk, NY and Brielle, NJ
ProsWell constructed and relatively light 5 year warranty good value for the price
ConsNo finger rest on handle and no hook loop (matter of preference)
By Franco
Costa Rica
Best rod under 60$
January 3, 2015
Excellent rod for light jigging, best rod for the price. They should add a trigger to the rod. That will make her perfect for casting as well. I use it with a calcutta 300D. It fits her perfectly.
ProsLight, strong and flexible.
ConsNo trigger
By yongqiang
philadelphia
good rod
November 20, 2014
This is really light weight. You can hold it on hand without feeling tire for a day long. I use it for lure fishing. It is a very good rod you must have.
By Dustin
SPRINGFIELD, NJ
nice light rod
November 9, 2014
This rod has a nice light casting ability. Improved my cast quite a bit anyway. looks nice and feels strong.
Proslight and easy to get a good cast and good quality build
Consnone so far
By Chuck
Baytown, TX
Light and Fast Tipped
November 6, 2014
Rod appears to have alot of backbone with a fast tip. Very light well built
ProsLight Fast tip Lots of back bone
Consno hook keeper
By Tom
New York
great jigging stick for black fish
November 3, 2014
needed a strong stick to blacks from rocks and this is what the doctor ordered at a reasonable price
By Gary B.
Springdale , Ar
Nice rod
November 1, 2014
I haven't got to use it yet but it feels good
By Detroit L.
Miami
great light jigging rod
November 1, 2014
good feel to the hand and just stiff enough for pretty good size fish makes a nice addition to my heavier jigging rods.
By John H.
marthas vineyard
fun and cheap
November 1, 2014
i use it jigging sea bass and cod. and also trolling bonita. it has caught over 20 bones since i got it. whoops them fast. lift them right over the rail no problem. want to jig? cut off the swimmer tie on a diamond jig 2 3 4 oz. nice little rod.
Cons20
By Steve
Glassboro, NJ
Quality affordable
October 5, 2014
I always loved the tsunami design and look. I paired this rod with my avet reel. It's extremely lightweight for a long night worth of jigging.
By Rob
AZ
Compact
September 19, 2014
Very compact, well constructed and strong
By michael
Lizella, GA
How can they sell this much rod this cheap?!
August 20, 2014
I was very skeptical about this rod. It was on sale for $60 and I needed a spinning rod that could keep up with my new fin nor lethal 100 (80lbs braid and 50lbs of max drag), and this one had the specs to match it, so i gave it a shot. Glad I did! The rod is beautiful with an aluminum cross cut ball style gimble, x flocked foregrip, cross weave carbon fiber bottom half of the rod, and smooth stranded weave on the tip end. The rod is very deceiving because of its light weight and thin diameter. It has power and sensitivity to spare! It balances larger heavy spinning reels like my lt100 and penn 706 very well, making them easy to cast and fish all day. paired up with my lethal, it has landed 2 50 lbs cobias, and a 7' hammerhead so far. Bottom line is that what I have paid in the past for just the blank this rod is built on, you get a finished rod built with quality components!
ProsPrice! sensitivity lifting/fighting power light weight good looking
Consstiff, needs close to max weight to get good distance on a cast(but that is expected with such a powerful rod)
By Beau
Dickinson, TX
TackleDirect Has great customer service
August 19, 2014
I got this rod in the mail and the front eye was knocked loose in shipping. I called Tackle direct and they sent a replacement the same day i am really happy with there service!. Also the new rod works fine my wife uses it for sharks 3-5 ft long as well as snapper.
ProsGreat Deal for the money Tackle direct impressed me with amazing customer service!
By Kit
Discovery Bay, CA
Great rod for the price.
May 30, 2014
Great rod for the price.
ProsLight and strong. Great for jigging, live bait and trolling 2-1/2 lbs ball. Great with mono or braid
ConsJust wish it had a bit more tapper at the end for a "fast" action look.
By Capt C.
Galilee, RI
Light, Well Balanced and Priced Right
May 10, 2014
Despite being a (2) piece rod, I was very pleased with this rod from the first minute I held it. It is light, well balanced and has enough power to drive the hook home without question. The price is also very nice. Would recommend to anyone who fishes bait in less than 150'.
By Peter
WV
Awesome quality-Get it!
February 4, 2014
Lightweight....paired to daiwa 4/0 6.1:1 reel. Under gunned a big bull shark on a 200 ft wreck in the keys (those deep water bulls are all at least 150-200lbs). I cranked the star drag down and sat on the cooler for more pressure. Rod bowed and I thought it was a goner. Held up for 30 minutes before hook pulled. Really impressed with the power to weight to cost ratio. Will definitely be trying more trophy rods out.
By Tim
East Brunswick, NJ
My Favorite Rod
January 18, 2014
This rod is very lightweight and durable. The only problem I have with it is that the ceramic in the guides crack very easily!
Proslightweight, durable
Consvery stiff
By Rey Z.
Orange Park , FL.
Jigging Rod
October 25, 2013
I have not use this rod. This is one of the reason why I am just giving this 4 star for now. This rod is light, yet strong. I paired this with my Penn Squall. Hoping to use this deep sea fishing next year.
By Ron
Alexandria, VA
Quality product!!
August 13, 2013
Heaviest spinning rod I own... very pleased with the quality manufacturing. Plenty of spine yet sensitive.
ProsGood ballance, great price, outstanding quality.
By lienpham
vietnam
Bad rod or inventory for a long time!
June 15, 2013
It's a bad rod . I have received a broken rod with a weak feeling because the rod very thin . at the mean time the advertising still show that a Med- Heavy action. I thought that was a wrong information !!!
By stephen n.
Groote eylandt Northern territory
gulf a hot spot
May 25, 2013
Has held up really well against some big fish such as golden snapper,red emperur and shark. A good lightweight workhorse.
By Jared
Cape Hatteras, NC
Tough Little Rod
December 13, 2012
People kept saying it was a light weight rod that wouldn't hold up. I put it to the test and caught 14 amberjack. The biggest was around 60lb. Needless to say everyone was impressed. Rod flexed but was still stiff. just the right amount.
Prosvery light, stiff but not too stiff, good grips, nice guides, very nice butt, great length
Conswish it would of had an alum. reel seat and a an alum. nut

Page 2 of 2
2