4.5
102 Reviews
5
74% (75)
4
17% (17)
3
4% (4)
2
3% (3)
1
3% (3)
91% Recommend this product (93 of 102 responses)
By Hyunsoo s.
CA
It is best item!!!!
July 20, 2017
It is really good rod !!! I can't find any other value rod.
By Johnny
corpus christi,, Texas
nice rod
July 18, 2017
Well pack and had no problems with the rod
By Todd
Lillian, AL
Good rods for the money.
July 14, 2017
Bought 2 of thes 4 or 5 years ago to use as loaners on my boat. Fished pretty hard by a lot of people, most with very little skill. Worked great and was very impressed with them until this summer. Reel seat broke while fighting a fish. Very difficult to fight a fish while holding the reel in place at the same time. But still, got a lot of use for what I paid for them, got my money's worth. Used mostly for red snapper and other bottom fish in the Gulf Of Mexico. Even after the one failure I'd still recommend to Anyone looking for a decent rod at a good price.
By Reese
Lutz, FL
Perfect for grouper/snapper (West Central FL)
July 4, 2017
I have paired with Okuma SLX-10CS Solterra SLX Lever Drag Reel and it is my favorite combo now. Light weight allows for fishing many hours, with plenty of power to turn grouper/snapper from structure.
ProsLight weight, good feel/comfort, plenty of power
By Brian M.
Pennsylvania
great jigging rod for the money
March 8, 2017
purchased this rod to jig and bait fish offshore wreck.. handled cod jigs fine and used 12-16oz sinkers baitfishing
Proslight and strong rod gimble butt
Conswish the rear grip was an inch or 2 longer
By Ricky H.
Pearl, Mississippi
Super rod!
December 18, 2016
This is an exclusive rod we use out on the Drill Ship we fish off in the Gulf of Mexico. Super strong and breaks down to fit on helicopters.
ProsBreaks down small. Super strong and can handle 100# braid line. The perfect rod!
ConsThey sell out quickly, so get one when you can.
By Don
NEW JERSEY
Tsunami has great customer service and warranty
December 14, 2016
Had the road for over a year Snap on a 15 pound blue fish. Contacted tsunami sent me a replacement ASAP.Thanks Cindy
ProsGreat warranty and customer service
ConsPossible defect
By Jamie F.
New Jersey
Great rod great price.
September 30, 2016
I have five of these now. Two conventional models and three spinning models. I cast and troll with them. I use them from shore to the canyons. I have caught everything from snagging moss bunker to a 76 lb wahoo with this rod. I fish them hard and they hold up.
ProsGrips, eyes, butt, price, durability.
ConsOn my spinners the, the seats for the reel loosen up from time to time.
By blake
nyc
Tsunami rod
August 24, 2016
strong rod, great price, 2 piece description may not say. worth it. cheers
Pros2 piece cheap
Consnone
By Bill F.
Converse , Texas
Great King Fish Rod...
August 21, 2016
Have the MH.ros with 40 lb mono with an Okuma reel..great match. Caught two Big Kings down in Port Aransas last week.One came in at 11 lbs the other 9 lbs.Rods look light but have the back bone to tame these Tigers of the Sea... L
By Gallagallabill
San Diego
Nice quality
August 13, 2016
So far only used it twice hooked on to a nice size bluefin 50+ lbs and the rod responded well. Good feel and a lot of back bone
By Bradford
Mesa, AZ
I like this Boat Rod
July 31, 2016
I bought this a few months ago for a California fishing trip. Got to use it last week and though I didn't go out for tuna or Yellowtail (my freezer is full) I wished I had. It adapted very well to a smaller reel and lighter tackle--I had to give the bass away! I'd give it five stars but alas no Yellowfin!
Pros- Strong and adaptable - Looks good though really not important to me
ConsI'm used to keepers and this didn't have one
By Colt
St. Croix, VI
Good Rod for money
July 28, 2016
Decent quality rod for what it is sold for. Used it to wangle a 45 lb tarpon no problem first trip.
ProsLight Strong
ConsPlastic reel seat
By Mike B.
San Diego CA
Snapped on a football sized yellowfin tuna
July 26, 2016
This rod snapped in two on a football sized tuna down in East Cape Baja Cali Mexico. I know tuna are strong, but dang I was hoping that this rod would do a little better then that. I did not see the fish that was hooked and it possible that the fish was bigger then all the other ones that were caught that day. But I doubt that it was. None of the fish caught were more than 10-15lbs.
ProsHard to say due to it snapped on the 2nd fish that was hooked.
ConsDid not hold up and snapped on a 10-15lb tuna.
By Bob
Florida
It's a Two Piece Rod
June 30, 2016
Didn't realize this is a two piece rod. Not XX. Should be X. Foam butt protector is a joke. Quality OK. Should be about $20.00 less
ProsNice action, heavy
ConsTwo piece
By Rodeo
Louisiana
Tsunami TSTBS-J701XH
June 11, 2016
I have a very bad experience with this Rod. On my first use the Rod broke 17" from the end of the Rod. To further complicate matter Tsunami will not answer my emails to request replacement. PLEASE NO NOT BUY THIS ROD! Customer service ???
Merchant Response:Send it back to us and we'll replace it.
ProsNothing good to say about this product or company
Cons"JUNK"
By Craig
Ringwood, NJ
Great Rod
May 17, 2016
I do not have the $ to own a millions rods and have been using this rod for the past 3 seasons on party boats for fluke, porgies, blackfish and many other species..in a pinch i have used up to 6 oz's jigging with it no problem but do not like to go over that.
By Eric C.
Houston, Tx
Vertical Jigging......
April 14, 2016
I purchased 2 of these rods to use for vertical jigging in 200-600 ft of water. The performance was excellent, couldn't of asked for a better rod. Match that with the price and you have one of the best rods on the market today. Will definitely be buying a couple more of these.
ProsLight weight and great flexibility.
By Eric
Florida Keys
Great for the price!
January 9, 2016
This rod looks and feels like much more expensive rods. Solid construction, good action, quality components. And so far it seems to catch fish!
ConsGood look, good feel, God price
By Rich
Reading PA
Over the top
December 12, 2015
It is amazing how great the quality of this rod is for the money.
ProsStrong, light, great build quality for the money.
ConsNot quite as good as a Shimano, but if you are on a budget it is great!
By Lyman
Crawfordville, Florida
great rod!
August 23, 2015
Love the diamond grips. Great action for vertical jigging and strong enough to handle big amber jack.
ProsStrong, durable, great price.
ConsCover for gimbal comes off to easy.
By FREDRICK
ALHAMBRA, CA
surprise look what I caught
August 8, 2015
I allowed a friend to use this rod on his two fishing trip. When he returned the caught two yellow tail too. Weight approx. 30lbs. He ended up buy that rod from me.
Consnone
By trey
Gulf of Mexico 30mi. off Ms.
great rod for taking offshore on helicopter.
July 15, 2015
This is the second one of these rods. Bought the first to take offshore to my platform on the helicopter since it breaks down. Matched it with the new Penn 10500. Have caught blacking to 40 pound no problem. That's from 60 feet up on the platform Got the second for my trip to the keys for the wife to use much easier for her to use a spinning reel. Rod is good to 150 class line have no doubt it will land what ever she hooks.
ProsWas the only choice for a two piece rod for me since unlike most rods that are pieced in the rod blank itself these go together in the handle.
ConsOn my second rod that I just received fit of rod to handle would not seat all the way had to spend 30 minutes sanding it to get correct fit but still would recommend it.
By Mike
St George Island, Fl
Great all around bottom fishing rod
July 12, 2015
I have five of them and they are matched to Shimano Tyrnos 12 and 16 two speed reels. I use them for snapper, grouper and king mackeral fishing in the gulf
By ryan
BRICK, NJ
Great rod for the money
July 5, 2015
Purchased rod to troll 9er umbrella rigs with for striped bass. Have not been disappointed. 2-8oz rating should be more of a 3.5-8 oz rating
ProsPrice Grips
ConsReel seat cheap Power rating inaccurate
By Chris
east greenwich, RI
Great inshore whip
May 7, 2015
Light weight rod with some backbone. I managed to bottom fish it for tautog and it handled them quite well, not the typical drop and wait but a slow cross current retrieve with a jig head and whole crab got the fish to bite.
ProsLight weight, great price, versatile
By Kevin P.
Greenwood de
one of the best light trolling rods!!
April 22, 2015
Absolutely the best rod for the money..the rod is super light and can handle trolling tandem parashute lures up to 20 ounces. they are light enough that my kids and wife can handle them with ease and fight the fish not the tackle.I would recomend these rods for deep seabass fishing and light to medium trolling..
ProsLight but still has plenty of back bone to fight large fish.. great looking rod quality construction A+++
Consnone
By Peter o.
Marco Is. fl.
Ceramic tip fell out the first time I used it
April 11, 2015
Not good probably won't buy Tsunami again.
By Gennaro
queens
great stuff
April 11, 2015
Love it caught strippers to tile fish n much more. Have recommended it to others. Good stuff ty
ProsLight weight sensitive yet strong good hook set great back bone
ConsTwo piece lol
By Lance
The Ocean State of Rhode Island
A Beautiful Rod!
January 14, 2015
Honestly, I haven't used it yet. I intend to use it in May on Goliath grouper and sharks in Florida. It's so light that I'm kind of afraid to use it on these fish, but the reviews state it's an amazingly strong Rod for its weight.
By Henry
Westchester, NY
Tsunami Trophy Jigging Rods
January 11, 2015
I have caught many fish on the Tsunami Jigging Rods, using either the Daiwa Saltist Levelwind STTLW40A or 30A. I fish Montauk, NY and Brielle, NJ
ProsWell constructed and relatively light 5 year warranty good value for the price
ConsNo finger rest on handle and no hook loop (matter of preference)
By Franco
Costa Rica
Best rod under 60$
January 3, 2015
Excellent rod for light jigging, best rod for the price. They should add a trigger to the rod. That will make her perfect for casting as well. I use it with a calcutta 300D. It fits her perfectly.
ProsLight, strong and flexible.
ConsNo trigger
By yongqiang
philadelphia
good rod
November 20, 2014
This is really light weight. You can hold it on hand without feeling tire for a day long. I use it for lure fishing. It is a very good rod you must have.
By Dustin
SPRINGFIELD, NJ
nice light rod
November 9, 2014
This rod has a nice light casting ability. Improved my cast quite a bit anyway. looks nice and feels strong.
Proslight and easy to get a good cast and good quality build
Consnone so far
By Chuck
Baytown, TX
Light and Fast Tipped
November 6, 2014
Rod appears to have alot of backbone with a fast tip. Very light well built
ProsLight Fast tip Lots of back bone
Consno hook keeper
By Tom
New York
great jigging stick for black fish
November 3, 2014
needed a strong stick to blacks from rocks and this is what the doctor ordered at a reasonable price
By Gary B.
Springdale , Ar
Nice rod
November 1, 2014
I haven't got to use it yet but it feels good
By Detroit L.
Miami
great light jigging rod
November 1, 2014
good feel to the hand and just stiff enough for pretty good size fish makes a nice addition to my heavier jigging rods.
By John H.
marthas vineyard
fun and cheap
November 1, 2014
i use it jigging sea bass and cod. and also trolling bonita. it has caught over 20 bones since i got it. whoops them fast. lift them right over the rail no problem. want to jig? cut off the swimmer tie on a diamond jig 2 3 4 oz. nice little rod.
Cons20
By Steve
Glassboro, NJ
Quality affordable
October 5, 2014
I always loved the tsunami design and look. I paired this rod with my avet reel. It's extremely lightweight for a long night worth of jigging.
By Rob
AZ
Compact
September 19, 2014
Very compact, well constructed and strong
By michael
Lizella, GA
How can they sell this much rod this cheap?!
August 20, 2014
I was very skeptical about this rod. It was on sale for $60 and I needed a spinning rod that could keep up with my new fin nor lethal 100 (80lbs braid and 50lbs of max drag), and this one had the specs to match it, so i gave it a shot. Glad I did! The rod is beautiful with an aluminum cross cut ball style gimble, x flocked foregrip, cross weave carbon fiber bottom half of the rod, and smooth stranded weave on the tip end. The rod is very deceiving because of its light weight and thin diameter. It has power and sensitivity to spare! It balances larger heavy spinning reels like my lt100 and penn 706 very well, making them easy to cast and fish all day. paired up with my lethal, it has landed 2 50 lbs cobias, and a 7' hammerhead so far. Bottom line is that what I have paid in the past for just the blank this rod is built on, you get a finished rod built with quality components!
ProsPrice! sensitivity lifting/fighting power light weight good looking
Consstiff, needs close to max weight to get good distance on a cast(but that is expected with such a powerful rod)
By Beau
Dickinson, TX
TackleDirect Has great customer service
August 19, 2014
I got this rod in the mail and the front eye was knocked loose in shipping. I called Tackle direct and they sent a replacement the same day i am really happy with there service!. Also the new rod works fine my wife uses it for sharks 3-5 ft long as well as snapper.
ProsGreat Deal for the money Tackle direct impressed me with amazing customer service!
By Kit
Discovery Bay, CA
Great rod for the price.
May 30, 2014
Great rod for the price.
ProsLight and strong. Great for jigging, live bait and trolling 2-1/2 lbs ball. Great with mono or braid
ConsJust wish it had a bit more tapper at the end for a "fast" action look.
By Capt C.
Galilee, RI
Light, Well Balanced and Priced Right
May 10, 2014
Despite being a (2) piece rod, I was very pleased with this rod from the first minute I held it. It is light, well balanced and has enough power to drive the hook home without question. The price is also very nice. Would recommend to anyone who fishes bait in less than 150'.
By Peter
WV
Awesome quality-Get it!
February 4, 2014
Lightweight....paired to daiwa 4/0 6.1:1 reel. Under gunned a big bull shark on a 200 ft wreck in the keys (those deep water bulls are all at least 150-200lbs). I cranked the star drag down and sat on the cooler for more pressure. Rod bowed and I thought it was a goner. Held up for 30 minutes before hook pulled. Really impressed with the power to weight to cost ratio. Will definitely be trying more trophy rods out.
By Tim
East Brunswick, NJ
My Favorite Rod
January 18, 2014
This rod is very lightweight and durable. The only problem I have with it is that the ceramic in the guides crack very easily!
Proslightweight, durable
Consvery stiff
By Rey Z.
Orange Park , FL.
Jigging Rod
October 25, 2013
I have not use this rod. This is one of the reason why I am just giving this 4 star for now. This rod is light, yet strong. I paired this with my Penn Squall. Hoping to use this deep sea fishing next year.
By Ron
Alexandria, VA
Quality product!!
August 13, 2013
Heaviest spinning rod I own... very pleased with the quality manufacturing. Plenty of spine yet sensitive.
ProsGood ballance, great price, outstanding quality.
By lienpham
vietnam
Bad rod or inventory for a long time!
June 15, 2013
It's a bad rod . I have received a broken rod with a weak feeling because the rod very thin . at the mean time the advertising still show that a Med- Heavy action. I thought that was a wrong information !!!

Page 2 of 3
2