Review Summary
4.6
32 Reviews
5
69% (22)
4
28% (9)
3
0% (0)
2
3% (1)
1
0% (0)
94% Recommend this product (30 of 32 responses)
By cam
New Jersey
Van Stall
November 23, 2019
powerful reel with smooth drag. Definitely a workhorse
By Alex
Miami, FL
Great Reels
March 21, 2019
Reels are awesome. I have 3 of them. I use them for anything from mahi fishing to sailfish. They handle great and I never feel like Im struggling.
By john
milton, ma
For bluefin
February 16, 2019
I have 2 275`s , both with 80# braid for jigging and casting at bft. Drag is smooth and has sufficient power and you can't beat the price.
By mark
alabama
van staal
February 14, 2019
feels like silk when you turn it will use it this spring
Prosperfect
Consshould of got two
By Darrell
Kauai
Sold
December 7, 2018
Great reel, could be in the 300 hundred range
By Rob
Whitman, MA
Nice reels
September 12, 2018
Caught a 10 to 12 shark on this reel. Solid !!!
By Robert
Dracut, MA
Beast of a reel
September 11, 2018
I use this real on the boat . It is extremely strong and versatile. I pared it with an 80 class 7 foot spinning rod . Use it for casting at tuna and even bottom fishing . Drag is super smooth even when almost fully cranked down . Reel feels like it’s up to the challenge of any task . I’ve had it for 3 years now and have done nothing to it but fish and it still feels like brand new . I was so impressed with Van Staal that I purchased a VR series for my surf rod .
ProsSuper strong , super smooth flawless drag, built like a tank
ConsNone
By Mike
RI
Van Staal VM275
September 9, 2018
Love the reel. It is smooth and has a nice feel, holds up under pressure and is great for boat or shore fishing.
ProsGood all around reel.
ConsNone as of yet.
By Richard
Ghent West Virginia
Van staal VM 275
August 9, 2018
One of the best deals ive ever seen for top of the line fishing reels
ProsVery well made used on large cats on san tee works like winch very strong drag
ConsNone whatsoever
By VINCENT
france
modéle amélioré ?
March 29, 2018
www.alanhawk.com/reviews/vm75.htm vous vendez §a ???? ou le 2017 ?
By Mark
Bolton, MA
Really nice big game reel
March 19, 2018
This reel is like a tank and so smooth. Partnered it with their rod for a complete package.
By Rawlinson
Mary Esther, FL
heavy but durable
February 2, 2018
reel is heavy but I already expected that from the reviews I was reading not as smooth as my shimano reels but this reel can get a beating. I can already tell the this reel is built like a tank and it will last for a long time.
Prosrealy durable nice design
Consheavy
By Paul
North Miami, Fl
Solid, sturdy and smooth
November 20, 2017
Just like advertised, can handle everything you cast it to. Paired with a Phenix Black Diamond and have yet to be overmatched. Definitely a boat reel, heavy...too heavy to be casting all day. Even with money tied up in the combo, it often stays in the rod holder while the lighter cheaper gear gets the bulk of the work. Big dolphin and 100 lb tarpon no problem for this thing.
Prossolid, and will probably last for decades.
Consheavy, too heavy for long days of use but a great situational reel or used for drifting live bait with it sitting in the rod holder
By JOHN
New York
highly recommend
October 9, 2017
A very sturdy reel. Expect many years of use.
ProsGood Balance, mechanically flawless operation.
ConsNONE
By Tim
spring lake, nj
Solid Reel
June 22, 2017
I bought this reel specifically for medium sized bluefin off Cape Cod. Upon taking it out of the box and spooling it I could tell it would do the trick. It casts extremely well and it just feels bomb proof.
By John
Pensacola Fl
Van Staal VM 275
May 4, 2017
Best reel ever!! Beats my old Penns and Mitchells. Works great with todays braided lines with the extra strong drag system, pulls those big fish away from the pilings and out of the rocks. Get you one!
ProsEverything!!
ConsNone.
By mike o.
Rhode Island
Best deal on the market
April 18, 2017
A little on the heavier side but compared to my other reels In the same class I can't be more happy.
By michael
Malabar, FL
Great reel for the price
April 6, 2017
Bought 2 and got 1 for free. Sold the other 2 and kept the free one. Very strong reel. No issues so far!
ProsStrong Tough Durable
ConsHeavy Bulky
By juan
Dayton Ohio
Very sturdy reel
March 24, 2017
i did not order it from this website but i do have this reel and it hasnt failed me yet. It has a very durable and rugged design
By Tony
high springs, FL
tight lines...
March 13, 2017
This reel looks awesome and performs better. You will be able to catch anything you hook into. Happy catching!
Prosoverbuilt looks great
By Capt H.
Ocean City Md
Solid reel
January 29, 2017
Solid reel that can handle most anything that comes along
By Eric
TX
VM275 beast!
December 29, 2016
All of Van Staals reels are great! I have 4 of these VM275 to fish for big game from the boat. Paired with the VJS70-500, there isn't much out there you can't land.
By denny
san diego california
You Should Read this Review first.
December 22, 2016
you owe to yourself o read this review first and learn the real deal about this reel. http://www.alanhawk.com/reviews/vm75.html
Merchant Response:Thanks for the tip!
Prosaverage peformance
Consprice and durability, drag range
By Tim
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Smooth drag, rock solid construction, smooth drag
November 9, 2016
This is a perfect reel for your boat spinning rod. It is not by any means a light reel but will do the job and then some.
ProsLeft or right hand
Consheavy
By Gator
SIC, NJ
Unfair Advantage
November 5, 2016
This real shifts the advantage heavily in favor of the angler.
ProsEverything important is sealed. Holds o ton of line Pulls 42 inches per turn
ConsYour friends will be jealous
By Mike
Merrimack NH
Solid reel
November 4, 2016
Nice reliable reel that can handle Cape Cod Bluefin tuna. Good alternative to shimano stella if you want to save some money. Gear ratio is perfect for jigging.
ProsPrice, reliability
By Edward
Tamuning, GU
Van Staal VM 375
November 4, 2016
These are my second purchase of VS reels and they did not disappoint once again. I caught a 10 lb GT the second time I took it out on the boat and it was effortless hauling it up from about 300 ft.
ProsLarge and powerful. I put on 80 lb braided line and there's still room to spare on the spool.
ConsNot many. Perhaps it's weight, but that cannot be helped due to its size.
By Ben
West Palm Beach, FL
Great Reel but different than the vm150
October 12, 2016
I only gave it a 4 star because it is different feeling than the vm150. Its most noticeable difference is the lack of drag range you can set. Other than that, I catch blacktip sharks and tarpon all the time with this reel.
By Dave
Doylestown, PA
Winch
October 12, 2016
Easily handled bluefish to 20 lbs and stripers to 40 lbs! Well built!
By william
Atlanta, Georgia
Great Reel
August 21, 2016
Great reel even though it is a bit pricey. I still think it is worth the money
Prosdurability
Consprice
By Eugenia
Pozzuoli, Italy
Offshore reel
May 20, 2015
Very good for offshore species like amberjack, big Mahi Mahi and small tuna. It is very powerful and well made. It is top of the line and is worth every penny.
By John
Glendale, NY
Solid Offshore Spinning Reel
March 25, 2014
I bought 2 VM150s when they first came out and they are little tanks for striped bass fishing. I was hoping Van Staal would make a larger model and they did! These are my go-to offshore spinning reel that are extremely durable and half the retail price of other specialized reels. I paired up the VM275 with Van Staal's 7ft 500g & 5'8" 500g spinning rods for offshore jigging and casting for tuna. Can't wait to bring these reels to Florida and try them down south.
ProsHeavy built design, Solid, Manual Bail, Price!

Page 1 of 1